We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
110
104
46
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
104
46
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingwide range of choiceslarge conservatoryprawn cocktailhot buffetnice gardensuperior roomfor sunday lunchmake you feel at homecourse mealfull english breakfastfriendly hotelclose to the airportbreakfast was includedpleasure of stayingfabulous hotelcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 296 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for one night, and it was like going to my grandmother's house 50 years ago...Old fashioned in places, clean, and with a warm welcome immediately you stepped through the front door.Food was 1st class [Dinner and Breakfast] just like grandma used to do,but with abundant more choice...Could not surpass her gravy though!

Left the following morning feeling content and well looked after,just as I did all those years ago.

So convenient for Manchester Airport.We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEREK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending a family party in the area. The original building has obviously been lovely and majestic at one time but looks quite run down. What could be made into an impressive approach is actually a barely discernible and overgrown driveway. The reception entrance and lovely staircase are quite impressive but could be stunning with some care. After walking through that area and over an internal bridge we arrived at our room in the large annex at the rear. I really wanted to like this place but, oh dear! The room was small, with little space to move around. The window did not close and obviously hadn't done for some time. The TV was small and perched up near the ceiling. The shower was flimsy and grimy, the toilet roll holder broken and the door on the small vanity unit under the sink hanging from the hinges. The whole room had an air of neglect and was crying out for updating. We were barely in the room fortunately but we noticed when we returned later and went to bed that the walls appeared quite thin and it was noisy. On a positive note, in complete contrast, the garden was lovely and well maintained. The breakfast next day was very nice and served in the pleasant dining room by attentive and pleasant staff. The location was good for us and we managed for one night.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roombudYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This reviewer lived within sight of The Normanhurst, in a leafy Manchester suburb, for almost 20 years until moving away in 1997, and saw it prosper under the charismatic founder, catering for the Ford Cortina driving business traveller. Sadly he is no longer around, but the hotel is still under the stewardship of his family. He would be proud of them. We have stayed there on a number of occasions, but this stay was particularly special; the welcome was warm and genuine, and all staff appeared to care. Food and bar service was excellent and intelligently delivered. OK, perhaps the room furnishings are rather dated, but everything worked and nothing was too much trouble. Gardens are terrific. What a venue for a wedding reception! Try this place when in Manchester.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night while attending the weekend Ashes Cricket. It's about 1/2 a mile from the metro tram station "Broadway".

The hotel has plenty of parking and has a pleasant atomosphere. The lounge/bar and dining area are nice and there is good seating in the garden, if the weather is nice.

Our twin bedded room was on the first floor. The room was a bit run down and could do with a touch of modernisation. It was looking a bit worn to be honest. Little things like a chunk missing out of the bath side and a fuse box that had been uprated but certainly not masked to avoid it spoiling the look of the room. Tea/Coffee facilities were reasonable but it would be nice to have had mugs instead of small cups. It's hard to make a decent cup of tea without a pot and with very small cups. (You might want to bring you own pot or mug). There was a flat screen TV.

We ate dinner in the evening and breakfast. The dinner was a set menu for about £22 a head. The choice was limited and to be honest the food wasn't anything to shout about. Breakfast was OK. There was a wedding event on while we were there so that may have had some impact on the quality and range of the food on offer.

I would stay at the hotel again but probably wouldn't book dinner. It's comfortable and friendly and in a quite location. It's also convenient for getting out to Manchester, Altringham, or the cricket matches at Old Trafford.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I just overnight there on a business trip, because it was close to the airport and the prices where reasonable.
The hotel itseld is- for my point of view - a typical old enlish building with historical furniture ans athmosphare.
I agree the wy to the rooms, which are very small, are smelly and stuffy, but i did not expect anything else in a old builidng like this. Even the room was very small, the bathroom was renovated and o.k.. Staff was very friendly and the dinner excelent( depens what you expect). It was wonderful to stay in the nice garden after dinner and having some drinks.
Any time again !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strizi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews