We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Stay at the Eskdale lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eskdale Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eskdale Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Stay at the Eskdale lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed at the Eskdale lodge for 3 nights this week.
I arrived on Sunday to friendly owners who showed me to my room.
The room was lovely and nice and clean, with free WIFI internet access and a comfy bed.
The following day I went down for Breakfast, which was also lovely.
I also had dinner in the hotel curry of the day which was delicious. The hotel is situated in a very nice quiet area, the bar gets quite busy in the evenings I think alot of locals go there probably because of the warm welcome from all staff and great food!

Excellent value for money and customer service second to none, I felt totally at home and would not think twice about booking again next time I am visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you Vikki for taking the time to leave a review.We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay . When guests recognize all the effort that we put into our hotel and into making their stay a pleasant one; it truly makes our day. So thank you for that and thanks for the great review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
37
34
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We are just back from a 3 night stay in the Eskdale lodge and we had a great time. Hotel is spotless and the owners were so welcoming, couldn't do enough for us. Food was lovely especially the breakfast and it is excellant value for money as well. The hotel is also used by the locals so it is very busy but once you are in your room there is absolutely no noise from the bar and everyone was so friendly we really felt at home. Would definitely use this hotel again without any questions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaks49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed what we have to offer.
I hope to see you and your family again soon.

Kind Regards,

Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just came back from a stay in this B & B and got to say it was really good. The owner and his wife made us very welcome from the word go and all the staff there are friendly and would do anything for you. The rooms were clean and roomy and the maid/cleaner did our room every day. Would definetly recommend to anyone for a stay in Manchester.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor - no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review Loraine. It was lovely to have met you and your family and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to meet you again.
Many thanks for recommending us, your comments are very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have been staying in the Eskdale lodge for three days a week for the past year. I originally found it through a search site and read some reviews, I am delighted with what I have experienced over the past year. Excellent helpfull staff, very clean facilities, bed linen always spotless and fresh. The owners will do anything they can to make your stay a stress free situation. The bar downstairs is very popular within the local area, an area which in itself is very well presented. Even with the bar and resturant being so popular, they is very little noise in the rooms upstairs, unlike most B&B's around Manchester. I spent most of my time in room one or two, which are both directly above the bar area, quiet comfortable sleeping. To top it all, the breakfast is probably the best breakfast I have had not only in Manchester, but many other parts of the country as well. I have now come to an end with my working in this area, but I will definately be comming back to the Eskdale when I need to come to Manchester again. Very happy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Good afternoon Phil and thank you very much for your kind review.
I am delighted that we ticked every box for you over the past 12 months and hope to again in the future. Fingers crossed we see you again next season when the reds are playing.

All the very Best

Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
201 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

A venue obviously well respected by local people, a busy bar and restaurant when we were there on a Friday night. Reasonable pub grub with wine not to outrageously priced.

Our room (1) was large but the decoration felt tired and the bed needs replacing seems the springs are broken.

Not really a 5 min "stroll" from metro.

Bizarre breakfast charges! Two poached eggs, slice of toast for this hotel is a "full English" and is charged accordingly. And "continental breakfast" is slice of toast and a spoonful of jam, croissant or brioche afraid not.

Lots of stairs this is probably not for you if you have mobility problems.

Room Tip: Don't go into room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Very comfortable room, great food (especially the soup & the lamb) & excellent service. We stayed with our two year old and enjoyed our stay very much. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank askjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope that you had an enjoyable onward journey in Scotland.
We hope to see you again.

Many thanks again.
Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very busy with local people.
Spacious , superior room on 1st floor.Comfortable bed, but central heating went off during the night and our room was cold.
The hotel in general is tired and needs refurbishing and decorating.
Cooked english breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sulc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskdaleLodge, Owner at Eskdale Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your review.
First of all may I apologise for the heating. We had a problem with the boiler on the day you stayed and the heating should had been kept on all night to get the temperature back into the building but this was overlooked and turned off at midnight. I am very sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you.
In regards to the general maintenance, this is an ongoing programme. We updated all our bedrooms in the past 4 years. Two years ago we refurbished the restaurant and last year we fully refurbished the ground floor bar and public toilets. I will be updating our website with pictures in the very near future.
This year I have put a new en-suite in the family room and currently refreshing the cellar bar.
I presume you refer to the public area upstairs outside the bedrooms that is looking a bit tired and this is also getting refreshed slowly over the next few weeks.
The forth bridge springs to mind!
Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Garvan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
1.0 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Altrincham Lodge
Altrincham Lodge
#5 of 6 in Altrincham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskdale Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Lodge Hotel

Property: Eskdale Lodge Hotel
Address: 35 Harboro Road, Sale M33 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eskdale Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eskdale Lodge is a small family run hotel set in a residential area in Sale. We have 9 letting bedrooms all of which have an en-suite, television (including sky), and a welcome tray including tea and coffee making facilities, and complimentary biscuits and mints. The hotel has two bars, and a restaurant. We at the Eskdale take care in providing comfortable accommodation in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eskdale Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskdale Lodge Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing