We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Narberth
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

called for afternoon lunch last week, warm welcome by all the staff, food arrived quite quickly and was excellent.Food was extremely tasty, very hot and plenty of it.Food could not be faulted and staff were extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
62
69
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on a snowy day in Narbeth and although it was extremely quiet we were made welcome by the staff and we were immediately impressed by the decor and furnishings . The food was good and well presented. I thought the small glass of wine was expensive at £4 but I suppose that is to be expected in an hotel. Would like to sample an evening meal when hopefully there would be more atmosphere.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stay here two or three times a year- always in room 6 and always have a good time. We find the staff to be friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are good and plenty of it and had an enjoyable meal one evening as well. The one thing that does need to be sorted out is the wifi which doesn't work and the staff concede that. It would be much more of an issue if I was staying here for work, however these days reliable free wifi access should be a given. Will be back I'm sure

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieGrimmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This weekend at Plas Hyfryd was a gift from our daughter who purchased a KGB deal for my husband's birthday.

Not the best welcome from the receptionist and it has gone down hill since! I must agree with a previous review, we were placed in room 2 and it is more like a broom cupboard, not at all like the photographs that are shown when you google the hotel. The bedroom comprised of a double bed and a very small wardrobe,there are no drawers and one small shelf for ones items. On the plus side a good sized bathroom, however nowhere to keep your toiletries.

We ventured down to the bar where we bought a white wine and a pint of lager, the wine was drinkable, however the beer was not! We did book a table for this evening but have decided to cancel it and go somewhere else. No atmosphere here at all? Very sorry but we won't be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Biwts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with a KGB voucher. Made to feel very welcome - absolutely no suggestion of being treated differently because we were on a deal (in fact they went so far as to be tactful and use the word "prepaid"!). Room had everything you need with the bonus of a very powerful shower. Breakfasts were so good that we decided to have dinner in the restaurant. We weren't disappointed - lovely home baked bread, tasty starters, exceptional main courses and memorable desserts (with the added surprise of a complimentary pre-dessert). All the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Where to start!!! We booked through booking .com and had conformation.we rang the hotel one week before we booked to make sure that they could accept us after 10pm. so we booked,it was for a two night stay.We were attending a family funeral ,so a very sad time for us.we travelled from West yorkshire,we arrived at 10.15pm.we were very tired it was a 5hr drive and the weather was very very wet.We started to take our belongings out of the car,my husband went to the hotel door........and the saga begins.It was locked,i put our belongings back in the car,and rang the hotel......no answer !!!! we knocked on the door,we knocked on the window.We rang the two numbers that were printed on the front door,one no answered, one answer machine. we were freezing,tired and annoyed.we rang and knocked for 45mins.Eventually my husband rang the police,to see if they had a number for emergencies.guess what one number went to answer machine the others were unobtainable!!! They gave us other hotel numbers to call.we rang Booking .com who confirmed our conformation and they too led us to other accomodation!!!!

Room Tip: As you can see ive run out of space....overall i cannot believe what they did they also denied havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank charlieWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Bought a voucher deal for a one night stay here to start our holiday in Pembrokeshire.

Narberth is a town with character and good shops to browse in. The hotel is within a minute or two's walk of the main high street and so ideally placed. It is also within a short drive of a number of beaches such as Saundersfoot and Tenby.

Upon our arrival it took a little while for anyone to appear and check us in and we felt we lacked a little attention. Our voucher was readily accepted though and we were advised of the complimentary bottle of wine available to us if we dined in. We requested and were given menus to look at to help us decide. We chose to eat in and our meal was very tasty and well cooked. Our first choice of wine we were told, after a while, was not available but we were offered an alternative. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

Our room was very pleasant, clean and comfortable. It was nicely decorated in a boutique style and the bathroom had a bath with a shower over it and was very clean and comfortable.

The service the next morning was better, with the gentleman who served us at breakfast and check out appearing confident and more promptly attentive to guests. Our breakfast was excellent with fresh melon alongside the usual continental choices and the hot options, which included kippers and a full welsh breakfast, cooked to order. Our breakfasts arrived in good time, piping hot and excellently cooked.

We had an extremely pleasant stay, enjoying both the hotel and Narberth itself, which we explored the morning we checked out. If we were in the area again, we would return and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rg00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narberth
1.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
4.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
473 reviews
8.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
680 reviews
9.3 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
281 reviews
6.7 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel

Property: Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Address: Moorfield Road, Narberth SA67 7AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Narberth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plas Hyfryd, a small privately owned 3 star hotel, is situated in Narberth, in the heart of Pembrokeshire and only a short distance from the seaside towns of Tenby and Saundersfoot. Being central within the county, Hotel Plas Hyfryd is superbly located to take a peaceful 'away from it all' break. Little is known of the Hotel's history, Thomas Thomas, a retired surgeon, built 'Belmore House' and lived here until 1829. The house was designed by James Hughes, who was responsible for much of the development in Narberth. The name 'Plas Hyfryd' translates to the English 'lovely palace', and when you enter the front entrance and are greeted with the palatial staircase, it is easy to see why. We have fifteen en-suite rooms, including family rooms and executive suites and a stylish restaurant with an excellent menu by one of Pembrokeshire's most renowned chefs. Our function suite has all the modern facilities and comfort you would require whether you are planning a wedding, family celebration, business conference, team building event or training day. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you as a guest at the Hotel Plas Hyfryd. Our team are committed to a friendly, personal and professional service and look forward to extending a special Pembrokeshire welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel Narberth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing