We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suburban haven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belmore Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Suburban haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We frequent the hotel bar regularly & have eaten on numerous occassions here, however, we have not stayed as it is local. It is part of the JW Lees Group which seem to have a good reputation. The atmosphere varies dependent upon the time of day & time of year. The lounge/bar area is comfortable, relaxed & devoid of rowdy groups. It is great to pop in for a beer or sit with a decent bottle of wine (the Richmond Ridge Shiraz, an Aussie red is one I would recommend). In the sunny weather you are able to sit outside at a plethera of tables on the patio & lawned area to while away the afternoon with a cool beer. The food is very good but somewhat over-priced. A fairly comprehesive menu for both mains & snacks, however, vegetarian interests are sadly lacking, as to is the omission of the goats cheese salad which is to die for. Staff mostly on the whole are polite, although some seem to be inexperienced & may lack a bit common-sense when going about their duties.
Prices are above average for the food & drink on offer, but leads one to think that it this is so to encourage the clientelle they desire.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Your feedback is much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments will be taken on board. We apologise you felt the staff were inexperienced, but we are currently in the process of recruiting new staff for the team which can take time to complete the training process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    63
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
61
75
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my husband for one night to go watch ManU. After searching for reasonably priced accomodations close to the football ground, I couldn't be more delighted with this find. The rooms were extremely clean and the service was wonderful.

The hotel was a very safe and high end area with extremely easy access to tram service into centre Manchester. We would definitely stay again. Can't wait until the next ManU match - we're definitely staying at the Belmore.

My only criticism is the dinner service in the restaurant. The food was gorgeous but the staff was young and unexperience. We sat for about 10 minutes before we received menus and needed to ask for everything. Only a minor snag in a very good stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 - this one is near the stairs and there is quite a bit of foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAM0383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments. Your title 'High end boutique hotel' certainly made us proud of what we have achieved. Apologies for the service in the restaurant, we will ensure all members of the team are informed of your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is really nice. The bedroom was clean and the decor was very tasteful. The room had tea making facilities, tv and a lovely bathroom with a fab shower! The staff were all very friendly.
It's in a great location away from the mayhem of the city centre yet just a short tram ride away to the city if you want to. At night it was quiet there were no rowdy groups, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time and effort to respond with kind positive feedback - Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have stayed here 5 times in the last 5 months. So what can I say food good, rooms good,clean and comfortable, bar at night-time really busy and great atmosphere, management really accommadating. Sadly we were there twice within the five stays due to berevements so also hired out the function room. Again the management were brilliant and helped us through a difficult and sad time in our lives, with terrific food and great service.
One down side - perhaps the shower in room 17 needs a look at - room is great, but the shower is cold, whereas have tried 3 other rooms and have had no problem with the temperature of the shower.

Room Tip: Anyone barring room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_jhorrocks666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated and we are pleased to hear we provided the service required at such a difficult time. We are sorry the shower was not to your satisfaction and this will be taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed for one night on business and found this characterful hotel a refreshing change from the chain hotels I usually stay in. I received a warm welcome on arrival, setting a positive tone for my stay. My room was quite small but perfectly clean and comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The hospitality tray was well stocked with a decent selection of hot drinks and biscuits. There was a good sized bath and powerful shower, with some nice toiletries available. They provided a proper hairdryer too, unlike most other places I've stayed in! I was also impressed by the restaurant, which offered a cosy atmosphere, delicious food and excellent service. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was served quickly even though it was pretty busy on a Wednesday night. I also thought the wine was very reasonably priced. I slept really well and had a perfect freshly cooked breakfast to set me up for the day. All in all, I thought the Belmore was great value for money and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind comments, we appreciate you taking the time and effort to give us such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is a real 'hidden gem'. I have stayed here when I have been in the Manchester area a number of times now and it is an excellent location for the business traveller who wants value for money, comfortable facilities and good food.

Situated in a leafy avenue in Sale, it is the ideal location for getting into Manchester and the surrounding area whether you are on business or looking for a resonable priced leisure hotel. The rooms are clean, well appointed and very comfortable; the beds in all the rooms I have stayed in are great and just the job for an excellent nights sleep. The only addition I would like to see is an extra blanket for those of us that like to have a warm bed but not neccessarily through the central heating.

The staff are very friendly and always remember returning guests. The bar is very welcoming and serves a great range of bevereges which should suit all tastes. The restaurant is also situated in the bar area and there is a wide-ranging choice of dishes, allvery well presented and with great taste and flavour. Breakfast is cooked to order which is much better than some chain hotels where the buffet style means that often the food is dried up and tasteless.

All in all a great place to stay and you certainly get good value for money at this hotel. I would recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviej58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Your feedback and comments are greatly appreciated thankyou very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked a double and a twin room for a Saturday night when we came to a match at Old Trafford after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were delighted with the entire experience.

The staff were polite, friendly and helpful (Cat in particular). The rooms were excellent - clean, comfortable and good value for money. The hotel was conveniently situated close to Brooklands tram station.

We enjoyed a few of the local ales and a delicious meal in the evening as well as a cooked breakfast the next morning.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend the Belmore to anyone visiting Sale and Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for your kind positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.4 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
1.1 mi away
Altrincham Lodge
Altrincham Lodge
#5 of 6 in Altrincham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmore Hotel

Property: Belmore Hotel
Address: 143 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1875, The Belmore is superbly located within easy reach of the motorway network, Manchester Aiport and Metrolink tram system. It benefits from twenty luxurious bedrooms and suites, with a pub restaurant serving real ales and fresh food. All rooms are furnished to a high standard with a contemporary feel. Free Wi-Fi throughout all of the hotel. All rooms have en-suite facilities available. Each of our twenty rooms offers our guests the following: remote control colour televisions with free view, tea & coffee making facilities and full english breakfast is included. As we are so close to local transport links, we have great access to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the Trafford Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Belmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmore Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing