We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of The Orb - CLOSED

The Orb
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
london
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A good location (easy access), an interesting range of food and nice staff and decor.

I don't think you will be let down

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem in Billericay High Street”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having already been to The Orb with a Travel Zoo voucher previously, we booked the private dining room upstairs for our parents Golden Wedding on Saturday and we had a fantastic time. Jordan and the team could not do enough for us. We arrived early to decorate the table and room and he was there to greet us and ask if we had any particular requests. We had already chosen from the set menu which offered plenty of choice and was a fixed price for three courses. The room was just right for our family meal, there are fifteen of us and the huge table was perfect. On arrival the staff were keen to greet us with a friendly welcome and handshakes and we were shown up to the room where they came and took drinks orders before we sat to eat. Nothing was too much trouble. Considering they had to go up and down stairs for all our courses, the food was hot and delicious. Half our party were children between the ages of 8-17 and the staff were really attentive to their needs, even taking our family group photograph at the end of the evening. The restaurant is behind The Crown pub so it is not one that you would walk past which is a shame as misses the passing footfall of the public. I think if more people knew about it, it would be busier. It suited our needs perfectly and my parents had a great time. Really recommend The Orb to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Good food but mixed reviews”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have rated The Orb as "Average" because it was an up/down experience.

The negatives:
Very difficult to book. No return call, no answer to email, phone ringing unanswered.
Difficult to park nearby. Very small car park outside, local streets busy, yellow lines everywhere.
Tables close together. Other diners able to hear full conversation.
Despite booking on a Groupon offer we were charged a service charge to the FULL value of the meal not the Groupon price which was disproportionate to the cost (or service we experienced).

The positives:
Friendly staff, welcoming and not worried that we were 10 mins late due to not being able to park (probably used to that problem)
Very tasty food, good flavours, fresh and well presented.
Pleasant surroundings, clean lines, modern decor and fresh.
Service inobtrusive.

I think I probably would go back to The Orb but I wouldn't particularly hurry or rely upon it for a special occasion as it was really difficult to book.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food and Pointless wine list!!!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Arrived and had to ask for coats to be taken.
Ordered one type wine told last bottle, ordered another bottle sold out, tried again sold out!!! Asked for bicardi and coke you guest it run out!!!! Called for manager asked why they had nothing....answer they had been busy!!!! Errr really its Christmas! She offered one bottle of wine free!
After meal ladies asked for Champagne cocktails told had to buy whole bottle....ok can see that...but why did it take an hour!!
Now food not much to say average pub food that was rushed to the table at supersonic speed!!!!
Will never go back....not a snob but expect a certain level of service when you pay that kind of money!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The staff are really welcoming as soon as you arrive, they do not rush you and were happy for us to sit in the bar before going to our table. The food was absolutely delicious and there was plenty of it too. I would definitely recommend this restaurant., the food was wonderful

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orb also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing