We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in March
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were visiting March looking for rental properties and needed to stay overnight unexpectedly. This hotel is very good and the staff were amazingly helpful letting me test the softness of the beds as my husband has a bad back & needs a soft mattress to sleep. I was escorted while we checked out 3 different rooms until we found our Goldilocks bed - just right. The room was a bite dated but clean and comfortable and we had a very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend this hotel.
The location is perfect as it is in the middle of the town and close to lots of eating places, pubs etc.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back of the hotel as it seemed a bit further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineJean19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 240 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stopped here on the first night of our cycle ride from London to York as it was a reasonably convenient stopping off point. The hotel itself is comfortable and clean enough and we had a good night's sleep. However, the menu in the restaurant wasn't particularly inspiring, unless you wanted something and chips, so we had to go out for our evening meal.

The service at breakfast was pretty shoddy and even at 8.30 (1/2 hour after starting service) a lot of the hot breakfast had been eaten, the buffet was not being replenished quickly and what was available was pretty average.

Its not likely that I'd be going back to March, but if I did then its unlikely I'd choose this hotel again because of my experience at breakfast. This was the most expensive of 3 hotels we stayed over that weekend, it was the most expensive and the lowest in quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamwedgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just used our Prosecco Brunch Groupon voucher today at the Cromwell , and I must say we were very impressed. We were seen immediately when we arrived , the table was all set up for us , with a very friendly waitress. The Prosecco was lovely , and nice coffee and orange juice too. Toast was served which again was lovely bread. We had a choice from full englisg or , salmon and scrambled egg, or egg Florentine. I had the salmon and my wife the eggs Florentine , both were very large portions and freshly cooked and it was a really nice meal and experience. , and best of all for £7 each !!! Hope they do this offer again , we will certainly be back !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bisto36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A real surprise awaited us here. The frontage of the hotel is somewhat off-putting but more than made up for by the excellent comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. When our bathroom flooded, there was no problem as we were promptly moved to another room without any fuss. Fine breakfasts and good quality dinners. Be prepared for giant portions!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKVocalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Actually staying at Ye Old Griffin Hotel where we could only get standard "pub food" we decided to eat at the Oliver Cromwell hoping the food would be a "cut above". I have to say, I had the best steak I can remember for a long time! Maybe a couple of pounds over priced at £16.95 for a Ribeye, but it was a good cut and perfectly cooked. Staff were friendly and attentive and bar staff welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BrianAston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay here. Very large room, very clean and reasonably priced. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. We will definitely be returning. Bar staff in particular were excellent

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FrankandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Saturday 6th of July. I arrived late for a wedding. The excellent lady on reception gave me a quick check in. Car number etc to be completed later. Another member of staff showed me to my room. Very clean, also large for a solo traveller. I had a very quiet air conditioned room. Sunday morning the breakfast was excellent. A waiter prepared my toast & brought it to the table a nice touch. I had to leave after an early breakfst so I was unable to look at the other facilities. Well done to all the staff I met, all friendly & helpful. Colin from Devon

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwesttourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near March
13.6 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
457 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
21.8 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
223 reviews
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#2 of 9 in March
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Cromwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Cromwell Hotel

Address: High Street, March PE15 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > March
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in March
Price Range: $70 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Cromwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Oliver Cromwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel March, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing