We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as advertised - lovely”
Review of Bothy in Grayshott

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hindhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bothy in Grayshott
Ranked #1 of 2 Hindhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly as advertised - lovely”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nothing really to add to previous reviews. The accommodation was excellent and the welcome from Mark was beyond warm. The cake and breakfast were yummy and we shall definitely be staying again. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
37
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster,UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We can only agree whole heartedly with all the other fantastic reviews for The Bothy and for our lovely hosts Janice and Mark. After a long drive the accommodation proved to be a peaceful haven away from the main house but close enough to ensure all our expectations were met to the full. The lovely home made cake and flapjack on arrival was a welcome sight and the jams (made by Mark) along with their delicious home produced honey provided a tasty and special treat at breakfast. The well thought out rooms are both stylish and cosy with every need provided for including the well stocked self catering kitchen and the very comfortable bed. Sadly we could only stay one night however we would love to visit again and enjoy Janice and Marks' wonderful hospitality while discovering more of the attractions the area has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank allym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Bothy is a very well appointed converted barn with a double room with en-suite and a one room lounge/kitchen/diner attached. There are self catering facilities for a longer stay and breakfast is eaten in the room which made for a leisurely start to the day. It is very well furnished and extremely clean and tidy. It is also quiet, making for a great night's sleep. The welcome was warm with home-made cakes waiting for us on arrival and friendly hosts who make sure your stay is a comfortable and peaceful one. Highly recommended. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A fabulous escape . . charming, unobtrusive hosts, Janet and Mark have gone to great lengths to ensure guests' comfort. Delightfully appointed accommodation. Delicious homemade cake and a flapjack, help yourself in your own kitchen with homemade jams & home produced honey, milk, butter, choice of teas, coffees, freshly squeezed orange & grapefruit juice and cereals. Lovely night's sleep in king size bed with Egyptian cotton linen, great power shower followed by full cooked breakfast with items to choice delivered by Janet the next glorious morning. What more could anyone want but an extra night. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved our stay at the Bothy, a converted barn next to the owners' home. It is beautifully furnished and gives you full self-catering facilities - lounge-diner-kitchen, bedroom and bathroom - with the convenience of a cooked breakfast served by the owners. We were in the area for a wedding, but stayed an extra day and walked to Waggoners Wells nearby. It is set in a quiet corner of rural Surrey just south of the A3, with plenty of lovely walks within easy reach.
The owners are very friendly and breakfasting on their patio in the morning sunshine was a lovely start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Wright2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were attending a wedding near Farnham and we chose Bothy to stay the night basically because of the photos on their website.
The area has a lovely feel to it and arriving at the property the cottage immediately in front of you is charming and 'fairytale like'. The b&b property is on the left and is cabin like. When we got out of the car the silence hit us and gave us a holiday feel immediately. The property itself is modern and the furniture and decor give it a very 'chic' feel. The living area has lots of space and when you see the bedroom and bathroom you realise that this has been designed really well. There is a washing machine and self contained facilities which make it a perfect opportunity to use this as a base and not be disturbed, we immediately regretted not booking a longer stay.
The breakfast was well cooked and we had the luxury of a beautiful summers morning and had it on the patio which had radio 4 quietly playing in the background. Their garden is landscaped and we took our time here as it was just so wonderful.
The whole stay made us feel pampered but left alone, Mark and Janice invited us to see their home inside and it really felt a warm family home, they informed us that they also provide a meal in the evening for those not wishing to venture out to Farnham (I think the charge was ten pounds and when we stay here again we will definitely take advantage of this as Mark told us that he loves cooking! The breakfast proved this).
If you are thinking of staying here then consider more than one night as you won't want to leave!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eggybread04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This B and B is absolutely brilliant. We stayed overnight as we had a function to attend in the area. The owners are very friendly and clearly have great taste and an eye for detail. The facilities are actually a really well designed annex to the main house with everything ...you could actually have a really good self-catering holiday using this as a base. We loved the small touches....flapjacks, wifi, warm welcome.....even the family cat was in hospitality mode !
We will definitely be returning and cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbothebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindhead
1.5 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
332 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
1.9 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
495 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothy in Grayshott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy in Grayshott

Property: Bothy in Grayshott
Address: High Pitfold | High Pitfold, Hindhead GU26 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Hindhead
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury yet cosy bed & breakfast near award winning village of Grayshott a real home from home offering quiet accommodation with its own front door set in a pretty country garden. In an area of outstanding natural beauty with a rural feel yet within 1 hour of London, its the perfect base to explore all the area has to offer including the local tracks ideal for walkers, cyclists, horse riders and nature lovers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bothy In Grayshott Hindhead, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing