We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Gandhi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Gandhi
Ranked #46 of 85 Restaurants in Billericay
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Billericay
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have eaten in the gandi for many years, and usually had a very nice curry. Last weekend howevwer was disappointing. The waiter didint seem to want to "wait", our starter took 40 mins, then had to ask for the sauces. The main course took another 20mins. When I asked what had taken it so long,I was told it was the fish that took a long time to cook!!! It tasted of metal. Not nice. The bill was wrong too and then the waiter argued with my husband. All in all a very disappointing curry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont go if you want to eat”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Cant comment on food after waiting nearly 2 hours gave up and went home. Very disappointed as went for new year meal

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for families.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stumbled across this place by accident. Took the kids at around 5.30 on a Saturday night when it wasn't busy. The service was good, they were good with the kids and we couldn't complain about the food. All round good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Wow. Quote "BigD10" for 10% Discount”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Where do I start?!

BigD and the rest of the waiting staff can't do enough to make your Asian dining experience anything but first class. From the moment you walk in the door and are shown to one of the 12 opulent tables the magic starts.

Those simple, delicate but to the point four little words are so important and make me salivate whilst I write this review;
'How many popadoms sir?'

Mmmmmmmmmm, the best lime pickle in Billericay bar none.


Some people have said they are glad the fish tank has been removed but I for one are a little upset. How many first class eateries let you watch the majestic koi whilst eating?

In terms of the menu there is an excellent selection of the typical Indian fare you would expect which is always fresh and presented with excellence.

The best part of the experience is when you quote "BigD10" at the end of your meal and you receive 10% off your bill. Excellent value!

BigD and co keep up the good work!!

P.S BigD's nickname is ironic

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OriginalFunny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value Indian”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Over the years I have had many great meals here (mostly after visiting the local pubs).

Good food at good value and very nice staff with friendly service.

If your looking for a quiet/romatic meal on a Friday or Saturday evening id suggest going elsewhere or eating early in the evening as they do get a fair few groups in each weekend straight from the pub.

If your looking for a place to eat after a few drinks in the town id highly recommend it. (Or away from busy weekends)

The takeaway is also good value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartmwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gandhi also viewed

 
Billericay, Essex
Billericay, Essex
 
Billericay, Essex
 

Been to The Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing