We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Amblehurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amblehurst Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a terrible experiance. The hotel is tired, dated and the website advert with the AA is misleading. The room stank, there were holes in the sheets, the bedding needed a good wash! The towels smelt and had stains on them.You needed a magnifying glass to see the tv! Whilst standing in the reception area the choice of language coming from the bar was disgusting! I will be contacting the AA regarding their rating!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    20
    24
    70
See reviews for
32
35
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here with my teenage son and his friend to bring them to a soccer match.The place is filthy, no matress protectors on the bed, stale biscuits and gone off milk. Brekafast was equally horrible.
They told me I would have to get a taxi to old trafford because public transport not working (Ha, Ha, am I a fool).
Avoid this place, we have never stayed in a worse place.

Room Tip: Think, and think again before you stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sale hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Do not go avoid and i mean it...
Our room was not ready and in the end we had to try to get ready while the poor over worked cleaning ladys were trying to clean the rooms as we had a taxi booked to go out this was one and half hours over the check in time. I was told it was because they were busy and fully booked.(Stone roses gig dooh), hello!! get more staff and that is no excuse, 3 poor cleaning ladys cant clean the whole hotel.
The shower was broken the televison was pointless as is was so small it was not worth having. It was all in need of updating no duvet but bedspread, one of those that is reused and reused it made me feel dirty and in need of a good old wash.
No breakfast included, for £70 a room very tight. i will never go back and recommend that if you havent been before dont go.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melvin1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed overnight at the Amblehurst Hotel whilst on business close by.
I wouldn't recommend it at all and won't be looking to stay there again. I'm afraid it needs a major upgrade. My room was sparse, dark and dingy and the decor left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelnutineverybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I can forgive out-dated chintzy decor but I don't think there is any excuse not to have anything between a thin sheet and very old mattress or to use very old scruffy and probably dirty blankets rather than a duvet. Anything redeeming was lost with the feeling that I need to wash everything and myself thoroughly when I get home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Tired, shabby and noisy with staff who don't seem to care. This place has no redeeming features whatsoever. Spend £10 extra and stay somewhere, anywhere else. Woeful

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stub67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

i stayed here with my husband,son and daughter-in-law so the men could watch a Man Utd home game at Old Trafford. The hotel is very very dated, our room overlooked the dustbin yard,our bath had a huge crackdown the side panel, and the bathroom smelt musty, the tv was tiny, towels frayed, although the room overall and sheets were clean,the bed was lumpy. Two of the three receptionists we met needed to attend a customer service course and they claimed the machines were broken when we had to pay, so everybody in the hotel had to pay cash for their stay. The taxi ride from the hotel to Old Trafford was £16 there and £20 back. We decided to have breakfast at Weatherspoons down the road which cost all four of us £18 rather than pay £40 for breakfast in the hotel. This hotel claims to be a 3 star but i reckon its only worthy of 2 stars. Will not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
1.3 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
14.2 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
0.9 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - TRAFFORDCITY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amblehurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amblehurst Hotel

Property: Amblehurst Hotel
Address: 44 Washway Road, Sale M33 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amblehurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amblehurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amblehurst Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing