We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”
Review of Brooklands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brooklands Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Sale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in October 2012. I grew up in Brooklands and I had no idea that Brooklands Lodge existed until we were looking for somewhere to stay on this trip. Angela and Steve are great hosts, the full English breakfasts are brilliant, the accommodations are clean and bright and the room rates are value for money. The only downside is that Steve is a Man United fan!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

"We'll be back", now that you've revealed your true colours, "We'll be full!!"

Seriously though, thanks for your kind comments, much appreciated. We always try our best to extend a warm welcome and provide great service to all our guests whatever their persuasion. Hope to see you next time for more banter over eggs n' bacon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 230 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

The room was large bright and clean. The bathroom was modern and had a large shower.

Within 5min you have the Metro and there is plenty of parking.

There is a pub which serves food across the road and if you go on a 10min walk you will find a wide selection of different restaurants and pubs.

The breakfast was perfect, not fried but grilled and the quality of the meat and bread was great. I opted for this to set me up for the day and it sure did.

The owners Steve and Angela were lovely and left you alone to get on with your stay but also liked to have a good chat if you were in the mood.

Overall this B&B surpassed any of my expectations and if I'm anywhere near them in the future I will stay even if it it means a 20min Metro Ride.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHall1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for saying "more than enough" about Brooklands Lodge, we really really appreciate your feedback. We always say that a little effort and a smile doesn't cost very much! We also appreciate the effort you made on our behalf and hope that the exam went well, let's hope the Green Tea worked it's magic!! Hope to see you next time your this way or when you fancy tickets!! Kind Regards, Steve & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've been staying at BL several times per year since 2008. Steve and Angela are always pleased to see me, welcoming, interested in me and ready with loads of local knowledge. The Lodge is also really conveniently placed with the Metro 5 minutes walk away and plenty of places to eat and drink similarly adjacent.

The rooms are spotless, warm and they have great little touches like good quality biscuits!

Super place, super people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomYDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

One of the best things about our job, is our guests and although we try to be approachable and yet discrete, it's always nice when people come back and we get the next bit of the story!! Whether it's how the kids are doing or where's a good dive site, it's like friends re-united! We'll keep trying to improve on what we do here at Brooklands Lodge, as long as you comeback with the latest news on how things are going! Kind Regards, Steve & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at this very warm and friendly B&B in October for 2 weeks and it really was a home from home stay - I felt like one of the family and anything I needed was supplied with a smile! Poppy dog enhanced my stay even more (she loved the bits of bacon rind I saved for her!!) as I was in Sale to train to be a dog groomer (didn't get to practice on her though!). The room was well appointed with a great massage shower, fridge etc and the cooked breakfasts were great! Overall, I would thoroughly recommend staying at Brooklands Lodge (there are plenty of places to eat in the evening all within a 10 minute walk!) Thanks again.

Room Tip: Any would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wowheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, it was great to have yo stay and you will be pleased to know that Poppy enjoyed her Christmas break and replaced her bacon by a considerable amount of turkey!
We hope your business is doing well.
Kind regards
Angela & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My Mum, husband and I stayed at the Brooklands Lodge for two nights over a weekend whilst visiting Manchester. We had a great stay and owe Angela and Steve (and their lovely and very well behaved dog Poppy) a big thanks for making us all feel very welcome. I'm sure you can tell from the other reviews that they make everyone feel welcome, and that's part of the charm of staying at the lodge.

We had a double and single room booked for the two nights and both were clean and quite. A breakfast including a variety of cereals, yogurt, fruit, juice and tea was included in our room cost. There is also on-site guest parking available free of charge.

It's a shame that the hotel is listed as 'Greater Manchester' when it's two minute walk from a Metrolink that will take you to the middle of Manchester city within 15 minutes so don't let the location deter you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punchy_but_accurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really enjoy having guests stay who enjoy all that the area has to offer I am sure that on your next vist there will even more to discover.
Have a great christmas and a very happy new year.
Kind regards to you all
Angela, Steve and Poppy of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

What a fantastic Lodge! Great, well presented accommodation, tasty full English breakfast, lovely cupa tea. Warm, friendly and attentive staff. Ideal for the Metrolink into Manchester. Thanks for a lovely stay - delightful! Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeybusiness820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thnak you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next vist.
Kind regards
Angela & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend. Delighted by the standard of accommodation, warm and personal welcome, and lots of attention to detail. Very convenient for getting to Manchester city centre, but plenty far enough away to feel relaxed.

If you want somewhere to stay in the Manchester area, don't pick a budget hotel. Pay that little bit more and stay here, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review, we are glad you had a relaxing time and enjoyed your stay with us so much. I am sure that when you return you will find more things to do during your stay, I really think every season in Manchester and its surrounding areas there is something different to offer and events to attend, it would be our pleasure for you to return.
Kind regards
Angela & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sale hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sale
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sale Hotel
0.8 mi away
Eskdale Lodge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Belforte House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Lodge

Address: 208 Marsland Road | Manchester, Sale M33 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sale
Price Range: $65 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklands Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in Manchester. Voted top B & B by Visit Manchester, Certificate of Exellence Trip Advisor, Trafford award winner for customer service and seen on BBC's 'The One Show'. Great for city centre, Manchester United/Old Trafford and Metro 100m. 4 star rated by Visit Britain. It truly is home from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brooklands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Hotel Sale
Brooklands Lodge Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing