We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orb - CLOSED

The Orb
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews, we were a little bit concerned. However, on entering we were welcomed by member of staff, as it was early at around 7pm the restaurant was nearly empty but by the time we left it was nearly full. We thought the service and the food was very good. As we had a Groupon voucher which made the price very reasonable. Would we go back at full price, yes.

Helpful?
Thank Hockleyshetlandpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average if you can get through to book”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a Groupon deal bought for a birthday present. Food good but let down by poor service. It took several attempts to even book a table. Did not appreciate having to pay a service charge for very average service. Would not go again definately not worth the £91.46 charged with serivce including a very average bottle of wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judith52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too much!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I went with a group of friends for a 3 course meal with Prosecco using a groupon voucher on a Friday evening and was surprised to find that there were only a smattering of other diners.

Surroundings were very pleasant and the staff were welcoming and attentive. The groupon voucher was excellent value for money - without it the meal would have been pricey but not extortionate. A special occasion restaurant I would say.

The good was lovely too. A good varied menu and a nice wine list. My only gripe is that the portions were too large. It was all so good that we couldn't leave any - with the result that by the time we got to pudding we were absolutely stuffed. We waddled out at the end of the evening. Would go again though, but maybe stop after the main course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downhill all the way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Orb when run by Peter was a 5 star restaurant and I have recommended it to many people for a special occasion meal. Alas this is no longer the case, average pub food at inflated prices with enthusiastic but very poor service, give it a miss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Groupon voucher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic. Can't wait to go back huge portions. Great ambience. Service efficient great value for money. Pleasant atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Sandie9440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orb also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing