We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel, but slipping in Services”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mosaic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mosaic
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, but slipping in Services”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went to the Mosaic two years ago and the services and amenities were well kept than considering it was still fairly new. I recently went with my family and my in-laws from August 19th to the 21st. We took 2 rooms. I noticed the rooms are now showing signs of wear and aging. Scratches on doors and worn down couches and pillow couches which are discoloring tell me they need to refresh the hotel. My kids slept on the sofa bed and these are not comfortable to sleep on anymore. The mattress is flattening from use and definitely needs to be changed. If your kids are 12 or older consider a room with two beds. The room was otherwise kept well.

Air conditioning in my in-laws unit did not work properly. The engineer who serviced the room said the air conditioning unit needs to be pulled out so why rent this rom out given the issue? The latch on their door that keeps the door open when you step out of the room broke, again a sign of aging. The biggest disappointment is the pool area. The hotel typically attracts young families and with young kids and they just don't have enough lawn chairs. It doesn't even support half the guests in the hotel. We saw people sitting on the paved deck on their towels or on the grass because there was not enough chairs. Not good for a hotel of this stature. This was the same problem two years ago too. You would have thought they would have opened up an area to fit more chairs, but nothing.

The upkeep to the pool seemed to be poor. When we arrived at the pool, the water seemed to have a cloudy murky look. It could have been so many kids and adults going in with sunscreen, I'm not sure, but it did not look clean or clear.

Nonetheless, the hotel is still in the village and is in a good location to nearby attractions and restaurants. The check-in was fairly quick. I'd say the hotel is probably now a 3 star. No way is it a 5 star anymore and giving it a 4 is a bit of a stretch.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms in the middle of the floor. They seem to be bigger with a queen size bed. Corner s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Heat7,

We’re sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations; your comments are contrary to many recent reviews of this property. On average you can see our guests find the rooms spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped, some refer to them as modern décor, others say they have a rustic feel and for the most part they are well received. There is no disputing that a pullout sofa bed is not ideal sleeping for older children or adults, they are okay for younger children that are light in body weight. A mattress designed to fold up inside a couch cannot provide the same support and comfort as a full size bed with mattress and box spring, opting for a second bedroom is advised.

We apologize for the deficiency that your in-laws experienced with the air conditioning; this of course is not the quality of service we want to deliver. Our service technicians are on hand throughout the day and evening to address items such as this.

This summer has been another warm one and guests of the resort, particularly families of young children enjoy leisurely days around the pools. With increased bather loads and most wearing sunscreen the clarity of the water can, at times, become cloudy. Regardless of appearance, we can assure you that our pool service team and our deck attendants routinely monitor chemical levels to ensure readings are never below industry standards. We had increased the number of deck chairs available earlier this summer and yet see days where we cannot meet the demands, as such our deck attendants have been further empowered to police chair holding. Meaning if a chair sits for 30 minutes without anyone using it, regardless of belongings present, they will remove items and free up chairs.

Thanks again for your valuable perspective and the opportunity you have provided for us to clarify concerns raised.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Ltd.,

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    142
    54
    19
    12
See reviews for
156
81
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband, 5 year old son and I just got back from staying at the Mosaic at Blue Mountain. Some people think this is only a winter getaway..Wrong! What a great summer Vacation destination! My son loved it! From the Aquatic Plunge centre to the mountain coaster, the Gondola ride, live music each night and so much more...we can't wait to go back! We had a Bachelor suite which suited us perfectly! It was a beautiful room with "cottage like" touches, a fireplace, kitchenette, flat screen TV, deep soaker tub, and a great view of the mountains. The staff were always very friendly and accommodating. The restaurants in the village are great! Giving you a variety of budget up to high priced items, but all were great in our opinion!
We are already talking about going back in the fall time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunl0ver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear sunl0ver22,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a quick synopsis of your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resorts and in particular the Mosaic hotel. It’s true, and we think the word is spreading, we are no longer solely a winter holiday destination; we like to think of ourselves as an all season destination. We are so happy to hear you and your family; in particular your young son, enjoyed the resort and the activities.

The Village is vibrant and bustling with activities, events and music and yet it is calming and relaxing to stroll or just sit and linger. The rooms are well appointed and very well equipped, making packing for a holiday much easier for families such as yours. Our staff members are eager to assist and go out of their way to ensure each guest is well taken care of.

We’re delighted to hear you are coming back, the fall is such a pretty time up here; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mosaic! Our 1 bedroom suite was very clean and spacious, with a separate living room area (with sofa bed), and also a nice kitchenette and dining area. Nice views from the big balcony. The heated pool and hot tub outside were very nice. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. A great location right in the village, everything is within walking distance! No complaints at all, we would return again in the future...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DSpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear DSpad,

This is wonderful to hear, we’re so glad you completely enjoyed your stay and found our front line staff courteous and welcoming. We are delighted to know you are looking forward to another visit. The rooms are nicely designed and the kitchens well stocked for easy meal preparations. Ahh yes, the views are breath taking; the leaves are beginning to turn creating a constantly changing background.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went looking for a low-key relaxing weekend, but was very mistaken. The majority of the guests are families with young children which results in loud restaurants and kids screaming and running up and down the hallways during the days. In the evening, the village area became over-run with 20 somethings partying. There were 8 OPP cars and several armed police patrolling the village restaurant and bar area. It felt more like Daytona spring break. Perhaps I should have done more research before I chose Blue Mountain which I will take credit for. Check-out was 11am on the Sunday. I called requesting a 30 minute late checkout, but was told it was not possible. I rushed to the lobby only to stand in line for 40 minutes. It's absurd to me that at a peak front-desk time such as check-out only one person would be working. After waiting 40 minutes a second employee arrived, obviously from break, with a coffee and apple in his hand. There was no sense of urgency to check out the line of guests. Housekeeping was also very slow. We left Saturday morning at 11am for a day activities and arrived back at our room at 4pm. The room has still not be cleaned. We had to call to request that our room be made up. Also, while this may seems small, it's worth noting that the toilet paper in the room must be the thinnest single ply toilet paper I've ever used. It feels like tissue paper. If you choose this resort I'd suggest bringing your own.

Overall, not the experience I would anticipate for the price. Do yourself a favour and stay at the Westin just across the pond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Alvard Petten-Vice President at Mosaic, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Kris D,

Thanks for raising some excellent points; first of all, we definitely do attract a lot of families with our selection of activities and find we appeal to a wide range of ages, family dynamics and interests. There is also a fair selection of night life, not necessarily solely limited to a younger crowd, the Wakestock event in particular does draw a younger element, and most other times you will observe a mix of ages. In light of the event taking place in town and several bar owners hosting events in conjunction, we took a proactive approach and enlisted the services of local OPP to assist in maintaining a civilized and safe environment. We are seeing a steady rise in popularity during peak summer months, as such we find the impact of late departures weigh heavy on our ability to adhere to the limited time allowance for cleaning and delivering rooms for arrival. We are sorry to learn that your daily refresh came later in the day; this scheduling issue will be reevaluated by our housekeeping team to improve timeliness. In regards to your comment about the toilet paper quality, we have investigated and learned that our supplier shipped us an alternate product in the absence of our standard brand, unfortunately the quality is below our standard and we apologize, we have exhausted the interim shipment at this time and will be supplying our high quality paper once again.

Finally to your experience at our front desk, this is not the quality of service we want to deliver and sadly are seeing a trend in this particular lodging facility. We are working closely with our team to address recent concerns and improve services rendered. As a direct result of guest comments such as yours, we are providing our desk staff with increased support to ensure peak times are not stressful for the team and are enjoyed by our guests. In this particular instance we will provide additional coaching and resources that will aid in avoiding a repeat of this service shortfall in the future.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our two kids (ages 7 & 1) stayed at the mosaic for a few nights in the past week. Overall, I wasn't in love with this place.

Check-in:
In a word: stressful. We made a 7 hour journey to get to blue mountain. We arrived there just after 4 (check in is at 4) and we learned our room was not ready. So maybe if you are a couple, group of adults or have older kids this might not be a big deal. You can just go have dinner and they'll call you when it's ready. For us, with a 1 year old it was NOT good. We have stuff that needs to be refrigerated, the baby needs to be changed and fed - we just needed a room! The staff made a terrible first impression. They seriously looked like they didn't care, which I'm sure they didn't. We didn't get in our room till almost 6pm. In fairness to the staff, this is a management issue!! During peak times they clearly need to have more staff on hand to get rooms ready. At $235/night this is unacceptable and the worst check in I've ever had.

The reception staff did give us 20% off our first night stay and the two women who were working at the counter were very friendly later in and for the rest of our stay. I think they were just really stressed that first day.

Our room:
It was nice. Seemed fairly new and clean. We had the one bedroom plus den. The kids used the den to sleep in and play. The bed was comfortable and we had all the basics. The kitchen has everything you would need. Generally the staff seem to be working their butts off, the cleaning staff works long days and seems tired! All the staff we came across were very friendly. I found the room a bit crowded at times with just the 4 if us. Next time I would stay at one of the grand Georgian rooms, older but a bit more space.

The village:
The location is perfect. If you don't want to pay village prices for food, there is a Walmart, fresh co and metro in collingwood (5 min drive). There are lots of activities in the village. The vibe is so so. There were some friendly people but out of anywhere I've visited I found the crowd to be generally rude.

At 3 pm they offer cookies and beverages in the lobby. This would be better in the morning but it was nice none the less. There is no accounting for other guests, namely there was one lady who dumped the entire tray if cookies in her bag!? So if you see the cookies are out, don't freak out on the staff...it would be a rude guest like the one we witnessed.

We are familiar with the Georgian Bay Area which is really nice so I would stay at blue mountain again. Out of the area, I think staying in the village is a good choice.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sailor77

Thank you, your comments are well received and will most likely be very helpful to future guests considering a visit. As mentioned above, we are seeing a trend at this particular location and although not the feedback we desire, we are using it constructively to seek measures of improvement. Thanks to yours and other feedback we are able to acknowledge that our team is feeling some stress and our guests are sensitive to this, we apologize and thank you all at the same time. We know our staff well and can assure you they really do care, so much so that the inability to deliver the best experience and provide each guest with their desired requests places undue pressure and results in a poor first impression. In light of recent similar comments we have introduced additional support that will assist our team and provide our guests with the positive experience we strive to deliver.

With respect to your room not being ready at 6pm, we do agree that this is a management issue and we are actively working at addressing the underlying reasons. We regret that you did not experience our normal service standard on this occasion.

We are happy to hear that you found the room to your liking and the kitchen very serviceable, this is always a bonus with families that like to be able to have some quick meals. The town of Collingwood is very close by, there are several other small towns in the general vicinity as well, all worthwhile visiting and offer lots of really nice variety.

Thanks for the heads up, an entire tray of cookies, you are so right, there is no accounting for the actions of some individuals. We will do our utmost to police this situation a bit more closely so that all guests are able to enjoy the treats.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Here is a detailed overview of my stay at the Mosaic @ Blue mountain from Aug 4-7

Reception: Needs a major overhaul. They are not very friendly at all. I requested an early check-in which they could not accommodate. I explained I had 2 twin toddlers they didn't care. They even failed to deliver my room for 4 but instead 430. Horrible

Rooms: We were given the 2 storey town homes which was nice however the rooms are so dated. They have flies everywhere and housekeeping is a joke. They have until 5pm to clean your room and all they do us fresh towels, make a bed and take out garbage. There is no WIFI in the room which is insane considering the price you pay. They tell you it's free in the lobby? They have 2 chairs in the lobby?

Pool area:
Chairs are not to be saved? Well they are and nothing is done. They run out of towels and the pool is dirty

The only great thing is the location and cute shops all which are overpriced

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magsmoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Magsmoda,

Thanks for your constructive comments, while we regret hearing you were in any way disappointed with your experience, we appreciate your honesty and the opportunity you have given us to recognize a need for additional support that will lead to improved services. Every parent understands what it’s like traveling with a young family, your expectation of settling in after a long drive is quite fair and your disappointment duly noted. Once again, the perception that the front line staff didn’t care is most regrettable, they really do care and want nothing more than a smooth arrival for every guest and a great start to a holiday, when this is compromised they feel the brunt and unfortunately this came across as a lack of concern for your needs. These recent comments have prompted us to implement new practices that will support our front line team and allow them to deliver the great experience our guests have always enjoyed and we take pride in delivering.

In respect to your dissatisfaction with the townhouse style units in Mosaic, this is disappointing; typically these units are very popular and garner really positive feedback.

The standard housekeeping service provided is referred to as “daily refresh”, this is comprised of, garbage removal, fresh towels provided (unless indicated by the guest as not desired for environmental reasons, instructions are in each room), beds are made (unless personal belongings are left on the bed, in this case our staff are instructed not to touch personal items and will leave the bed unmade). In the case of a longer stay, we provide a full service clean, including vacuuming and linen change and this would occur on the fourth day of a stay.

With regards to WIFI, we have basic quality available free in the hotel lobbies; guest rooms receive premium quality service for a fee.

Finally, deck chairs at the pool areas are not to be held, sadly existing signs are not observed by all comers so thank you for making this point. We have just posted new signs indicating that belongings left for more than 30 minutes will be removed to aid in the policing of this unfair practice.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a lot of neighbours say they had hit Blue Mountain for a weekend in the summer and we were confused as we thought it was a ski resort, but Blue Mountain village has done a lot to accommodate families for activities in the summer.

We stayed at the Mosaic July 19-21. The hotel is lovely and the 1 bedroom villa we rented for 2 nights was incredibly spacious. Full kitchen, modern decor, large bedroom, comfy king size bed. Our balcony faced the village - there were bars/lounges below and across from us, so it was a little noisy, but they supply you with ear plugs. We would stay there again, no problem.

The pool was nice, but not exactly shallow enough for children to play anywhere except in the stairs. It was very busy when we were there, so not enough lounge chairs.

One drawback was the cable system on the TV -it's outdated, not exactly digital and to rent a movie through their system in your room is $16 - RIP OFF.



Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear kathrynanywhere,

This is very neat to see, I guess we were considered to be uniquely a ski resort for many, many years and now with the introduction of a variety of activities and the Village build out, summers are nearly surpassing winters in popularity. We thank your neighbor for spreading the word and thank you for giving us a try.

The rooms are nicely laid out and work well for families, particularly with the kitchens, so convenient when you have youngsters and want to whip up a quick meal. There is a lot going on in the Village and it can be fun to just enjoy the view from a balcony, for those sensitive to noise, it might be best to take a view away from the Village.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
295 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.9 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic

Property: Mosaic
Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mosaic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mosaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Blue Mountains
Mosaic Hotel Collingwood
Mosaic Resort Collingwood
Mosaic Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing