We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Visit”
Review of Ye Olde Griffin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde Griffin
Ranked #7 of 9 March B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2014

A weekend break for our first visit to March. The Griffin proved to be ideally placed on the high street and with friendly and helpful staff was a hit with us.
The room was clean and although there was a lively atmosphere in the pub we were not disturbed when we retired to our room.
It was unusual to have ear defenders placed in a hotel room but we did not find it too noisy and slept quite well.
The food was the usual pub standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuffty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Griffin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 130 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Friendly market town hotel in central location offering good value accommodation. Comfortable and roomy bedroom with desk to work at. Good breakfast and reasonably quiet despite being in centre of the town.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a quiet room as some rooms are closer to the bars and main street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVauditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

i booked a double room and was given 2 single beds pushed together. i asked for a room which would be quiet and was given a room above the dj box ! i woke in the morning still tired and with a bad back and was told by management that all beds were like theirs! very disappointed and i would strongly advise booking elsewhere if you can

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

When you walk in to your room and you see packets of ear defenders you have to think oh dear. You need them as well which is the really bad thing. Don't bother with an early night. Boom boom boom boom boom boom

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunburnt_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night...business. It is a big place so could get busy and a little noisy, but was fine on a monday night. Rooms were fine, bathroom could do with a little tlc but nothing that would put you off.

Ate in the restaurant. Pub food, but was hot and service was good. Friendly staff behind bar. I did not have full breakfast but it looked ok from what i saw. You could only have 1 juice and 1 cup coffee with your breakfast which I thought a little strange. But then I like my coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room if staying on a wkd
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just stayed at Ye Olde Griffin in March. really good value for money. Friendly staff and room was clean and tidy. Nice to have a nice pub downstairs with some great food and a few beers. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday night all I can say is fantastic, staff so friendly rooms done to a very high standard was told about dj on Saturday night but really couldn't hear anything had the best nights sleep ever really comfy beds. The next morning went down for breakfast and just wish there was more of it as it was really yummy special thanks to the young male manager who helped us with our bags

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Taz0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near March
6.1 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
7.8 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
452 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#1 of 9 in March
209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fourwinds B&B
Fourwinds B&B
#2 of 9 in March
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
VS King William IV
VS King William IV
#5 of 9 in March
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Griffin

Address: 32 High Street, March PE15 9JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > March
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in March
Price Range: $62 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ye Olde Griffin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 bedroom 15th century public house with a large car park at the rear , We are in the centre of the town and overlook the market square , We have SKY & BT tv in the bar area and at weekends we open late on Friday & Saturday nights , and although we do have quiet rooms there is noise downstairs ( we do offer ear plugs in every room ) Please ask if you need a quiet room and we will try and cater for you . breakfast is served from 7am-9 am , but if you need it any later please ask ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ye Olde Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Griffin Hotel March
Ye Olde Griffin March, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing