We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and a convenient location for attending Old Trafford Cricket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and a convenient location for attending Old Trafford Cricket”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night while attending the weekend Ashes Cricket. It's about 1/2 a mile from the metro tram station "Broadway".

The hotel has plenty of parking and has a pleasant atomosphere. The lounge/bar and dining area are nice and there is good seating in the garden, if the weather is nice.

Our twin bedded room was on the first floor. The room was a bit run down and could do with a touch of modernisation. It was looking a bit worn to be honest. Little things like a chunk missing out of the bath side and a fuse box that had been uprated but certainly not masked to avoid it spoiling the look of the room. Tea/Coffee facilities were reasonable but it would be nice to have had mugs instead of small cups. It's hard to make a decent cup of tea without a pot and with very small cups. (You might want to bring you own pot or mug). There was a flat screen TV.

We ate dinner in the evening and breakfast. The dinner was a set menu for about £22 a head. The choice was limited and to be honest the food wasn't anything to shout about. Breakfast was OK. There was a wedding event on while we were there so that may have had some impact on the quality and range of the food on offer.

I would stay at the hotel again but probably wouldn't book dinner. It's comfortable and friendly and in a quite location. It's also convenient for getting out to Manchester, Altringham, or the cricket matches at Old Trafford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    92
    39
    18
    14
See reviews for
56
100
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I just overnight there on a business trip, because it was close to the airport and the prices where reasonable.
The hotel itseld is- for my point of view - a typical old enlish building with historical furniture ans athmosphare.
I agree the wy to the rooms, which are very small, are smelly and stuffy, but i did not expect anything else in a old builidng like this. Even the room was very small, the bathroom was renovated and o.k.. Staff was very friendly and the dinner excelent( depens what you expect). It was wonderful to stay in the nice garden after dinner and having some drinks.
Any time again !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strizi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can't rate this hotel highly enough for the price. Over from Australia on an extended trip for the Ashes, which were not so good, they suggested I get a superior room for the extra space. It was enormous. Staff very friendly, Emma asked to be specially mentioned, Breakfast was excellent, and the one evening meal I eat in was also very good.

There was private party on Saturday night but it stopped at exactly 11.00 pm which was fine.

If a match is held in Manchester in 2015 I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had been on a weeks holiday in Scotland and wanted to stopover half way back and this looked nice on their website; what a mistake! The staff were friendly on arrival and from outside the hotel looks pleasant. But, we were out in an outside 1980s extension with small stuffy rooms with very dirty bathrooms and old fashioned decor and very uncomfortable beds. There was also a problem with the old fashioned electric side lights and the staff not knowing where the fuse box was and thinking the lights and TV would be on the same circuit. The hotel itself was even dirtier - light switches, glasses, calculator on front desk etc. In fact it was so concerning that my mother could not bring herself to eat breakfast. I would recommend 3 star chain hotel Premier Inn over this any day.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly upon arrival, first room the window would not shut and not that clean so we changed, the second room the was not much better, the hall ways to rooms were very smelly and stuffy pictures on the web site of rooms are better, we had a bar snack which was very nice and we was given a free drink for the room trouble, we didn't sleep that well but the breakfast in the morning was lovely and staff were brill

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie57uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Normanhurst prior to flying from Manchester Airport early the following morning. Unfortunately we may as well have slept in the airport for all the sleep we got!! The room was noisy due to a birthday party function on in the hotel (which we weren't informed of when we booked, nor when I rang to confirm my booking 2 days prior to arrival). Staff also failed to inform us that the restaurant and bar were closed on the night of our stay due to this function, until we checked in at 5pm. The noise from the function outside was unignorable despite closing all the windows (even though it was red hot in the room!).

The hotels location is not bad at all but my advice would be to find an airport hotel that can accommodate all guests to a decent standard, not just those attending a party there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandAbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Normanhurst hotel recently and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff are amazing, nothing too much trouble. We had booked a superior room which was roomy, had lovely spotless en suite bathroom and sitting area. The view ver the beautiful garden was lovely. We spent a weekend here as were out and about during the day but chose to eat in the restaurant. A lovely menu and all food beautifully cooked and served by very obliging staff. The bar has a good range of beers, wine and spirits and again the staff were excellent. The gardens were well maintained and outdoor sitting areas well kept. We will definitely return here in the future. Many thanks to the manager and staff for a memorable weekend. Special thanks to Mark and Sarah who an asset to this little gem of an hotel.

Room Tip: Room 211 superior room. Overlooking garden. Hope i haven't given away a secret and I can't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrybee_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
15.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normanhurst Hotel Sale
The Normanhurst Hotel And Restaurant Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing