We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay....as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lennox Lea Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay....as usual”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The staff are always nice,and efficient. Room was clean and adequatefor the needs of 2 blokes up for the football. Downside:no draught lager in the bar.Upside:Nice bottled beer instead.We were allowed to bring hot food in at the weekend and were kindly supplied with plates and cutlery.Breakfast brilliant as always and accompanied by singing from the kitchen.All in all,a fine and welcoming place to stay,which I've used over many years.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Hi Keith A
Thanks for your nice review.
Always nice to see our regulars.
Glad you liked the new beers & our delicious breakfasts. Sorry about my singing!
We really appreciate your business and look forward to your next trip.
All the best for a great 2012
Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    104
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
105
131
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here when attending a family wedding in England. There aren't too many hotels in this area so we booked it because of that. We were so pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. The Staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the price was reasonable and the breakfasts, which are included with your stay, were delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Hi Elena,
Many thanks for your kind review.
We always try our best to look after our guests.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast.
All the best for a great 2012.
Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This Hotel is very welcoming by all the staff from the meet and greet to the staff changing the rooms and waiting at table. The staff always make time for guests to answer any questions and if they have time to have a laugh. We take our dog with us a little Westie and he is always made a fuss of. The Hotel is just down the road from a park where you can walk a dog (as long as you clean up after them). The Hotel is very convenient for the tram station (5 to 10 minutes walk away) Manchester is about 15 to 20 minutes on the tram and even stops at the Trafford Park Football Ground on this Journey. The Tram goes right into Manchester town centre (easy Shopping). We found this gem of a hotel from enquiries looking for somewhere when visiting family living in Sale. The Hotel is kept well an in good running order by the management and staff. This hotel we would recomend to others wanting to get away but not stay in Manchester itself. The only broblem we can think of is the long weekend goes toquick.

Room Tip: We have had no problems with enything and have been in rooms both sids of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Hi Elaine,
You really have made our day.
Thank you so much.
All the best Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We (party of 4) stayed in this hotel two years ago and found it so good that I booked it again this year (2011). The hotel is very clean, staff very friendly (and football - Utd - friendly!) and the location is ideal for eating out with lots of good local restaurants. Transport to Manchester is also easy to access. I will be back and I'll be recommending the Lennox Lea to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear MKBelfast,
As always we are so pleased when people go to the trouble of leaving positive reviews.
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again. As you know we are ideal for the football so look forward to seeing you again very soon.
All the best Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, used as a base to visit Manchester, Trafford Centre, Old Trafford etc.
I booked an executive room which was very reasonably priced, and on arrival where met by courteous and helpful staff and allocated room 10. The room was a surprise as on entering you first walked into a small hall area with bedroom and bathroom coming off it. The room was a double which was large with plenty of storage space, a large bay window, flat screen digital channel TV, coffee and tea making facilities, trouser press, iron and ironing board, and hair dryer. The bathroom was also large with modern toilet suite and shower, both rooms well appointed, clean and well decorated. The reception staff were excellent supplying us with maps to the local Metro station and information on bus times and fares. We also added the breakfast to our stay both days which was of such a high quality, with choice of cereals, fruit, muffins, jams, breakfast bars, coffee, Tea, fresh orange and apple juice etc. We had the 'full' English breakfast which was superb. To sum up, the staff were excellent, the room we had (No.10) had everything you needed for a stay, off street parking was included, and ease to get to Manchester / Trafford centre made it a good location. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Various rooms have various budgets at hotel we recommend No.10 or similar when enquiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hooray1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thanks ever so much for your kind comments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you're back in Manchester.

Mike and Joanna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have just spent a weekend in this Hotel on the strength of the glowing reviews, which I would have to say are questionable. Our room was in a basement (seven foot high) with a small window facing a wall presumably to satisfy regulations. The bathroom was very poor. The whole place requires refurbishments. £89 per night! My advice if you want a Budget Hotel go to a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Even in the so called good room, the bed was uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
We are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with our Hotel Mr J and would like to respond to some of the points you have made:
When the booking was made on your behalf, as you know, we were not made aware that you had an aversion to basement rooms. When your wife informed us there was a problem, however, I'm sure she'll agree with me in saying that she and I spent some considerable time and effort trying to find an alternative room that you would be happy with. Unfortunately, though, she felt that each room she looked at would not be right for you for one reason or another and so she decided that you would stay where you were.
With regard to your comment that the bathroom was poor, to be honest, I don't really understand this, as I would consider it to be perfectly fine, but I suppose that's just our different perspectives. Similarly, I would disagree with your remark that the whole Hotel requires refurbishment. Although, as you can imagine, in a busy Hotel of this size, refurbishment, both cosmetic and structural, is ongoing and in fact takes up a large proportion of our annual budget.
In your review you make reference to the fact that you believe that at £89, your room was not value for money. On the weekend in question, I understand the chain hotels were charging in the region of £110 excluding the English breakfast that was included in your room rate. But we're not a chain hotel, we're an individual, privately run Hotel in a Victorian building, located on a quiet residential road, offering a friendly, 'home from home' experience. We always do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and it seems from our many (genuine) reviews that we usually succeed. Unfortunately, we are sorry that in your case we did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Returning from Greece after a delayed flight found my car would not start. RAC called and found Lennox Lea Hotel at 03:30
Mike, as promised opened the door, and found the key to my room. Wow! clean, and better than 4 star. Awoke for breakfast. Wow! again. Service inpecable. Could not fault anything.
Had to leave quickly as going onto Southampton boat show via Wales to pick up a friend.
Car would not start again, but Mike was there to kick start the battery, and so made Wales on time. This hotel will give the big chains a run for their money. Will be back again, and again, as travel to Greece often. Thanks Mike. Best Wishes, John Pettit. (john.pettit@lineone.net)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeland3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Good Morning John,
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Basically I'm a frustrated hotelier who really wants to be a motor mechanic!
Any time you need a jump John, I'm your man!
Bye the way It's very easy looking after nice people.
See you the next time you go to Greece.
All the best Mike & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#3 of 116 in Manchester
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lennox Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lennox Lea Hotel

Property: The Lennox Lea Hotel
Address: Charlton Drive, Sale M33 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lennox Lea Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Award Winning Hotel & B&B with Apartments & Studios with mini kitchens, located in a peaceful setting only minutes away by Metrolink to city centre Manchester and all its attractions. Ideal for short or long term accommodation. We're right where you need to be!..And Pet Friendly Too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lennox Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lennox Lea
Lennox Lea Manchester
The Lennox Lea Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing