We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lennox Lea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have just spent a weekend in this Hotel on the strength of the glowing reviews, which I would have to say are questionable. Our room was in a basement (seven foot high) with a small window facing a wall presumably to satisfy regulations. The bathroom was very poor. The whole place requires refurbishments. £89 per night! My advice if you want a Budget Hotel go to a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Even in the so called good room, the bed was uncomfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

We are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with our Hotel Mr J and would like to respond to some of the points you have made:
When the booking was made on your behalf, as you know, we were not made aware that you had an aversion to basement rooms. When your wife informed us there was a problem, however, I'm sure she'll agree with me in saying that she and I spent some considerable time and effort trying to find an alternative room that you would be happy with. Unfortunately, though, she felt that each room she looked at would not be right for you for one reason or another and so she decided that you would stay where you were.
With regard to your comment that the bathroom was poor, to be honest, I don't really understand this, as I would consider it to be perfectly fine, but I suppose that's just our different perspectives. Similarly, I would disagree with your remark that the whole Hotel requires refurbishment. Although, as you can imagine, in a busy Hotel of this size, refurbishment, both cosmetic and structural, is ongoing and in fact takes up a large proportion of our annual budget.
In your review you make reference to the fact that you believe that at £89, your room was not value for money. On the weekend in question, I understand the chain hotels were charging in the region of £110 excluding the English breakfast that was included in your room rate. But we're not a chain hotel, we're an individual, privately run Hotel in a Victorian building, located on a quiet residential road, offering a friendly, 'home from home' experience. We always do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and it seems from our many (genuine) reviews that we usually succeed. Unfortunately, we are sorry that in your case we did not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for The Lennox Lea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 409 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

Returning from Greece after a delayed flight found my car would not start. RAC called and found Lennox Lea Hotel at 03:30
Mike, as promised opened the door, and found the key to my room. Wow! clean, and better than 4 star. Awoke for breakfast. Wow! again. Service inpecable. Could not fault anything.
Had to leave quickly as going onto Southampton boat show via Wales to pick up a friend.
Car would not start again, but Mike was there to kick start the battery, and so made Wales on time. This hotel will give the big chains a run for their money. Will be back again, and again, as travel to Greece often. Thanks Mike. Best Wishes, John Pettit. (john.pettit@lineone.net)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeland3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Good Morning John,
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Basically I'm a frustrated hotelier who really wants to be a motor mechanic!
Any time you need a jump John, I'm your man!
Bye the way It's very easy looking after nice people.
See you the next time you go to Greece.
All the best Mike & Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Superb hotel, great location, fabulous staff, great food. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Good Morning,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
All the best for a great day.
Regards Mike & Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very pleasant situation in nice quiet residential road. We stayed in one of the exec. rooms which was excellent value (pent house suite) so be prepaired for three flighs of stairs after their lovely breakfast. We ate two nights in the local Kings Ransom quite a lively pub nice food and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianMerrymeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Good Morning,
Many thanks for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us.
All the best
Regards Mike & Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our teenage son stayed here for two weeks whilst we were away. He had a fantastic time enjoying the breakfasts, the friendly, caring staff and being close to all amenities in Sale. This elegant hotel can be relied upon for everything, cleanliness, excellent food, comfort and a welcoming homely atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and cosy.
When we had a flood we stayed here for weeks and all our needs and more were catered for.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent depending on how much space you need.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oliver2011187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Good Morning Oliver family
It was great having Alex staying with us during your vacation.
If you ever need us to help you out again give us a call.
ps don't forget we take dogs too! Wuff wuff!
pps send my regards to my surrogate son Alex!!
All the best Mike & Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Wanted to find somewhere to stay the night before picking our son up from Manchester Airport but really dislike big, dull chain hotels. Arrived early and went to ask if we could park and come back later - wonderfully, warm welcome and our room was ready when we were. The room was lovely, very clean and everything you could possibly need at hand.

The information provided by Michael and Joanne is excellent. Using their tips on local places to eat we walked for about 5 minutes and arrived at The King's Ransom.
We were soon sat by the canal in the sunshine watching the boats go by - I haven't felt so laid-back in a long time. Later on crossed the road and caught the Metro-Link in to Manchester City Centre, passed Old Trafford and within 10 minutes we were in Picadilly Gardens. Michael and Joanne give great tips for places to visit and the stops needed on the trams.

Very comfortable bed, good night's sleep and delicious breakfast the next morning. We really wish we had eaten in the Lennox Lea's bistro the night before but were too full from our lunch. The bar and restaurant areas are really impressive.

Our only regret is that we hadn't booked for longer, we had no idea that we could stay in such comfortable surroundings at such a reasonable price. You can also leave your car at the hotel when flying from Manchester Airport - Michael will arrange a taxi for you. Will never stay in a corporate box before an early flight again.....

Room Tip: Use the hotel's website and speak to Michael or Joanne direct for their recommendations on which...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W00dlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Morning Woodlands,
A brilliant review. I think that ticks all the boxes. Thank you for putting in the time and effort to write it.
Also I like your 'Room Tip'
Best regards and look forward to seeing you again.
Mike & Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here the night before we went on holidays and could not fault it. We had a lovely spacious family room which was fantastic and very clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast the next morning was the best I have had in a long time!!!!! With the added bonus of free parking while we were away makes this a fantastic place to stay. Will defiantly use again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muckle1, Owner at The Lennox Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Hi Brenda
The 'Lennox Lea Hotel' the best possible start to your holiday!
See you next year and thanks for your lovely review.
Mike & Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Didsbury House
#6 of 120 in Manchester
622 reviews
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#11 of 120 in Manchester
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lennox Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lennox Lea Hotel

Address: Charlton Drive, Sale M33 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range: $95 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lennox Lea Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Award Winning Hotel & B&B with Apartments & Studios with mini kitchens, located in a peaceful setting only minutes away by Metrolink to city centre Manchester and all its attractions. Ideal for short or long term accommodation. We're right where you need to be!.. and Pet Friendly Too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lennox Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lennox Lea
Lennox Lea Manchester
The Lennox Lea Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing