We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“found a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lennox Lea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“found a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Found this hotel by chance from google search for area, stayed one night and the room albeit a bit tired was as good as many more expensive hotels, pays to ask for one of the better rooms it would appear but the reception was friendly, the room was clean, the breakfast was superb and better than previous hotels we had stayed in who charge 4 times as much. You can even bring in your takeaway and they`ll give you a knife and fork and you can eat it in the bar. Truly a gem of a hotel but make sure you have asked for a large room. About 1/2 mile from metro at sale and then 1/2hour into town centre. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: we had room 10 but ask for executive or large room as some were described as having an en suite leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalimar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Shalimar999,
'There it is, what took you so long'..... to find us! I know that's really bad but I just couldn't resist.
'Found a great hotel' love it. Where is it? I hope you made it ' a night to remember!'......oh nooo!
Thank you so much.
All the best Geoffrey & Jodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    103
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
103
127
38
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lennox Lea is one of the 'preferred' hotels for business travel to my company's Manchester office, being located nearby and having looked after many weary travellers over the years. On this occasion I only stayed for one night and arrived reasonably late so had very little interaction with staff but those I did meet were friendly, professional and made me feel welcome. My room was on the very top floor, which is reached through two heavy fire doors, one of which is set on the corner of a staircase and made me very grateful for having travelled light - I'd hate to try and get through that with a large suitcase!
The room itself was basic but functional with a quaint bathroom (I didn't know there were still avocado suites in existance). Unfortunately the headboard bashed against the wall with the slightest movement (I was alone, don't get excited) which made for a restless night for me and I dread to think what any other guests were thinking! The shower lacked sufficient water pressure but soaps and shower gels were provided which is always a welcome extra.
The coffee provided on the drinks tray in the room was undrinkable, but I thoroughly enjoyed the coffee served with the contintental breakfast, which came with plenty of toast and accompanying toppings, fruit, cereal, cereal bars, yoghurts and muffins.
Based on this one-night visit I probably wouldn't choose to book the Lennox Lea for a leisure trip but I can see from other reviews that I'm in the minority with that view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nile78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good morning Nile78,
We are hearing you loud and clear. Many thanks for your constructive review. The points you raised are already being addressed.
Best regards Mike & Joanna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a family wedding in Sale which meant that we needed a lot of rooms at accessible prices for relatives and friends coming to stay. We found the Lennox Lea by chance and we are so glad that we did. It was perfect for what we needed. A privately run hotel with character, a lovely warm ambience, very friendly and helpful staff, and a great breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. They let us have full use of their lounge for a pre-wedding evening casual gathering which was wonderful as we had people arriving from long distances. Thanks to Joanna, Mike, Janet and Graham for all their attentiveness, helpfulness and organisation. I would thoroughly recommend the Lennox Lea to anyone who wants something different to the usual hotel chains or if, like us, you have a big family gathering. It made a perfect start to our big weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi MikeH,
What a lovely review. We are so pleased that you choose us as your venue to start off your pre Wedding celebrations. I think special thanks need to go to Janet & Graham who were front of house that evening. Hope everything went well on the big day? Look forward to seeing you again for any more family gatherings!
All the best to you and your family it was a pleasure looking after you.
Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were made to feel at home immediately, by the warm and helpful staff. Accomodation exceeded expectations and the 4 of us were very comfortable in our double room.

Breakfast was tasty and ample, fueling us for our travels around Manchester.

The hotel is in a quiet location, but close enough to the centre of Sale and the tram station to be convenient. Our only regret is we weren't able to spend more time at this lovely location.

Our thanks to all at the hotel and we look forward to enjoying your great hospitality again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Jonathan,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Lennox Lea and that you thought of us as a 'Home away from home'. It was a genuine pleasure looking after you and your lovely family.
Hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to your next trip from South Africa.
All the best Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good standard independent hotel in Sale. I stayed in a room right at the top of the house accessed up a private set of stairs. Unusually the bathroom was on a level below, but not a problem. Room was spacious and comfortable.
Comfortable bar. Breakfast was traditional English with reasonable selection on offer.

Hotel is a brisk walk from the Sale Tram station, though if you have bags, suggest getting a cab. Located in a quiet residential area of Sale. Makes you feel at home ....

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W5WPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Morning,

Thanks for your review and really pleased you liked our good value, homely Hotel.
Hope to see you again.

All the best for a great day Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Alway a warm welcome at this hotel. The bar is small but fits the style of the hotel. The staff are always on hand whaen you want any kind of service. Breakfast is one to look forward too, and again teh service is exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Morning Robin T,

Thanks so much for your lovely review. It's always so kind when guests go to the trouble of doing us reviews. We are always very grateful. Breakfasts are yummy and especially the 'full Monty'.... no not that type!! What do you take us for! Keep your hat on!
All the best & see you on your next trip to Manchester.

Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our family relocated from Vancouver, Canada, to the UK earlier in the year and arrived on the steps of the Lennox Lea with a mountain of suitcases, a golden retriever, a reservation for three nights and no idea where we were going next. We ended up staying a month.

Mike and Joanna could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel right at home in the large family room with the aparthotel kitchen.

The Lennox Lea Hotel is delightfully eccentric and is about as far as you can get from the sterile impersonality of the big chain hotels - a family run hotel that makes you feel like one of the family. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi RonelleA,
Thanks so much for your really kind words, you have made our day. You were such a lovely family and this makes our job so much easier. We hope you enjoy your time in Manchester (your new spiritual home). If we can be of help in any way please just ask.
All the best from two happy bunnies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
3.7 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#9 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lennox Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lennox Lea Hotel

Property: The Lennox Lea Hotel
Address: Charlton Drive, Sale M33 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lennox Lea Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Award Winning Hotel & B&B with Apartments & Studios with mini kitchens, located in a peaceful setting only minutes away by Metrolink to city centre Manchester and all its attractions. Ideal for short or long term accommodation. We're right where you need to be!..And Pet Friendly Too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lennox Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lennox Lea
Lennox Lea Manchester
The Lennox Lea Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing