We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornerstones Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cornerstones Guest House
Ranked #4 of 4 Sale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
northern california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was my second stay here - as always friendly and super-clean and I'm just referring to the host Tony! Seriously this unique B&B has a warm welcome for all it's guests, a comfy bed to lay your head on at night and a delicious breakfast in the morning. Keep the sterling work up Tony and Dee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    13
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
33
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have had two brief midweek stays at Cornerstones recently. The first was booked at the last minute and the only available room was described as "budget". The only thing "budget" about it was the price; the room was small but clean and comfortable; there was no ensuite but there was a spacious bathroom a few yards along the landing. Good value for money. For my second visit I stayed in a double room with ensuite shower bathroom; again it was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent. The building itself is very impressive with some beautiful furnishings. All in all a very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGZ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

After two visits to Cornerstones Guest House I can confirm that it is a tastefully decorated, clean and luxuriously comfortable "home from home" with a friendly welcome and delicious bespoke breakfast created personally for you. It has a peaceful atmosphere that complements any visit whether it be for business or pleasure - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I just remember Cornerstone in Sale Manchester, lovely B & B, lovely host Tony, he made us feel home, nicely decorated room, he cooked us a good breakfast, eat as much as you like type of thing, he was very kind. Although I went there last year, I just fancy a stop there this year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friend and I couldn't find reasonably priced accommodation in Manchester city centre so booked Cornerstones - thank goodness! It is delightfully decorated and very comfortable and Tony was friendly, welcoming and humorous. It is ideally located for exploring the canal and Sale and the transport links into the city are excellent. We used the Metro to get to Salford Quays and the bus to get to the centre of Manchester. I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Cornerstones on Bank Holiday Sunday. Spotlessly clean and a beatiful old house which is brilliantly maintained and obviously much loved. Never caught (or asked, sorry) the owner's name but he was a lovely guy, nothing was too much bother and he cooked a lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay here again when visiting family...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Have stayed at Cornerstones over the last 10 years or so when visiting family in Sale. Dont even look for an alternative. Always helpful, always really clean - I'm a neat freak at home ! :) Tony and Dee feel like an extension of my family now. Be warned ... Tony makes an awesome Full Breakfast! Any attempt to watch your weight will be lost :) Will always recommend them and Cornerstones.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.9 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Altrincham Lodge
Altrincham Lodge
#5 of 6 in Altrincham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
4.4 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#10 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstones Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstones Guest House

Property: Cornerstones Guest House
Address: 230 Washway Road, Sale M33 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstones Guest House in Sale Manchester offers independent B & B accommodations minutes from Brooklands Metro station. Dorothy & Tony assure you of a warm welcome, in a relaxed atmosphere, with a comfortable cozy bed to curl up in and a top class traditional English breakfast to send you on you're way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Cornerstones Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstones Guest House Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing