We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The thorn in the Crystal Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Crown Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Klang
Reviewed August 30, 2009

On arrival, we were greeted by abrupt female staff who did not speak English very well. They proceeded to check us into a smoking room with a bathroom which stank of urine. We asked to move but only their "suites" were available for an extra 30 RM per night. To give them credit the new room and bathroom were very nice. That is why we are giving it 3 stars overall. Breakfast was just ok but food does not seem to be restocked so get down early. The male reception staff working at nights were much more friendly than the female staff. The woman who checked us out did not even say thank you. She was wearing a swine flu mask so perhaps we didn't her it! The biggest joke in this hotel was the "hotel taxi service". Now, I don't generally have problems with an overpriced hotel taxi as long as you get something more for your money. In KL many if the hotels have their own executive comfortable taxis. In this hotel, some guy based at the hotel has his own taxi business where he rings local rude taxi drivers to come along in their battered cabs and charge you more than three times the going rate. We asked reception to order normal taxis for us but they said we could only use their service". We simply asked a local taxi driver in Klang to take us around for half the price. In short, I think this hotel needs a massive professional make-over. Staff need customer service training and the unprofessional and dodgy taxi service needs to be halted. Otherwise hotels like this will slowly lose business.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priceprom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2008

Rather apprehensive after reading negative reviews about this hotel before we checked in. We stayed for 3 nights. Breakfast was included and the food had different selections. Coffee was good. Room came with twin beds and rather spacious and clean on non-smoking floor. Hubby paid for internet but unable to connect. Tried to get a massage on 5th floor but was disappointed as it was a mixed one -- rather sleazy looking place. Nearest shopping mall was Midvalley, about 20 mins away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AMKSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I only stay for one night in a deluxe room at Crystal Crown pj. The room is ok. Clean and simple room. Got a bathtub with hot water shower. The floor carpet really need to be change though. At night, me and my son are hungry so we order room service a spageti and chicken wings. Took about 20 minutes to get the food. By the time the food arrived, my husband also got hungry so we share the food. The next morning we went to the buffet breakfast at the Brass Cafe. I really like it when we can order fried eggs with different style of cooking (omellete/sunny side up/scramble). The hotel lobby is not that comfortable. Only have few sofa. If there's many people want to check in or check out at the same time there's not enough place to sit down.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Firebrezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

First night put in smoking floor, my mistake as I did not make it clear in communications that we wanted a non smoking floor. Travelled as family with 3 adults and 2 children. They have adjoining rooms which is much more convenient for families with children.

Room smelled of smoke and air conditioning is much worst! Non smoking floor was bearable but still cigarette smoke is impregnated in the hotel atmosphere. Rooms are dated but every facility advertised is servicable. Smoking room was dirty, but non smoking room was average clean. Facilities included health spa and an outdoor pool. Internet access wireless in lobby which is free and download speed of 1.5Mb/s and upload in excess of 0.5Mb/s which was fantastic for video chats.

It is very cheap at 128 ringgit per room with a buffet breakfast included. Location is central to Klang and not much else. To get around Taxi is the only option.

Only consider if you have to be in Klang. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hadtobeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Crystal Crown Hotel is the best Hotel in Klang?!
This huge imposing building sitting between Klang and port Klang was an unbelievable nightmare from the on set.
I phoned to book a room and a non English speaking receptionist put the phone down on me after a short incomprehensible grunt as I later found out that he couldn’t understand English, I rang again and manage to speak to another receptionist that could. All the sign of an impending disaster in the making, but I was feeling pathetically altruistic and forgiving, beside, try doing a search on the internet and you will be lucky if more then a brace can be found in Klang.
When I checked into the room to this supposedly 3 star rating hotel, after flying half way round the world to be near friends. Exhausted and jet lagged compromise my utter shock for not taking the next taxi out of this tardy and rotten hotel, flimsy bedding that had long past their use by date was drape over some bed that could have had being plucked from the building skip, shower curtain that is so soil that patterns of second generation moulds were growing on it, cracks were spread over the bath tub and flooring, to cap all that, when you turn on the tap, the 1st lot of water that gush out were like water from the sewage and I had to run them for a while before some resemblance of uncontaminated water appeared. Some of the power points suddenly died in my brief moment of my stay and when their electrician turns up to repair the fault, he could only apologise that the points was beyond him to repair.
Call for room service for bottle water and twice after long delay and repeat call, their excuse was, they had forgotten, was charged an extortionist amount when it finally arrive.
The lists of disappointment haven’t finish yet, so please be patience and read on.
Bought some takeaway from a local restaurant that needed micro waving, was return by room service because they say it was non halal and I have to independently take it to a Chinese restaurant attached to the hotel to be warmed up. Later that evening tried to have a beer at their lounge bar that was suppose to be open till 2am but was closing half an hour early because there wasn’t enough punters.
Managed to get a beer (haram) at their 24 hours opened halal restaurant that earlier refuse to warm up my non halal food and was charge another extortionist price. Ask for a taxi at the reception and one of their staff was kind enough to masquerade as a taxi driver, instead he ripe me off with a fare that could have took me to Kuala Lumpur and back.
All in all, if this hotel is the best in Klang and being the biggest port in Malaysia can offer, then I’m Basil Fawlty of Fawlty Towers. Avoid this hotel if one can call this a hotel, like a plague.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank varvoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
Thank fedewow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klang hotels
2.1 mi away
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 25 in Klang
203 reviews
3.5 mi away
Goldcourse Hotel
Goldcourse Hotel
#11 of 25 in Klang
10 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aliya Hotel Klang
Aliya Hotel Klang
#2 of 25 in Klang
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Merrida Hotel
Merrida Hotel
#12 of 25 in Klang
19 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Hotel
Country Hotel
#4 of 25 in Klang
39 reviews
4.5 mi away
Klang Histana Hotel
Klang Histana Hotel
#16 of 25 in Klang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Crown Hotel

Address: 217 Persiaran Raja Muda Musa | Pelabuhan Klang, Klang 42000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Klang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Klang
Price Range: $35 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing