We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - full of Grease” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zumar - CLOSED

Zumar
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible - full of Grease”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I attended this restaurant and the food was awful. The meal was swimming in grease/oil so much so that my husband could not eat it. The waiter gave us some sort of card to return but won't be using it. Very much overrated!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Costababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    8
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again; waste of money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Bland food. A must for those without tastebuds. Never again; waste of money. I am gutted I wasted an Xmas get together with this cruddy place when the fantastic Forts of Bengal are about 3 doors down.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thecurryoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Worst Indian Restaurant In The world?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Unfortunately our visit to Zumar was a terrible experience for our group. It took us more than two hours to place our order due to the lacklustre staff. The starters were average and the main courses were cold, disgusting and teastless. Despite the initial lack of urgency the staff couldn't wait to get us out of the restaurant at closing time. A memorable get-together was ruined.

There are so many quality Indian restaurants in and around Sale so avoid this one!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amberstripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a terrible dining experience...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

this was without doubt one of the worst restaurants i have ever eaten in. The service was easily the worst I have ever encountered. The food was mostly passable, when it eventually arrived.We booked weeks in advance for our table of 10. Our table was booked for 8:15pm, there were only 2 other occupied tables of 4 in the restaurant. When we eventually ordered our food at 9:30pm after the third time of asking, our waiter proceeded to tell us what to order....... we politely declined his advice, he then told us that there would be a considerable wait for our food as all food is freshly prepared, fair enough, but in that case, I would expect that you take orders as soon as diners have decided instead of 90mins after they have sat down. Our starters arrived at 10:20pm and were actually very tasty, well cooked food, however, the plates looked like they had been presented by my 4year old! When the main courses eventually arrived, the farce really began...... 2 main courses were frankly inedible, tasteless, poorly cooked rubbish! they were sent back and the waiter said that it would take 4 minutes to prepare another dish from fresh...... 4minutes?????? so why exactly did we wait so very long in the first place. my main course was tasty, though it was not at all how it had been described in the menu, however, I was so hungry that I could by then have eaten anything. They have a strange way of presenting main courses where your food arrives on a normal dining plate which is placed in the middle of the table and you are given another normal dining plate to eat your food from, this meant that there was not enough room on the table for 10 main courses, 10 separate plates and our rice and chips. very strange!!!!!!!! the waiting staff had no idea how to run a restaurant and were beyond incompetent. A beautiful looking restaurant, very well marketed, very impressive menu, wonderful take away ideas, with them offering free delivery of food and alcohol. sadly they have not managed to achieve what the marketing promises........ they should stick to basics, good food, good service.... that is all diners want. very disappointing, won't be going there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like being mugged.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dreadful bland food. Terrible service. Beer six months out of date. Feel totally fleeced. Will not be frequenting ever again.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j_doe100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zumar also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing