We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun for the children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Creative Cafe

The Creative Cafe
Ranked #8 of 12 things to do in Narberth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Creative Café is a paint-your-own pottery studio with a difference - where YOU can be the artist... whether you're artistic or not! Come and create your very own ceramic masterpiece in one of our studios in Narberth or Haverfordwest.We've got 100’s of items for you to choose from... everything from mugs & plates to monsters & fairies... we’ve got it all!Silver fingerprint jewellery is now available at the cafe, a unique gift for any occasion - Birthdays, Christmas or just to say... I love you!Necklaces, bracelets, cufflinks, and much more available.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun for the children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the second time we have taken our little one whilst on holiday and its ideal when the weather is a little inclement. Great fun and completely engrossed for the morning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narberth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fab fab fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Myself and my daughter go every year at Christmas time and make a decoration, they r lovely to look back at when we get the decorations out every year. We have now purchased a yearly studio fee so we r going to the cafe and making gifts for friends and family and personalised items for ourselves on a monthly basis, it's very relaxing, the staff are very friendly and it's lovely to spend time making something special with my daughter.
I don't agree with the reviews about it being expensive, the studio fee is per person but lots of people just pay for the kids and treat themselves to a coffee and cake and enjoy the peace. You can make things from £5 a go, that's very cheap! And don't forget the amount of paint, etc and the time it takes to 'bake' it etc.
All in all a fab days enjoyment :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremadog
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed it but way too expensive!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We first visited the Creative Cafe 4 years ago and we came home with a lovely flower pot which always makes us smile. So when we came back to the area we thought we'd go again and we were looking forward it.

However this time the prices were very steep. There's a studio fee of £4.75 per person/child plus the cost of the item you choose to paint. We felt restricted by the prices and decided to just let the children paint one each when in fact we would have quite liked to do one too. Unless you paint a small tile you're looking at at least £12 per item upwards. We chose two small items for the children and the bill came to £35.50 plus about £10 for some drinks and a cake.

We have a similar pottery painting place near to where we live and we've done other similar painting things with the kids too. The prices at the creative cafe are double what we'd normally expect to pay.

We wouldn't go back simply because of the prices. In fact after sitting down we nearly left after seeing the prices but we didn't want to disappoint the children.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank P_Madog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at The Creative Cafe, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are very sorry to hear you think we are overpriced and we do try to stay as competitive as possible. The studio fee has been in place for 10 years as this contributes towards the unlimited use of paints and the high quality finish we provide when glazing, we also have a wide range of products £12 and under including ornaments, piggy banks, plates, bowls, vases, tiles, pots, mugs, hangers and more. Our products start at just £5 for tiles with a wide range of ornaments at just £9, mugs start at £8 and plates at just £10.50. We believe our café to offer quality at affordable prices and you get something to keep after your enjoyable family time. It’s lovely to hear how much you cherish the flower pot you made and are sorry you didn’t find us competitive on your last visit. (Incidentally if you were to paint another plant pot these also start from only £9)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good fun but very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

It was a miserable day and were looking for something to do while on holiday, this looked really interesting! Myself and my husband went in and it was rather busy, we were asked after standing at the counter for 5 minutes whether or not we had booked, I advised that we had not and they could see what they could do, I waited another 5 mins and I think we had been forgotten about, after approaching the counter again, we were shown to a table, it was very busy and one member of staff looked very aggitated and unapproachable! We hadnt been given any instructions but we got the the gist, the owner and a female member of staff were snapping at one another, he wanted to allow more people in but the other was saying it was far too busy and no more! After half an hour we were told what we needed to do with paints etc. and we got to it! It was very fun and let out or creative side. I really enjoyed it bar the staff and the cost it was a nice change! The min amount you could pay is around £15 pp it came to £39 for two of us, so be careful if u are taking the family along as its quite costly!

Helpful?
1 Thank clkn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at The Creative Cafe, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am very sorry for the service you received; we strive to create a friendly helpful atmosphere and are sorry to hear that you had to wait for service. We have taken your comments very seriously as good service is key to our business. We will be looking at the issues you raised and trying our very best to remedy them. We hope that the items created will be treasured and the cost reflects the time we take to produce a quality glaze on a product you have taken time and care to paint.
We really believe in the quality available at the café and hope you may visit us again if you enjoy a second holiday in Pembrokeshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Misled on pricing when booking on the 'phone!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pleasant afternoon with family one wet Monday, but really overpriced and misled on pricing when we called to book. Charged £4.95 each for "studio fees" which we thought would mean supervision/instruction. Got a cursory and partial run through and left to get on with it. The pottery for painting was expensive which meant we spent well over the "total of £15 average" we were quoted, very shocked by how much a simple square pottery tile cost! Obviously a gold mine for the proprietor....

Helpful?
Thank MrSC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Creative Cafe also viewed

Narberth, Pembrokeshire
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
 
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Creative Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing