We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a weekend in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a weekend in Manchester”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was conveniently located for Old Trafford. Just a 10-15min walk to the metrolink & old Trafford is a short journey away. Rooms were great for the price we paid & I had no complaints. Breakfast was good too. We also ate in the restaurant for our evening meal & the food was very good quality for the price we paid.

I would definitely stay there again, the staff were also very friendly & couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    95
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
65
104
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We primarily booked this hotel for several nights as it accepted dogs.
The room was large.
Fantastic Sony TV in the room.
Inclusive secure car parking.
Beautiful gardens and grounds - perfect for walking the dog around.
The breakfast was marvellous - well cooked, loads of toast, good orange juice and branded breakfast cereals.
Good wireless internet reception and speed.
We ate in the restaurant on two nights - the set meal is fantastic value and good quality.
We adored the female service staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was very clean.
Our room was in the Annexe to the main house - some people have been less than complimentary. Yes, the decor is dated and the walls are on the thin side; but that is reflected in the prices.
Excellent location for the airport or the Manchester Ring Road (M60).
Seems to be popular with people visiting Old Trafford as well.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house seem to be the best quality. If internet is important to you, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotTubBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came for the restaurant, so can't really speak about the rooms. Some areas downstairs in the public spaces are a little tired and in need of a make over. The bar area was good, if a little small considering the number of people being catered for. Staff were warm and friendly. Dining area was old fashioned charm with many pictures of Manchester and surrounding area. Tables were immaculate. Decor a little tired in places.
The serving staff were wonderful, clearly a a good team here and well motivated. BUT they didn't know which items were on, or off, the menu. Bad enough to find they are off as you order, but bad form to come back from the kitchen and say they haven't any left. This happened twice to one diner, who eventually had to put up with potatoes instead of vegetables. Two of the meals were cool when delivered to the table.
I think the problem lies in the kitchen and in communication.
Live music, sort of smooth Jazz 1950s style.
With so much competition out there they need to raise their game!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We attended a 90th Birthday here on Saturday and would like to say it was lovely. The staff were amazing, very attentive and helpful. The food was great and pianist really made the atmosphere feel like an elegant birthday party, which it was. Highly recommend this venue for family gatherings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon1lomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute, when I checked in at almost nine o'clock at night my main aim was the restaurant. The best part of my stay by far, a really good meal, served without too much fuss and in a timely manner.

I went to my room to complete my work for the day, utilising the advertised free wi-fi, first disappointment, almost non existent connection, and certainly unusable. I am not really one to feel the cold, and would normally be looking to open a window, but the room was more than chilly, without any central heating working, the small electric radiator seemed a useful addition, but this also proved inadequate. The horror story continued when I could only get the shower to run like warm, and even worse when I decided to enter this cubicle and get a wash, once into full flow, it suddenly became freezing, I was two hours before I stopped shivering.

When I highlighted the shortcomings to the landlady, she apologised and offered me a 10% discount, which I countered with the statement that I should have been compensated for the endurance.

Never again!

Room Tip: Avoid altogether if you are looking for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were met by quite a grand entrance, roaring fire with wing chairs next to it. We were then led to our room down a chilly modern corridor. The room was boiling - so we had to open all the windows and turn off the radiators. it was a large room, the furniture was quite faded, but the bed was very comfortable. It was clean and great value for the price. Parking was ample. Breakfast was very nice, good selection of items. Overall, comfy stay, good value for money but not as grand as I was expecting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazymeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have just had a two night stay here and would definitely stay again if I am in the area. I have read other reviews, and yes it could do with a bit of refurbishment, but they are charging very reasonable rates (presumably to attract business), and as a family owned business are probably struggling to keep the business going in a very competitive market.

Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff and owners, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast could do with some improvement as I like soft fried eggs, and it was a bit slow in coming. But we invited family to visit for a meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening and chose from the set menu which was very reasonably priced. The menu was quite varied and the food very good. There was a very nice atmosphere with music and song in the background and we all enjoyed the evening very much.

The clincher for me is that everyone was very dog friendly. I have a young and boisterous rottweiler, but they all took her in their stride and were very accommodating and helpful.

It was much, much nicer than a Travelodge, or equivalent, and much, much better value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are probably better as we had no problems with sounds from other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
1.8 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,628 reviews
2.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normanhurst Hotel Sale
The Normanhurst Hotel And Restaurant Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing