We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legen...wait for it...DARY”
Review of Mosaic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mosaic
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

....the words of my daughter!
I booked a two night Birthday getaway for my daughter and two friends! Their room was ready when they arrived with a complimentary upgrade!, VERY NiCE! They enjoyed the snowboard valet service offered to transport their equipment to the base! The underground parking was convenient and secure. She said the room was spacious and had an incredible view of outdoor pool! The full kitchen had everything they needed! She loved the duvet and mentioned the beds were very comfortable! The birthday wine and chocolates the hotel sent up was a very nice touch!
I appreciated the exceptional service I received while coordinating the details before the trip! Nothing was overlooked! They responded quickly to my questions and made suggestions when necessary! Thank you for making this birthday getaway an unforgettable experience!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Luv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Vice President of Lodging at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear luvtheislands,

Thank you for sharing some details of your daughters’ special trip to Blue, what a super birthday gift. The rooms are very comfortable and the kitchens well stocked with everything you need to prepare a meal. The pool at this hotel is year round and a very lovely feature of this property. Our associates do their utmost to capture vital details and provide recognition, particularly of special events and as such create a lasting memory.

Yours in Hospitality
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

James Henry
Vice President of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 345 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The Lodge has great character and the rooms are spacious. The rooms are very nice however, the entire property is poorly maintained/dated. Elevators noisy and dirty, hallway lighting dated and had holes, linen had holes, dishwasher not bolted in, TV small and old, balcony not shovelled etc... Not large issues. It is Close to everything like shopping, slopes. Parking underground was excellent. Wifi worked well. We did Enjoy the experience, it was a little frustrating to see a beautiful property not maintained

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DonnaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Vice President of Lodging at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear DonnaVL,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Mosaic at Blue. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience despite the issues you have noted. On a quick review of previous guest postings, this property generally gets favorable feedback. Mosaic was the most recent hotel built on resort and as such it is currently scheduled for refurbishment within approximately one year. This is not to say that we don’t continue to conduct upgrades and perform routine maintenance on an ongoing basis.

Yours in Hospitality
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mosaic Inn at Blue Mountain resort.

We had a wonderful time, there were a few annoying things that happened but I will get to them after the good stuff.

I grew up skiing at Blue from the time I was about 10 years old. This was our daughter's first trip to Blue Mtn and her first experience on the slopes at 3 years old.

The Mosaic was a lovely location as it was close to the slopes/shops/skating and restaurants.

We stayed in a bachelor suite, while not super big it fit our needs nicely and was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for our stay. The small kitchen was great to have breakfast or even a quick lunch, without having to pay resort prices for such things.

Beds and pillows were comfy and even the sofa bed was pretty darn good. We didn't have a TV remote when we arrived at our room but that was quickly fixed.

There was a nice lobby seating area, free hot drinks and cookies. There was a kids area, which was just a small room with some toys and a tv but it would probably keep the younger set busy for a few hours.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially Lindsey at the front desk but I will get to that in a moment. Everyone seemed to be in a good mood, even though they were busy.

The pool and hot tub area was quite nice. Too bad the pool is not a bit more sheltered as on a windy day its quite chilly just getting to the pool. But, our 3 year old braved it for a quick swim and photo op just the same.

The exercise centre seemed to be adequate and up to date equipment if you so desired to use it, but after a day on the slopes it never seemed to be too busy.

Underground parking was a nice touch, though a tight squeeze for those with bigger vehicles

Now, for my pet peeves.

No wireless in the rooms unless you wanted to pay. There was free wireless in the lobby. This is not a cheap hotel, I always find it annoying when they can't even offer wi-fi in the room without having to pay.

Having to pay for parking, I understand why they do it, but again this is not the Holiday Inn express, but a relatively expensive hotel, why the up charges?

Last, but not least is the frustrating "your room is almost ready" response.

We had called a week and a half before our stay to ask if an early check in may be possible as we'd like to give our daughter the chance to nap in the room. They said there was no guarantee, but call on our way up and they could check the status of the room and we could gauge from there.

So, that's what we did, called b4 noon and they said it was being cleaned right then, should be done in an hour or so. Arrived one and a half hours later and the answer was it was being cleaned should be done in 45 minutes. We wandered around the village for another hour and a half and came back shortly before 3.

"Hmm, it's still being cleaned, we can't say that check in will be any time soon" Funny, that's not what you said 3 hours ago.

Finally at 4 o'clock a full 4+ hours after we first called we could access our room. The very helpful Lindsey found out that the sofa bed had been broken and they were waiting to fix it and that is what the delay was for the most part.

We knew it was asking a lot for an early check in on a holiday Monday. However, being given the "almost ready" run around for 4 hours was the aggravating part. All they had to do was say there was a problem and our room would not be ready till closer to 4, done, end of discussion. But, they instead gave the canned response that "it's almost ready" for 4 hours.

We find out later there were lots of issues getting rooms cleaned that day. Perhaps there could be some better communication about room availability and problems to the front desk?

We wouldn't have been upset if they'd just said no, it won't be ready, but we were very upset that they kept giving the canned response of "it's almost done" for an excessive amount of time.

Aside from that, this was an enjoyable stay. It's a nice place, close to many things and had great advantages for our stay at Blue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Vice President of Lodging at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Lissie72,

Thank you very much for such a thorough and detailed review of your recent visit to Mosaic at Blue Mountain Resort. You have certainly given existing and prospective guests a wonderful overview of what to expect of this lodging property and of the resort in general.

We often hear stories such as yours whereby families bring their children here over the years and once grown, the children continue the tradition with their own families. We are delighted to hear of your history with us and that you chose to bring your little one here to start her snow sport career.

We offer complimentary light wireless service in common areas around the resort with adequate bandwidth to access e-mail and browse the internet. We have a large investment in our wireless infrastructure and offer premium wireless for a fee in guest rooms, allowing guests to access e-mail, browse the internet and download media.

Our associates are critical to our success; individuals such as Lindsey take great pride in assisting our guests and creating a memorable experience, thank you for this acknowledgement.

With regards to your disappointment over an early arrival, we apologize for the miscommunication on the part of our associates. During peak travel times this expectation should not be created and your frustration has been heard. With a check-out time of 11am, sheer volumes and frequent non-compliant guests, it is unrealistic to offer this option and as such our associates will be reminded by virtue of your experience, in our regular update and training sessions. During our lower volume travel periods we are always happy to extend this option.

Once again, thank you for your very valuable feedback and please don’t hesitate to reach out to us directly should you require further assistance.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We group of six stayed two nights at Mosaic during Christmas. It is a great hotel. We stayed at a lofty suite. Nice layout and kitchen. Kids loved the hot tub. They were very disappointed that the hot tub was closed the second night due to maintenance. The package we booked included breakfast at Pottery restaurant. It was a little far away that we had to take shuttle there. It took a little longer waiting for the shuttle the second morning. But the breakfast and the service were great. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 4inbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Vice President of Lodging at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear 4inbi,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mosaic with our Trip Advisor readers, we are confident your feedback will assist other travelers considering a visit. The suites are nicely appointed with a fully equipped kitchen, making travel with youngsters much easier when you can prepare a quick snack or meal. Oh dear, sorry to hear the hot tub suffered a mechanical failure, our engineering specialists are quick to address such things, regrettably not as quick as we might have liked on this occasion.

The Pottery restaurant is located at the Blue Mountain Inn, we do offer lodging packages which include a breakfast at this location, but don’t limit your experience to breakfast, this location offers a fabulous lunch and dinner menu as well.

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your strong recommendation of this property.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

James Henry
Vice President of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our room had a kitchenette: stove-top, 'fridge, sink, & dish-washer. (Be sure to bring paper towels and coffee filters, if you like having those on-hand, though. We paid $5 for a small pack of filters at "The Village Market" on-site to brew our coffee in the room.) We made great use of the fireplace. (Room was slightly drafty.) Room was clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location. We enjoyed our visit and will likely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room location if you prefer to avoid the "partiers" or the noise of all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Vice President-Lodging at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear ROtraveller1,

Thanks for posting a review of your stay at the Mosaic Boutique hotel at Blue Mountain Resort, we are delighted to hear how well you enjoyed your stay and surroundings and look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality
On Behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

James Henry
Vice President-Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have stayed a number of times at Blue Mountain and always stay at the Mosaic building. We are currently staying through New Years Eve. We prefer Mosaic for a number of reasons:

1. Location: Within the village and close to all of the restaurants and activities but set back from the village square to have peace and quiet.
2. Pool: Very large outdoor heated pool and hot tub that is open even in the winter. The kids get a kick out of jumping out of the pool, rolling in the snow and then jumping back in the pool. The hot tub is very popular on cold, snowy nights!
3. Rooms: Rooms are a good size, have a modern decor and the full kitchen is handy for meals when we are not enjoying a meal at Tholos or one of the other great restaurants in the village. We have had the best sleep on these beds.

You do pay a premium to stay here but I think it is worth the price. We recommend Mosaic if you plan on a stay at Blue Mountain!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing pool provide quick and easy access to the pool and hot tub and it provides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 416Toronto647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Vice President-Lodging at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear 416Toronto647,

Thank you so much for this glowing review of the Mosaic hotel at Blue, we cannot dispute a single thing and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday visit this year. Yes, the recreation facilities are a great draw for kids and adults alike, after a good day on the slopes what better way to unwind and relax than in the heated pool or hot tubs. There is a variety of restaurants in the Village, depending on your preference, glad to hear you enjoyed Tholo’s this time around. The kitchens are so helpful for a stay in meal and so well equipped.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President-Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I won't ever book at the Mosaic or any of the Blue Mountain village suites. Truly unfortunate as the village itself is quite nice. My experience begins with a very confusing online booking tool which results in unclear options and displays rooms but doesn't explain which resort its in?? Anyhow, determined to get a room I decided to call instead of accidentally booking a room outside of the village (a potential risk).

So what I learned on my call was that you can book rooms, but they decide on checkin which resort you stay in...uh...okay?? So after some confusing back and forth I decide to make reservations for the Mosaic. Here's where you need to really pay attention...they have a lot to explain to you and they say it very quickly and matter of fact, as if it were standard. The part you need to focus on is where they are talking about the 10 day cancellation fee. It comes across as if you have to cancel before 10 days prior to your reservation or you will be charged a $25 fee but what they are saying is that if you cancel prior to 10 days of your reservation you will be charged $25, anything within 10 days you lose your full deposit. wow, quite a cash grab for the resort for the unfortunate who have to make changes or cancellations due to unforeseen circumstances.

I canceled mine within 24hrs of making the reservation for a date in Feb which is almost 2 months away. Enjoy the $25 cash grab folks, I hope it was worth it. I'll make sure you lose that and much more when I share this experience with my friends/network. You might want to rethink your policy.

The conciliation was hearing from a friend that shared their experience at Mosaic. He told me he went recently and said for what they paid it was subpar and paperthin walls, you can hear everything happening in the busy hallways.

My advice to folks going to Blue Mountain, book at the Westin in the village, its 10 times better and there is no cancellation fee if you cancel a week before your checkin date. The outdoor pool/hottub is amazing and the location is way better and quieter than the Mosaic or any of the village units.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Vice President-Lodging at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Steve P,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review to Trip Advisor, allowing us to speak to your concern and also to educate other readers about our cancellation policy.

On review of the Lodging section of our website, you will find drop downs for each individual hotel with room descriptions for each room type and applicable amenities. While you are going through the booking process you can request a specific hotel; we will do our utmost to grant requests in order of priority. You can also call our very knowledgeable reservations department toll free at 1-877-445-0231 to make reservations and seek additional information about the resort.

We understand your disappointment with our cancellation policy. In addition to outlining our cancellation policy online and in our confirmation letter, our aim is to always communicate it clearly and transparently when booking over the phone, so that prospective guests are aware. You rightfully point out that the cancellation policy in place at the Westin Trillium House does not apply such a fee, although there may be other features of this cancellation policy which some may consider more restrictive. We encourage guests to understand all features of a particular cancellation policy prior to confirming a booking.

Please know that we do regularly compare our cancellation policy to others in the industry and generally receive positive feedback in terms of the flexibility that our cancellation policy provides. For instance, the ability to convert your deposit into a future credit in the event that you need to cancel within 10 days of arrival is a feature that is generally appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your helpful feedback and the opportunity you have provided us with to share some useful booking information with other Trip Advisor readers.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

James Henry
Vice President-Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.4 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic

Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $130 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mosaic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Mosaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Blue Mountains
Mosaic Hotel Collingwood
Mosaic Resort Collingwood
Mosaic Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing