We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cheap pub grub” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slug and Lettuce - CLOSED

The Slug and Lettuce
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good cheap pub grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I ate here with my friend on a Monday, all food half price, so was well worth the money, they had run out of the chicken dish i ordered which at 1pm i thought was pretty poor as it's open all day!! I had the farlafel wrap as an alternative which was very nice, my friend had the curry which she enjoyed, the place itself was quite clean, the service was good with a good atmosphere, seemed to be pretty busy, would definitely go there for lunch again, not a place to go if you want top quality food, but good choice on menu and food acceptable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    23
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Joined member ship gives 10 percent discount on food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

half price food on Mondays guest beers offer a very good xmas menu clean premises and very polite staff

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tankman087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable family meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Myself and my 2 sons went in for lunch on Monday and I must say the service was great! Despite it being very busy due to half price food we did not have to wait more than 20 minutes for our meals. I recommend the beef lasangne it's gorgeous and the burgers are really good value for money an my boys are addicted to them! Try the ultimate if your very hungry! The staff there were very friendly not like some other places where they can be nonchalant and rush you with your order. The young girl took great care to offer us side orders an to check if there was anything else we should need. Well done to the whole place I shall definitely visit again!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, and very nice relaxed staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

To be fair only been a couple of times the past month since moving from centre Manchester, The food was really nice tasted fresh n well cooked, for example I had a huge platter between 3 of us and was very nicely presented and filled up 3 grown men. The people below sound like the type people that complain just to get bit of attention, IGNORE them an see for yourself... The staff dress very smartly and approach you kindly and don't annoy you asking you load questions and ruin your meal, but i'm also not saying they ignore you.

Only people that don't get out much complain like NAGatha Christy n co. Below.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not very inspired and pretty slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The best thing about this place, and the only reason to visit, is the half priced food on Mondays, all day across the whole menu. Otherwise alot of it is pretty overpriced and standard chain type stuff. I have particularly enjoyed the full breakfast which had a quality sausage (often where these places skimp) inc tea and coffee. In the evening they ahve some good share platters but the burgers are pretty poor, even at half price on a Monday

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing