We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brooklands Lodge...A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Review of Brooklands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brooklands Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Sale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brooklands Lodge...A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My Godson's mother (Sakeena Winter) arrived from the USA to be with her very sick mother for her final days, sadly 5 days later she died. I managed to find this beautiful B and B in Sale for her to stay. It was just what she needed, such a lovely place, the owners Steve and Angela were very welcoming had great local knowledge and couldn't do enough for us to make her stay a comfortable one considering the circumstances.
The rooms were very clean, warm and comfortable. There is a lovely family feel to the place.
If your coming to Manchester, forget the expensive hotels, come to the Brooklands Lodge in sale, you WONT be disappointed. If you need to go into Manchester City Centre then the metro is only a short distant away. I would 110% recommend you come and experience the Brooklands Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thnak you for your very kind review, it was our pleasure to be of assistance at such a bad time and hopefully the next visit will be more relaxing.
Your compliments are very generous, please keep in touch.
Kind regards
Angela & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
78
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked a double room for 18th and 19th September. Extremely friendly hosts, excellent accommodation and good breakfasts. Very good value for money, with all facilities that we needed with some very nice touches. The Lodge is barely a 2 min walk away from the Metro station so very convenient for Manchester city centre and the surroundings such as Altrincham, Tatton Park etc. We have stayed previously numerous times in Manchester city centre but the Lodge is a far better alternative and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review, hopefully like you say we are good alternative to staying in central Manchester and the chain hotels, Sale as you found out has great restaurants and brilliant trasnport links so you have easy access to most places.
It was great to discuss your holiday connections and you have given us plently of food for thought. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Kind regards
Angela & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My trip wasn't under the best circumstances unfortunately (my Mother's funeral) but Angela and Steve and their daughter (and Poppy the dog!) made me feel right at home, when I needed it the most. It has a really happy 'family' feel, generated by them being such wonderful hosts. They are extremely helpful and friendly, and staying somewhere that didn't feel like a clinical, isolating hotel, made my trip a whole lot easier.

The rooms are lovely and clean, and pretty. During my 2 week stay, I was in both in a single and double room, and was extremely comfortable in both. Breakfast items (cereal) are in the room should you need them, with tea and coffee facilities. Modern and immaculate bathroom, and comfy beds. Located in walking distance (less than 5 mins) to the Metrolink for easy access to Manchester city center.

I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakeena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review, it truly was ou pleasuret to have you stay even thought the circumstances were very sad, but it was lovely to chat to you and I am glad we were of help. We look forward to having to stay again when ever you are over here. Look after youself.
Kindest regards
Angela & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent our last two nights on holiday in the UK here. We were looking for something convenient to Manchester Airport, but more welcoming than a standard hotel. Brooklands fit our needs.
Angela and Steve, our hosts, were quite friendly and accommodating. Both had lots of ideas to help us spend our last couple days as well as dining suggestions. Poppy always seemed happy to see us. The bedroom was comfortable and well furnished. The bathroom was satisfactory. We had a cooked breakfast our first morning which was quite good. There is a charge for the breakfast. That’s not something we’re used to in the USA, but is not uncommon in the UK and clearly noted on the website. We would have enjoyed a common area or room if one had been available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMac150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review it was our pleasure to have you stay and we are so glad you enjoyed your last couple of days of you holiday here in Sale, and the weather was kind what more can you ask for.
Regards
Angela & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hi

Just stayed at Brooklands Lodge for two nights either side of our wedding. We chose the hotel based on its Trip advisor reviews as we live just a mile away and had never needed a hotel in Sale before.

We were absolutely delighted when we popped in a year ago and were given a look round by Steve and Angela. We decided that it would be the place we would recommend to our out of town guests to stay.

The room we had (the executive) was absolutely lovely with a seriously comfy bed and all other things needed in a hotel room. The mini fridge contained everything we needed for breakfast but we opted to dine in the dining room with our wedding guests both mornings and the cooked breakfast was fab.

All in all we loved the stay as did our 6 other friends and if ever we need a hotel in the area again this will be the one of choice.

Thanks Steve & Anglea for making our stay even more enjoyable with the extra personal touch. You are great hosts.

A beautiful place decorated impeccably and run by lovely people. A total winner.

Dave & Deb Metcalfe

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you very much for such a fanstic review, it was our pleasure to have you and your friends stay, it was like we had known you all for ages.
We hope that your stay with us is just the start you needed for a long , happy and healthy marriage.
Good luck to you both,
Kindest regards
Angela & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Chose this hotel due to proximity to Sale rugby club and stayed for one night.
The hosts are friendly and you are made to feel welcome in their home.

We had a comfortable overnight stay. A good selection of cereal in your room together with yoghurt, fruit pot and fruit juice and a variety of hot drink products. (I would also put two bottles of water in the fridge - just a thought!)

The bedroom was a pleasant area, bathroom small with the basin exceptionally small but adequate for one night away.

I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breakawayyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, it lovely to meet all of you, who went off to the golden wedding party and as the sun was shining I am sure the party next day was a great addition.
We welcome you back anytime you are back visitng.
Kind regards
Angela & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just returned from three nights in the de luxe room at this excellent B&B.

Our room was self contained and was clean and homely. Breakfast was taken in our room as all the ingredients were supplied in a fridge. We had table and chairs plus two comfortable sitting chairs and coffee table. The bed was most comfortable and we slept very well.

Right near to Brooklands is a garage, off licence and take away is across the road. The Metro as others have said is walking distance. We ate two nights at Hanni's which is a wonderful Mediteranean restauarnt which is highly recommended.

If you want clean comfortable accommodation with hosts that are genuinly lovely people who care about every aspect of your stay then this is the place for you.


Don't bother with central Manchester take the Metro from Brooklands.

Room Tip: We were at the back and it was so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy d, Owner at Brooklands Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thnak you for your very kind review, it was great ot meet you both and and don't know between us who had the most hetic weekend, but I know we all really enjoyed it.
Your pictures of Victoria Baths were brilliant such a suberb venue for a wedding, hopefully we wil get there soon.
We look forward to you next visit
Kindest Regards
Angela & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.5 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
3.9 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#4 of 116 in Manchester
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coachmans Cottage
Coachmans Cottage
#1 of 4 in Sale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Lodge

Property: Brooklands Lodge
Address: 208 Marsland Road | Manchester, Sale M33 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklands Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in Manchester. Voted top B & B by Visit Manchester, Certificate of Exellence Trip Advisor, Trafford award winner for customer service and seen on BBC's 'The One Show'. Great for city centre, Manchester United/Old Trafford and Metro 100m. 4 star rated by Visit Britain. It truly is home from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Brooklands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Hotel Sale
Brooklands Lodge Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing