We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub”

The Belmore At Sale
Reserve with OpenTable
The Belmore At Sale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 120 Restaurants in Sale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Belmore at Sale has recently reopened following an exciting redevelopment, bringing you a wonderful new dining experience in the orangery, and stylish drinking areas both indoors and outdoors. The restaurant serves great British pub food daily, from breakfast through to dinner, and the bar offers a fine range of JW Lees cask ales, quality spirits and wines. The Belmore Hotel offers 20 comfortable bedrooms and suites, furnished to a high standard, all with en-suites. Perfect for staying in the Sale area for business or leisure. We also have a large private space suitable for both social and formal occasions. Have a look at our Events & Parties page to see how we can cater for your wedding, birthday, or business conference.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have come here regularly since JW Lees took over the place a few years ago and always have a good meal and really good atmosphere. Friendly staff and really pleasant surroundings. Great outdoor dining space for the summer. Only downside is that some of the dishes are slightly overpriced for a pub, for example the steaks are the same price as Fat Loaf but half as good. But apart from that really like it here...

Thank Sophart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at The Belmore At Sale, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and your comments will be taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 134 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I ate here this evening with friends from work, we booked it for our annual team meal which we arrange every 2 months, We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience, we were booked to a table right next to the fire, and we were served almost instantly! The food is lovely and filling, proper pub food! Overall the staff were brill and the food was fabulous, the only thing that let it down was the pricing, a little bit on the expensive side but I won't say that spoils the evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnnyRedgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at The Belmore At Sale, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have eaten here before under the previous manager (again, nothing special and rather pricey, with more than one service disaster) and thought I would see if much had changed under the new manager. Some early year offers of up to 25% off tempted me out, but not much had changed. An over-priced menu of what is standard pub grub with little variation tended to rub the gloss off the seemingly generous discount. Again service was patchy (I think they must employ casual students rather than anyone with an aspiration to a career in a service industry) notably with my after dinner coffee being served about 15 mins before the sweet... It is clean and above- averagely civilised for a pub, but you can get far better value and much better service elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thedodgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at The Belmore At Sale, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not to your satisfaction. We are surprised by your comments as we had good feedback from customers in January in relation to the offer promoted. We will take your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

One night stay for business, chosen for location, well funished room, good bath & shower, nice bed, good ambience, good service, good value.

Thank 57clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at The Belmore At Sale, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Your positive comments are much appreciated thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Came to The Belmore for lunch with a friend. Waiter was excellent; very polite and efficient. The food was of great quality - varied menu as well as a sandwich menu (daytime). The restaurant decor was inviting and relaxing-perfect for a rainy day. If you're dining with a large party they are able to reserve tables and some tables are tucked away nicely in the corner by the fire. We will definitely be returning. Thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmorehotel, Manager at The Belmore At Sale, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback which is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Belmore At Sale also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Belmore At Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing