We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just magic”
Review of Magic Mushroom

Magic Mushroom
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Billericay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $51
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: An excellent product starts with the careful selection of the finest fresh ingredients. We source local produce whenever possible, our meats are reared at Essex farms and our fish is delivered fresh daily with much of our fruit and vegetables grown at home in the kitchen garden.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just magic”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a lovely Sunday lunch staff and ambience great - just wish this restaurant was nearer to where we lived.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastendersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    142
    56
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magic indeed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent a great evening recently at the Magic Mushroom with my husband and 4 friends for a birthday celebration and we weren't disappointed. Food and service were both excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

See for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laroc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, but check the position of your table”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food on Friday night was perfect, we had the stuffed Skate wings, followed by rich chocolate cheesecake. The place is a converted long barn and the main part of the restaurant has plenty of space and a lovely atmosphere. But we where put up in a area that had been split and walled of to make the kitchen, with closed curtains on the the other side, and with with 3 tables abreast, all in a line, we felt more in a corridor than a restaurant. and very detached from the main part. not helped by the staff brushing past to get the the other tables.
Avoid this area, and if that is the only tables they have got, I would forget it in future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank myscimitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
684 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a regular haunt of ours when we want to celebrate a birthday or go somewhere special in the area. Similarly, if we are just looking for a good meal on a weekday lunch time, then this is our first choice for a quiet environment, good service and excellent food. We always find it a cut above other local restaurants, with quality food well presented and a friendly and efficient staff. Prices are not low, but are commensurate with the quality of the food and although higher than some other more average restaurants in the area, they are lower than local restaurants which seek to match its quality. Our No.1 choice for an excellent meal in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent meal.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an excellent meal, presentation was excellent, food was excellent and the service was excellent. What more is there to say. A touch more expensive than some other restaurants in the area, but the quality was superb. Would I go again? Yes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blacksteve_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Mushroom also viewed

 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Magic Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing