We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”
Review of Mosaic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mosaic
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bdrm 2 bath suite on 3rd floor from Dec.23-27/12. Open concept living room/dining room/ kitchen with breakfast bar, suits entertaining. King bedroom with small flat screen and en suite bathroom and 2nd bedroom with what felt like a double bed with no TV. In living room, the TV is on the small size...can do with an upgrade to a 36". Nice fireplace and overall, clean and well equipped suite. Housekeeping was amazing...fulfilled any/all requests. Outdoor pool/hot tub beautiful with plenty of towels and robes (4) provided in our room for use after getting out into the chilly air!! Complimentary coffee, tea and cookies in lobby from 3-4:30 daily. Location is close to all restaurants/shops. Pond not frozen during our stay but a large outdoor skating rink is open behind YMCA (200 Hume St), in Collingwood (10km). Great stay!

Room Tip: Low # rooms are further from elevators. Corner room had 2 balconies with great views (pool and pond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear AnnaA,

Glad you liked it and were kind enough to post these helpful comments on Trip Advisor to assist others considering a visit to our area. The Village suites offer either King or Queen beds; only the pullouts are double size. Perhaps when the owners in this location are doing their upgrade and refurbishment, consideration will be given to larger screen televisions. We are thrilled to hear how our staff was happy to accommodate all your requests; you were satisfied with room provisions and that of our outdoor pool and hot tub facilities. The pond is now frozen so maybe if you are considering a return you could try out the rink here in the Village.

Best regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 350 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom condo unit in the Mosaic with another couple, and while it was nice - and great for the price, it wasn't without a few flaws. The queen bed in the second bedroom, was definitely not a queen. It was very uncomfortable - the mattress, sheets, and pillows could all use replacing. More pillows would have been nice as well - the ones we had were super small. The attached bathroom was nice, however the shower took forever to heat up and it made this awful squealing noise which made showering somewhat awful.

The room itself was great - comfortable chairs, a decent-sized kitchen, a nice gas fireplace and balcony. A good space to relax with friends, play games, and drink some wine.

The neighbors - were a total other story. This hotel seems to be used for Hockey tournaments, so we were across from some very loud and rowdy parents. Additionally, children were running around everywhere - the pool, the halls, the elevators... mostly without supervision. It seems like a great place to go with a family (awesome outdoor pool and hot tub) but not if your looking for a quiet weekend away. We did get a small discount on the room, but we had to complain 2-3 times each night. Maybe this is a one-time thing, maybe not... but definitely keep it in mind if thinking about staying here.

The amenities are awesome - love the all year round outdoor pool and hot-tub despite the fact the thermostat was broken when we were there. From another guest's comments on-site it seems like this has happened a few times. It is right in the village which is great - so you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Just be prepared for crazy prices down there!

Not too sure what I thought about in regards to the staff - some seemed great, nice and friendly - others seems standoffish and rude.

Room Tip: Try and avoid being on a floor with any sort of hockey team.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Chantal S,

Thank you for your very helpful review of our property, your feedback guides us in making changes that will better serve our guests. On occasion we do experience unforeseen mechanical failures, such as the hot tub thermostat. Repairs are done as quickly as possible to limit inconvenience, we generally try to provide alternate access in such instances and regret that we may not have done this for you when you were here.

Groups, particularly sports groups, are typically comprised of high numbers of youth, unfortunately parents and guardians tend to be lax in monitoring the activities of the younger guests. We are evaluating the way rooms are allocated to groups such as this to minimize the effects to other guests and trust we will have a solution in place very soon.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom condo unit in the Mosaic building on the weekend of November 23rd to 25th, my partner and our friends. The room wasn't quite what we were expecting - it was nice, and definitely good for the price, but it felt a little sparse - in the master bedroom, for example, the only furniture was the bed and a television mounted to the wall, no dresser or even a mirror. The kitchen was functional, if small, and we had to have maintenance come up to re-light the pilot light on our fireplace, but that was done with no fuss and quickly.

The pool and hot tub in the back were nice, if a little busy - especially with kids in the hot tub. On Saturday night, the water seemed cooler than it should have been, and we were told that kids had been throwing snow into the hot tub all day (?), and then that the thermostat was broken, and it finally started to get nice and toasty in the hot tub right before they closed the facilities at 11PM.

Our neighbours across the hall were quite rowdy, with people running in the hall and yelling, which was a little irritating. We did get a slight discount on our final bill because of that, which I definitely appreciated (and was not expecting).

In our room, the non-en suite bathroom had a very whiny shower, and the en suite bathroom's shower took forever to heat up. The bed was comfy in the master bedroom, but there was a lot of space between the end of the mattress and the wall behind the headboard, which ended up meaning we had to shove some pillows down there so we wouldn't either end up sleeping funny or lose our pillows during the night. The power outlet (where one of the bedside lamps and the alarm clock) behind the bed was probably to blame, but the staff should consider rearranging things a little bit (or including more pillows).

Overall, while I wasn't blown away, it was definitely a pleasant stay and we had a good time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear AndrewD,

Thanks for this candid feedback, typically we receive pretty flattering reviews about Mosaic and the lodging units, sadly we did not manage to wow you and your guests on this visit.

We were hosting some hockey groups this weekend and apologize for the parent’s lack of supervision of their children, resulting in unreasonable noise levels. We are working towards an improved process to manage this type of group which will avoid unfavorable impact to non-group guests.

With respect to the issues mentioned with the showers, we have dispatched our engineering staff to inspect and repair these items, avoiding future disappointments. We will review the positioning of the mattress and ensure a solution is found immediately.

Sincerely,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services

AP/hb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed here this past weekend and we were duly impressed with the townhouse we stayed in. I believe there are only a few (maybe 6?) at the hotel. The layout was great as it was 2 floors with bedrooms above and kitchen and living room below. And we had our own entrance to the outdoors. Kitchen was decently equipped and the staff were were quite nice.

They bill the pool as a year round pool. We have traveled the world as it pertains to ski hotels and I have to say that this pool was a wee bit chilly as these things go. They just need to crank up the heat a few degrees.

We noticed that there are a few really neat Christmas events planned in the village for December. Christmas caroling and Santa visits and such. Could be alot fun with kids.

We also highly recommend the Oliver and Bonacinni restaurant at the Westin - great food and they cater well to families with lil' ones.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for the townhouses, they are excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank #1Vancouverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear #1Vancouverite,

Thanks for sharing your experience at Blue Mountain Resorts with fellow Trip Advisor readers, we are very happy you enjoyed it here and in particular the lodging unit provided. Yes, we only have a limited inventory of this style of unit; the townhomes are located in Mosaic on the ground floor.

We have advised the property manager of your comments in regards to the pool temperature and trust they will have their service provider review records and adjust settings accordingly.

The Village is always vibrant and caters to the changing seasons, Christmas is no exception, with caroling, horse drawn sleigh/wagon rides, and of course Santa visits will surely get you in spirit of the season.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited




Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services

AP/hb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family really enjoyed the room and liked being close to the village centre but far enough away from the village noise at night. Too bad the guests at night were very noisy and the doors are then. We had to complain a couple times before security came to shut up the noisy guests at 2am. I also paid the $40 extra to get a late 7pm check out which was great. I really like that option so we don't feel rushed to check out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalJets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear GlobalJets

Thank you for your generous comments regarding your latest experience staying with us at Blue Mountain Resort. The rooms that are located nearest to the nightlife can be a bit noisy at times making a location facing away from the Village a better choice if nightlife is not of interest. We are sorry that our housekeeping services were not made clear to you; normal service is referred to as “Towels & Trash” or a “Daily Refresh”. This means we provide fresh towels unless directed by our guest not to, empty the trash and restock items such as soaps and coffee. Following the 3rd night of stay, we do a full clean, replacing bed linens, dusting, vacuuming and cleaning washrooms etc.

Thanks again for your very helpful feedback , we hope you will be back again soon.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Mosaic Oct 26-28. I had told the reservation clerk that we wanted a quiet weekend away. When we arrived, we find out there are two hockey tournaments staying there. We took a room that was on the side of the restaurants. Mistake, very loud when the bars closed. Security staff did nothing. Very loud everywhere actually with the hockey teams. They were jumping in the hot tub as if it was the pool. Staff said nothing. The room was clean and tidy, however, the hair dryer did not work, the plugs behind the kitchen counter for coffee and the toaster did not work. After having a hot tub crammed with noisy boys, we were hoping for a sauna, but it was out of order.

Room Tip: Great for families with lots of kids. Not a quiet weekend getaway for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Paula M,

Thank you for this feedback, we sincerely regret that the hockey groups acted out of line and caused undue disruption to other guests such as you. We will be sure to share your comments with our group booking department and trust they will follow-up accordingly to prevent future occurrences. The Village lends itself to active good times, some of which is nightlife at the Village restaurants, for those seeking a quiet getaway; a room facing away from the Village is recommended. We are sorry you experienced a deficiency with the outlet in the kitchen as well as the hair dryer and regret that our in-house call centre (AYS) was not advised and an engineer dispatched immediately to conduct the necessary repair. We will alert the property management company for this property about the sauna and trust they will attend to the repair right away if not already repaired.

Once again, thank you for your very helpful comments, certainly this is not the norm as you can see from many other posts for this property.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend at the Mosaic Hotel in the Village at the Blue Mountain Resort! We were upgraded for free to a 1bedroom room from a bachelor room and it was great! The difference is that there is a room for the bed on it's own! This worked great for us because it so happened that the weekend we were there also was 11 kids hockey teams! The kids were running all over the place but because we had the separate bedroom you couldnt here them in the hallways! The Mosaic building has it's own pool and hot tub from the rest if the village building and they are heated and open all year round! The other pool in the village closes for the winter but I think there hot tubs remain open! Mosaic also gives you bathrobes to use which is a nice touch for wearing to get to the pool and hot tub! However, the Mosaic is more expensive than the other buildings!
There was lots to do their for adults and children! We went mini-putting and took a ride on the ridge runner (a small roller coaster lugge ride) unfortunately, the gondola was shut down for the fall/winter season but we did see people hiking up the mountain for the view which is amazing!! There is also a small climbing wall and another rope/bridge obstacle maze thing for kids and adults! These were all at an extra cost or you could by a package that included all of them! There is a discount if you are a guest at the hotel! The Village is a nice walk about that includes several stores for adults and kids. There are also several bars and restaurants to choose from including a Starbucks which is great to have a hot chocolate when the weather is getting cold! My husband and I had a wonderful time and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Martinim,

Thank you for this review of the Mosaic hotel at Blue Mountain Resorts, we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and amenities. It seems you were here when we had some hockey groups on site, we are very sorry about their lack of control around their children and unreasonable noise levels created. We have communicated your concern to our group booking department to ensure improved management of these groups in the future.

We are glad that despite the annoyance of the hockey groups you found the pools, hot tubs and many attractions to your liking and filled your days with plenty of fun. The Village has so many choices for dining and shopping, something for all ages and we are happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised and planning to return.

Once again, thank you for your helpful comments; we look forward to having you return.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.4 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 17 in Blue Mountains
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic

Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $123 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mosaic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Mosaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Blue Mountains
Mosaic Hotel Collingwood
Mosaic Resort Collingwood
Mosaic Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing