We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
110
104
46
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
104
46
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingwide range of choiceslarge conservatoryprawn cocktailhot buffetnice gardensuperior roomfor sunday lunchmake you feel at homecourse mealfull english breakfastfriendly hotelclose to the airportbreakfast was includedpleasure of stayingfabulous hotelcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 296 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

When we arrived and the wall was falling down, it was an indication of what was to come. The receptionist was lovely and very friendly and welcoming. She took us to our room and showed us how the locks worked. However, the smell of stale smoke in the corridors was overwhelming, depsite a non-smoking policy. Our room was very bleak and unwelcoming - never before have I found a soggy towel in the bathroom. The skirting boards in the bathroom were grim, even cobwebs at lower level. Peanuts from previous guests left on the floor by the bed. Toilet paper as thin as tissue paper. Walls so thin we could hear the man next door snoring all night and we got up in the morning..... Maybe breakfast would be better - white spots on grapefruit, not good. Cheapest sausages they could have bought and mushrooms that tasted of nothing. The staff were friendly and welcoming,but no-one offer us more coffee although they were more than happy to provide it when asked. No welcome book with useful information in the room. Clearly everything is done on the cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

A thoroughly relaxing and pleasent experience from start to finish,i stayed in one of the recently refurbished rooms where clearly no expense has been spared for customer comfort.The rooms boast a very stylish and modern theme with plenty of space,a large bed and plasma tv to match.There are also some rooms with very lovely views out onto the garden.
I have stayed here before and have always had a great time,the staff are very professional and welcoming with a refreshing `cannot do enough for you attitude` compared to other hotels i have recently stayed in.
I found the food to be of a superior standard with lots of choices coupled with an excellent pianist who compliments the evenings perfectly.
The hotel also provides free WI-FI which i personally found to be of great benefit,parking is good and well lit and overall an excellent choice of hotel venue whether your visit be of a business or pleasure visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WlliamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

A gem of a place.Perfect relaxing environment with friendly and attentive staff.Thankyou guys.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23pandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

my partner and i stayed here with my mum and sister on christmas eve as our house was full of other family members, we stayed in superior rooms in the main building and they were just what we needed, warm, clean and very comfortable. the rooms were a great size and the bathrooms clean. we returned home after santa had been to join the chaos of small children having had a good nights sleep. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I had one of the most bizarre nights ever whilst staying in this hotel!

We stayed in the annex and it really was quite depressing! It's very dark and dismal and the rooms are in desperate need of updating. They try to be homely in their decor but are let down by being unclean and in a poor state of repair. Broken tiles, lamp shades, mould in the shower and above all very cold! We had to use an electric heater to warm the room up as the radiator wouldn’t work.

After returning from a brilliant night out in Manchester we were awoken at 3.30am by a strange woman standing at the foot of our bed! As you can imagine i was terrified and screamed- the poor woman had clearly been sleep walking and had wondered into our room which i was positive we had locked!! She ran out of the room and proceeded to run into another guest’s room who gave her the same shocked reaction i did! When we went to lock the door again we realised the locks were pretty ancient and could easily look as though they're locked when they're not! So not only did this woman get out of her room, she was able to wonder into 2 others! Very scary! Thankfully it was only a very confused guest and not burglar! You can imagine after that it was very difficult to get back to sleep! We had a very restless night!

When i spoke to reception about what happened, the member of staff looked at me with a raised eyebrow as if she didn't believe me!! I pointed out that the locks could do with looking at and that this situation, although very uncommon, could have been avoided had the locks been reliable. I unfortunately was not met with a positive response!

I appreciate the woman sleep walking is not the fault of the hotel and is very rare occurrence but the consequences could have been avoided if the hotel was in better state of repair! The response to my comments about this did not leave me feeling any better about the experience either!

We shall not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews