We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouses are really quite nice.”
Review of Mosaic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mosaic
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed here this past weekend and we were duly impressed with the townhouse we stayed in. I believe there are only a few (maybe 6?) at the hotel. The layout was great as it was 2 floors with bedrooms above and kitchen and living room below. And we had our own entrance to the outdoors. Kitchen was decently equipped and the staff were were quite nice.

They bill the pool as a year round pool. We have traveled the world as it pertains to ski hotels and I have to say that this pool was a wee bit chilly as these things go. They just need to crank up the heat a few degrees.

We noticed that there are a few really neat Christmas events planned in the village for December. Christmas caroling and Santa visits and such. Could be alot fun with kids.

We also highly recommend the Oliver and Bonacinni restaurant at the Westin - great food and they cater well to families with lil' ones.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for the townhouses, they are excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank #1Vancouverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear #1Vancouverite,

Thanks for sharing your experience at Blue Mountain Resorts with fellow Trip Advisor readers, we are very happy you enjoyed it here and in particular the lodging unit provided. Yes, we only have a limited inventory of this style of unit; the townhomes are located in Mosaic on the ground floor.

We have advised the property manager of your comments in regards to the pool temperature and trust they will have their service provider review records and adjust settings accordingly.

The Village is always vibrant and caters to the changing seasons, Christmas is no exception, with caroling, horse drawn sleigh/wagon rides, and of course Santa visits will surely get you in spirit of the season.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited




Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services

AP/hb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family really enjoyed the room and liked being close to the village centre but far enough away from the village noise at night. Too bad the guests at night were very noisy and the doors are then. We had to complain a couple times before security came to shut up the noisy guests at 2am. I also paid the $40 extra to get a late 7pm check out which was great. I really like that option so we don't feel rushed to check out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalJets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear GlobalJets

Thank you for your generous comments regarding your latest experience staying with us at Blue Mountain Resort. The rooms that are located nearest to the nightlife can be a bit noisy at times making a location facing away from the Village a better choice if nightlife is not of interest. We are sorry that our housekeeping services were not made clear to you; normal service is referred to as “Towels & Trash” or a “Daily Refresh”. This means we provide fresh towels unless directed by our guest not to, empty the trash and restock items such as soaps and coffee. Following the 3rd night of stay, we do a full clean, replacing bed linens, dusting, vacuuming and cleaning washrooms etc.

Thanks again for your very helpful feedback , we hope you will be back again soon.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Mosaic Oct 26-28. I had told the reservation clerk that we wanted a quiet weekend away. When we arrived, we find out there are two hockey tournaments staying there. We took a room that was on the side of the restaurants. Mistake, very loud when the bars closed. Security staff did nothing. Very loud everywhere actually with the hockey teams. They were jumping in the hot tub as if it was the pool. Staff said nothing. The room was clean and tidy, however, the hair dryer did not work, the plugs behind the kitchen counter for coffee and the toaster did not work. After having a hot tub crammed with noisy boys, we were hoping for a sauna, but it was out of order.

Room Tip: Great for families with lots of kids. Not a quiet weekend getaway for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Paula M,

Thank you for this feedback, we sincerely regret that the hockey groups acted out of line and caused undue disruption to other guests such as you. We will be sure to share your comments with our group booking department and trust they will follow-up accordingly to prevent future occurrences. The Village lends itself to active good times, some of which is nightlife at the Village restaurants, for those seeking a quiet getaway; a room facing away from the Village is recommended. We are sorry you experienced a deficiency with the outlet in the kitchen as well as the hair dryer and regret that our in-house call centre (AYS) was not advised and an engineer dispatched immediately to conduct the necessary repair. We will alert the property management company for this property about the sauna and trust they will attend to the repair right away if not already repaired.

Once again, thank you for your very helpful comments, certainly this is not the norm as you can see from many other posts for this property.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend at the Mosaic Hotel in the Village at the Blue Mountain Resort! We were upgraded for free to a 1bedroom room from a bachelor room and it was great! The difference is that there is a room for the bed on it's own! This worked great for us because it so happened that the weekend we were there also was 11 kids hockey teams! The kids were running all over the place but because we had the separate bedroom you couldnt here them in the hallways! The Mosaic building has it's own pool and hot tub from the rest if the village building and they are heated and open all year round! The other pool in the village closes for the winter but I think there hot tubs remain open! Mosaic also gives you bathrobes to use which is a nice touch for wearing to get to the pool and hot tub! However, the Mosaic is more expensive than the other buildings!
There was lots to do their for adults and children! We went mini-putting and took a ride on the ridge runner (a small roller coaster lugge ride) unfortunately, the gondola was shut down for the fall/winter season but we did see people hiking up the mountain for the view which is amazing!! There is also a small climbing wall and another rope/bridge obstacle maze thing for kids and adults! These were all at an extra cost or you could by a package that included all of them! There is a discount if you are a guest at the hotel! The Village is a nice walk about that includes several stores for adults and kids. There are also several bars and restaurants to choose from including a Starbucks which is great to have a hot chocolate when the weather is getting cold! My husband and I had a wonderful time and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Martinim,

Thank you for this review of the Mosaic hotel at Blue Mountain Resorts, we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and amenities. It seems you were here when we had some hockey groups on site, we are very sorry about their lack of control around their children and unreasonable noise levels created. We have communicated your concern to our group booking department to ensure improved management of these groups in the future.

We are glad that despite the annoyance of the hockey groups you found the pools, hot tubs and many attractions to your liking and filled your days with plenty of fun. The Village has so many choices for dining and shopping, something for all ages and we are happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised and planning to return.

Once again, thank you for your helpful comments; we look forward to having you return.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked a room in Mosaic. On the second floor. The resort itself is pretty confusing when you arrive after dark. After driving around for 20 minutes with a map, we found our parking garage located under the Mosaic hotel. The entrance to the parking garage is so small, the small box where you place your room key to get in is bashed in by someones rearview mirror. Not surprising as we had to really watch to get our SUV into the entrance without scraping the sides. Parking was relatively full but we found a spot close to the elevators which was nice.

The lobby was underwhelming, in fact, it didn't really look like much of a lobby at all. We went up to our room on the second floor. Wifi internet was not working, realized we had to call to get a passcode and then set up with a credit card or bill to room for $8.95 per day. Really? At the kind of price you pay you would think wifi is included.

The room itself was okay, but quite dark. Brown everything. The kitchenette was a nice idea but not something we really required on our stay. The dining table in room was one of those high bar stool type tables with four chairs. Useless for us. No desk area for a working station.

Walk out to balcony was okay, view overlooked shops and the fitness bubble. Meh. Balcony was bare bones, no chairs. Although cooler on our visit it would have been nice to sit out in the morning when the weather was sunny and warmer.

A dirty tea towel was sticking out from behind the dresser in our bedroom, there was some residual garbage from the last guests under the bed - ick. The light switch in the bedroom did not work (not a huge issue as there were two lamps), the lamps lighting were rather dim, hard to open window curtains as they provided no privacy.

Very dusty on the base boards and surrounding wood, I was pretty shocked at the state of the room given the cost of the rooms per evening. The bed was okay but a little hard, pillows were nice. Housekeeping came twice the following day but we were in the process of getting ready for the wedding. The housekeeping girl on duty was very friendly and asked if there was anything she could do. I advised her not to worry about it as we were checking out the next morning.

The bathroom was very clean, no separate area to get ready while someone else was in the shower though, so hard for a couple to get ready at the same time to go out.

THE WORST part is the NOISE. I could not get over how many people let their children run through the halls, up the stairs and down the stairs screaming and playing games. Other guests were also very loud in the hallways so sleeping in is pretty much impossible. Going to bed at an earlier hour, also impossible due to the noise. Not that the hotel can control other peoples children, but could they not provide some security to ensure they aren't running through the halls playing tag??

When it came time to go to our friends wedding, the woman working at the front of the conference centre directed us to the wrong wedding. We missed our friends ceremony...yes, we were sent to the very end of the conference centre and by the time we trekked back we missed it. Disappointing and a half hearted, "Oh I'm sorry" was offered. Thanks.

The bar tenders and other staff were very nice for the duration of the wedding. All of the servers were great, the food was exceptional and the drinks were also made to perfection. It's too bad the hotel itself is lacking in so many ways. What kind of hotel books quiet couples near a hockey tournament? If someone were thinking of booking their wedding there I would say that everything to do with the reception was really lovely.

The only pro was probably being close to The Sunset Grill which is located right below the hotel (FABULOUS food and service - and fast). The rest of the shops are nice in the area as well.

No room service at this location either. Had I peeked at this location before my husband had booked I would have said no way. Definitely not worth the money, will not be back and will not recommend. Most of the staff seemed depressed or miserable to be working there. Aside from our house keeper and one young man in the elevator who appeared to be sweeping up debris - the rest of the staff seemed like they hated the place as much as we did.

Clean it up, update the decor and invest in some sound proofing or booking guests appropriately so they aren't being constantly disturbed by kids stomping through the halls or noisy party people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spagirlforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear spagirlforlife,

Thank you for your very thorough and detailed review of our Mosaic hotel at Blue Mountain Resorts, it is most unfortunate that you found your room did not meet your expectations and were disappointed from the outset. Typically we get pretty favorable feedback about this property and truly regret that you were completely unimpressed. All of the Village properties are equipped with either a kitchenette or full kitchen, so if it’s a basic hotel room you are in search of the, Blue Mountain Inn would be the preferred location and all rooms have just undergone a complete renovation and we are getting great comments from guests about the new look.

We are very disappointed to know that our cleaning staff did not achieve a thorough cleaning of your unit prior to arrival. These oversights have been noted and will be reported to management to be addressed during morning briefings and avoid a repeat of this service.

You are absolutely right, we did have hockey groups in house and they did not manage their children’s behavior very well at all, nor did they demonstrate respect towards our other guests. This has been duly noted and referred to our group booking department for review and to avoid a repeat of this in the future.

We are very happy to read your comments around our banquet staff and the wedding you attended, food, drink and service were exceptional. Thank you for your kind comments, we will share them with our team in recognition of their efforts. We regret that you found staff in other areas to be disengaged, comments such as this are not typical at all of our staff, service or this lodging facility, sadly it was your impression and for that we are very sorry. We hope you will come and visit again, perhaps try another property and take away a much more positive perspective of the resort.

Thanks again for your very helpful comments.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My second stay at Mosaic at Blue Mountain was as good as my first visit. While my stay was business related, from a mini-holiday perspective Blue Mountain is a great option to consider.

The Mosaic is part of a family of hotels and a great property, especially if you choose one of the suites. My room was full featured with a kitchen suite, small dining table and a living room all separate from the large king bedroom. There are plenty of activities at Blue for all ages including an active night life.

Room Tip: As a tip, the road signage is a little weak at best. That being said, you can't miss the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpsrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear mpsrent,

What a nice review of our property, regardless of the purpose of a visit it can be pleasurable. Thanks for sharing this positive feedback with our Trip Advisor readers.

I will pass on your comment regarding road signage to our Marketing team for their review.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful girls' weekend at Blue Mountain, staying at Mosaic.

Service was excellent, from the time we booked, with help in booking golf and spa services, and all throughout our stay. While at the hotel, I made an error while signing into the wi-fi (accidentally selected 1h instead of 1 day), and they were quick to reverse the charges, no problem. We also had prompt, friendly service from hotel maintenance staff who came in to change a light bulb.

We had a pool-side ground floor room, and it was great to be able to go straight from our living room out to the pool and hot tub. The 2-bedroom suite was very nice, spacious and well laid out. We had a king sized bed in the master suite, and 2 queen beds in the second bedroom, even though the website lists only one queen bed in that room.

The hot tub was a great size, with 4 separate pools joined together, which made it feel like I had a tub all to myself. The pool is also well designed, with a swim lane separated from the main pool, to appeal to kids and families, as well as those wanting to swim some laps.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool-side was great for direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoKimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear TorontoKimmer,

Wow, from service to room to amenities and more, you have provided a fantastic overall review for those considering a trip to our resort. It pleases me greatly to know our staff was helpful, service oriented and quick to respond to your needs. Mosaic is the newest of the Village hotels and offers a bit more in terms of quality and amenities, I’m glad it met with your expectations and that of your group of friends.

We will look forward to your return and hope it is equally as successful as this trip was.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.4 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic

Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $130 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mosaic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Mosaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Blue Mountains
Mosaic Hotel Collingwood
Mosaic Resort Collingwood
Mosaic Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing