We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, brilliant rooms, fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooklands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brooklands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Sale B&B and Inns
Worcester
1 review
“Excellent location, brilliant rooms, fantastic staff!”
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I'm not often compelled to write reviews for anything, but for Brooklands Lodge I can make an exception! Along with a group of friends that we don't see often enough, my wife and I stayed at Brooklands in December 2008 to enjoy the wonderful Christmas Market in Manchester, to do some Christmas shopping and to generally spend some quality time catching up on the latest happenings.

From the moment of booking through to our final goodbyes, the owners couldn't have been more friendly and attentive whilst strangely and seamlessly blending in to the background until you needed them. Steve and Angela Vernon are wonderful hosts and should be truly proud of Brooklands for what they have achieved not only with the rooms and the quality of their presentation, but also for the air of warmth and friendliness that is ever present.

Check-in was simple and our room was great - easily large enough for the two of us with plenty of space for sleeping or just chilling out. Cleanliness was superb, and the facilities are as you would hope - plenty of scope for making tea, an essential on all my travels! There are also lots of little touches that make it special, like the chocolates on the table in the room. We opted for the cooked breakfast, which for the small additional price was exceptional - thoroughly recommended. Steve's picked up some great tips on cooking the best breakfast and was more than happy to share them with us! :-)

The location is superb - far enough out of town to have its own beautiful character but only minutes away from the Brooklands Metro (tram) station which provided our easy shopping access whilst allowing us not to worry about parking, or about a designated driver when we felt the compelling urge to sample the mulled wine at the Christmas Markets!

I can't really think of anything that would make Brooklands better and indeed we're already planning a return visit and have recommended it to a number of our closest friends.

  • Liked — Quality of room; warmth and friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Leaving! Can't wait to go back :-)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandslodge, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2009
We thank you very much for your review, the positive comments that we have recieved in such a short time reassure us that our business is moving in the right direction, but we are always looking to improve. Thank you once again for the time you have taken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
77
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I would like to thank Steve & Angela for such a lovely experience once again, me & my son visited briefly to see the football & could not ask for better service, they are always so kind & thoughtful, thanks for the room!!
We will continue to use Brooklands lodge as this is the best place that we have ever stayed wherever we may have been.
You are always made very welcome & some nice touches are added to ensure you have a wonderful stay.
Thanks again.
Dean & Liam

  • Liked — The great service & comfort of the rooms
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djm08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandslodge, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2009
It really is our pleasure. Liam is a real credit to you. Happy New Year and we wil see you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We were made to feel so welcome. The building is stunning, and the rooms are comfortable and contemporary. The claim that it is a "home from home" is very true! It has a fantastic location with bars and quality restaurants just across the road! We have already booked for next Christmas to visit relatives nearby. Having a young family, we really appreciated the thought behind the service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank reiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandslodge, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2008
Thankyou for such a lovely review- we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, - just to let you know we have found a zebra and it's in the post!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2008

I was fortunate enough to stay at Brooklands for 2 months while completing an extremly tough course and I cannot reccomend it highly enough! Whether you are looking for a short break or longer stay, for business or pleasure, the Vernon family at Brooklands will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. The rooms are lovely with little touches that make all the difference and most of the rooms are better than what can be expected from large chain hotels! Not only does it have all all that can be expected from a large hotel chain such as tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but it also has all the little touches that make the stay memorable These include free WI-FI connection,a fridge in every room which is stocked daily with fruit, cerials and fresh milk and orange juce which means if you are not feeling sociable you dont have to venture out for breakfast. Brooklands lodge can also boast extremly comfortable beds in luxurious surroundings and best of all, a few choclates every morning in your room.
Angie is also a wealth of knowledge on where to visit in Manchester, she knows whats going on and where is worth visiting and is more than happy to take time out of her day to explain everything. This family are so keen on you enjoying your stay I was once given a lift into work when my car flooded which shows they go way beyond what is expected!

Thankyou for making my stay so enjoyable!!

  • Liked — Its hard to define just one point
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBOWLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandslodge, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2008
Your response must win for the longest, you were a pleasure to have stay. We know your pilots course was stressful but Steve and I feel that we can both fly the Airbus 320 with great ease! we look forward to seeing you and Sol when you next fly into Manchester Good luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Warm welcome to this excellent B&B. Rooms very clean and well furnished. Fridge and contents were a well received novely (yoghourt, orange juice, milk, fruit).

If you want more for breakfast, try the cooked one in the dining room, Steve is an excellent cook!

Local produce used.

  • Liked — Fridge and contents
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandSlam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We stayed at the Brooklands guest house very recently. When we arrived we received such a lovely warm welcome from Angie and Steve and their daughter. We felt at home immediately and loved our spacious room and lovely en suite bathroom. Our room was modern and luxurious and immaculately clean and we loved the extra touches such as chocolates, drinks and cerials and we opted for a full English breakfast which was fantastic. The guest house is only 2 minutes walk from the metro link which we found very useful to travel into Manchester. We stayed here as we had football tickets on the Sunday. We are so looking forward to our next visit to Brooklands as we enjoyed our visit so much and have found a real gem. Thankyou ever so much Steve , Angie and family.

  • Liked — fantastic guest house and owners
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandslodge, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
Thanks for the wonderful feedback, we really appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit maybe for a game of football a local derby would be a good idea!! Or your Christmas shopping. Thank you once again it was great to meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We were made so very welcome. The rooms are really comfortable, with a fridge and fresh milk/ tea and coffee so we could settle in. The shower in the morning was fantastic.
It is excellent value and I am happy to recommend it,

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank westdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklandslodge, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2008
Thank you for your response, as we have just celebrated our first year here it is fantastic to receive such great reviews, thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.5 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sale
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.8 mi away
Eskdale Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Lodge

Property: Brooklands Lodge
Address: 208 Marsland Road | Manchester, Sale M33 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklands Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in Manchester. Voted top B & B by Visit Manchester, Certificate of Exellence Trip Advisor, Trafford award winner for customer service and seen on BBC's 'The One Show'. Great for city centre, Manchester United/Old Trafford and Metro 100m. 4 star rated by Visit Britain. It truly is home from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Brooklands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Hotel Sale
Brooklands Lodge Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing