We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Skylark Maize Maze & Funyard
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in March
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of the Fenland region of Cambridgeshire, the Skylark Giant Maize Maze and Funyard is a fantastic day out for you and the family this summer. With a huge corn maize full of twists and turns, and a wide range of activities in the funyard, you're sure of a full and fun packed day in the countryside. We have many new things on offer this year, including our giant Bouncing Pillow, our new Go Kart Track and there's lots of fun to be had in the woods with our exciting new Den Building. In the Funyard play area children can meet the farm animals, and go wild on the attractions including pedal-go karts, obstacle course, giant inflatable slides and more. The Happy Hands trail is a fun trail through the woods collecting coloured finger prints. Compare your coloured fingers to the chart at the end to see what the Happy Hands trail says about you. Prepare yourselves for 50 feet of zip-zooming fun,climb aboard the seat, jump off the platform and off you go on the Zooming Zip Wire! Did you know pigs like to race? Step up to the rails choose your favourite pig, place your bets and watch the piggies sprint round the course - lets see if you are a weaner. We look forward to welcoming you soon! There is a delightful cafe which has been recognised by the Guild of Food Writers as a "special place to stop for a super snack." Skylark also offers retail therapy on site with its large Garden Centre. Skylark Maize Maze and Funyard is open daily from Sat 18 July to 2nd September then weekends only until the end of September.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely day with children aged 10, 9, 7 and 7. Spent about 2 hours in the maize. Pesky Pidgeon Tractor ride was the highlight! We took a picnic.
Much quieter here than at the other local location. Brilliant day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chictravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    42
    7
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A very silly day out”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome day out at the maize maze.
It was worth paying a pound for a map of the maze and we'd like to try it again without the map. Absolutely great staff - take a water pistol - they're up for a bit of fun and a water fight.
We enjoyed the tractor ride armed with water pistols to shoot pigeon targets. Everybody ended up pretty wet and loved it.
All quite relaxed with not too much unnecessary health and safety which was refreshing.
Good hand washing facilities available for use after feeding and stroking the animals.
Great go carts.
Probably take a picnic. Settle in for the day and I hope you come away as tired, grubby and happy as we did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ruby4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I wish I could be a student again and work here!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My sister came for a visit last week with her 12 year old son and wanted to revisit the maize as they'd been about 3 years ago. Lets be honest my nephew was far too old for somewhere like this but for younger children you could easy spend most of the day there.

The pig racing is hilarious and the pigeon shooting great fun. It is fairly small scale but everything is nicely done and well thought out. The toilets are clean. The cafe has a nice mix of options and friendly staff.

All to often when you go places like this that are staffed by seasonal/students/youngsters the service is lack lustre. But everyone was genuinely friendly and chatty, they all obviously really enjoyed working there.

Really need to borrow some younger children and go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itsysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we all loved the maze its lots of fun,the café has a good range of hot and cold food both for the adults and the children,the garden centre covers most everything you will need .
Well worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day out”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Been today and the 2013 updates are great. Our two girls 4 & 2 have loved it! Highlights included pig race, excellent bouncy castles, water guns on the tractor ride and over an hour navigating the actual maize maze. Now bought a season ticket and will be back for plenty more over the holidays.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beno81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skylark Maize Maze & Funyard also viewed

 
March, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Skylark Maize Maze & Funyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing