We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIDAY NIGHT ..”
Review of The Dukes Head

The Dukes Head
Ranked #19 of 84 Restaurants in Billericay
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers delicious seasonal dishes – so whether you’re dining in our restaurant, grabbing a snack in the bar or enjoying a delicious salad al fresco, you’re sure to find something to brighten up your day.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“FRIDAY NIGHT ..”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

another visit to our favourite local resturant and was not dissapointed the fish offering was superb my wife started with a crab dish which was called ( doom ) and I started with scallops / pork belly ect - nothing left - we then opted for a Seaford Risotto and Seabass again could not fault it . we were given some nice olive bread and a dip as compliementery before the starter . again a lovely meal new seating a big plus so we booked for xmas day in the conservatory will be back before then ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS_REX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and I am very happy that your had a great experience with us, next time you visit don't forget we run our Fabulous Fish Night very Friday from 6pm.

Look forward to see you soon

The Team at The Dukes Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    154
    75
    68
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

booked last minute lunch last sunday, manager and staff were excellent lots of families with Children and unlike other places they seem to welcome families.Manager was excellent getting us a table where we could easily park our pram. Staff very attentive food was hot and of excellent quality . although its a sister resturant of the Nags head in brentwood this place is miles better both in terms of the food quality and the staff. We will defn be back well done to all involved at the dukes head

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgm1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear that your experience at The Dukes Head was an enjoyable one.

We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Team at The Dukes Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must try!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The first time I came here was just for a couple drinks at the bar and I instantly fell in love with the place. Just that simple experience had not only encouraged me to make reservations for dinner a week later, but to also book Christmas dinner with them. To be honest, I was expecting the food to be much more expensive than it was so I was pleasantly surprised when I looked at the menu to see your average priced meals. The food was absolutely delicious and the presentation of each dish was beautiful. It's a great place to have a good meal and relax. There is a comfortable amount of time between each course so you don't feel like you're being rushed. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful as well. I will definitely be coming back here again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukesHeadBillericay, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are thrilled that on your first visit you had a great time, we thrive on making our guests experiences good ones and it's nice to hear we lived up to this expectation!

We all look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards,

Wes and the Dukes Head Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Much needed makeover”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Turned up on spec and managed to get a table. Lovely re-vamp of an old pub, seating pleasant and not crowded. Limited menu selection but good quality food nicely cooked and served. A little slow on the service but no fault of the waiting staff who were attentive and polite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sensate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukesHeadBillericay, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sad to hear the service was a bit slow during your visit but thrilled you still had a great time with us. We emphasis on personal detail to our service whilst delivering you a fresh product.

Thanks for your feedback, we look forward to serving you in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards,

Wes and all the Team at The Dukes Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax and have fun.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This place I found excellent, the interior design is comfortable with a mixture of rustic modern approach. Friendly atmosphere with bar staff and waiters funny and willing to talk, Wes and I believe his name was Kurt were very attentive and made the meal relaxed and unrushed. The food itself was delicious i could not find a fault starter to dessert. Prices I thought would be higher but they are reasonable for the quality of food you receive.

I recommend this place very highly and would go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukesHeadBillericay, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear that your experience at The Dukes Head was an enjoyable one.

We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Wes and all the Team at The Dukes Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dukes Head also viewed

 
Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing