We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great food”
Review of The Little B

The Little B
Ranked #13 of 118 Restaurants in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We visited today in a family party with our elderly Mother.
We were treated really well by all of the staff.
The new menu was really good value for money with a great variety of choices.
Our food came quickly after ordering and it was all freshly cooked and beautifully presented.
The newly decorated pub looked really nice and the atmosphere was just right.
We will definitely visit this pub again and we are already looking forward to trying more of the delicious options on their news menu.
I was told that their Sunday lunch is particularly good.
There were families with children and bigger parties all dining at the same time as us send they managed to accommodate us all with ease.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LinnyhPortchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little_B_Sale, Manager at The Little B, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi there Linny, Thank you so much for review.
I'm so glad to hear your whole family had a great time here at The B and that you all loved the food. We really enjoyed your company and appreciate the support as it really helps us grow the business.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

I took my wife and mother in law to The Little B for lunch today. I really have to say that this is a great find of pub offering amazing food and service. Why didn't I know about this place before?
I had a great plate of cod, chips, mushy peas and home made tartar sauce - just wonderful. My wife had a super fillet steak, cooked to perfection with "the best stilton sauce" she has ever had. (her words not mine!) The mother in law had gammon steak topped with a fried egg which she enjoyed immensely (and she is very hard to please)! To finish off the three of us shared a Banofee Mess! Great service behind the bar and the most helpful waitress as well. A great find, never knew it was so good for food! Will be back again soon very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andyc39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little_B_Sale, Manager at The Little B, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello Andy, Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you have found us too!
You can keep up to date on our menu changes (next one is in January) by visiting our website www.thelittleb.co.uk the desserts change a little more regularly so you will have to pop in to try the rest, the Banoffee mess is one of my favorites so it will be staying on!
We look forward to looking after you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I used to go into the Little B very often until I moved away a few years ago. I went in yesterday and the gentleman serving behind the bar was very, very miserable, bordering rude. We ended up staying for one drink and ended up going for a bite to eat elsewhere. Really disappointed as it used to be a welcoming and friendly pub.

Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little_B_Sale, Manager at The Little B, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hello there Nick.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I'm sorry you had such a poor experience, we pride ourselves on our food, atmosphere and service so i take complaints like this very seriously.
I would like to you to help me in resolving this issue by contacting me at thelittleb_sale@live.com with the date and time of your visit and a brief description of the staff member and what it was he said to you. I can assure you discretion, and pending an investigation appropriate measures will be taken. I do hope this one experience won't tarnish your view of The Little B and that in the future you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We generally spend the night at Manchester airport before flying out the next morning. The hotel restaurants are increasingly more expensive therefore we now go out into Sale. We came across the Little B and had a really good pub dinner. We arrived very late on Sunday...just before they stopped serving food so we thought that we might get the nasty end bit but the meal was really enjoyable. My beef was extremely tender and my husband's porn was excellent. Best crackling we has tasted. We will definitely go back the next time we fly from Manchester.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Y0rkshire_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little_B_Sale, Manager at The Little B, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hello there Yorkshire Travellers, thank you kindly for your review we really do appreciate it and its great to see visitors coming from far and wide. Our aim is to provide great pub food at a reasonable price and I'm so glad you agree we are achieving this. We take great pride in our meat being sourced from local award winning butcher Taylors of Sale and have separate joints for our pink (Sirloin) and well (Topside) beef to ensure every roast is tender and tasty. I can only hope that your auto correct led to your husband having a very enjoyable afternoon! We look forward to your next visit when you take off on your next set of travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were 10 people at the Little B for lunch on Sunday all food was fabulous from the goats cheese starter to the roast pork with crackling, the fireworks and the fun fair made it all the better. Will definitely keep going for the food, the atmosphere and the great staff. Thanks all, xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rioja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little_B_Sale, Manager at The Little B, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you Rioja for your glowing review, i'm glad your party had a great time and we are already planning next years event to run over the whole weekend as everyone had such a good fun.
I will pass on your praise to the staff who all worked really hard over the weekend to make it such a success and i know they appreciate as much as i do that the hard work is paying off. We look forward to seeing you for your big party and for many more visits in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little B also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Little B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing