We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We booked a 1 bedroom suite for a 3 night stay, August 4th to 7th. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly and helpful valet/bell staff. However, upon entering the hotel lobby, there was an extensive line up for the front desk. We arrived at approximately 4PM (hotel check-in time) and waited 20-30 mins in line; there were 3 front desk agents working. Once at the desk, the check-in process was quick and the front desk staff member was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we were unable to get assistance with our luggage because all the luggage carts were in use at the time.

Our room was exactly as expected. It was on the ground floor with a large walkout patio. The kitchenette was very useful during our stay and the bed/pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was large and spacious, great shower, ample towels (although they could have been a little thicker and softer) and a large soaker tub. Unfortunately the previous guest left behind an item that was inappropriate for a young child to see. We contacted guest services and staff attended immediately to the issue; we were compensated with complimentary wi-fi for the duration of our stay.. The housekeeping staff apologized explaining that a bachelorette party occupied the room prior to us.

The location of the hotel was very close to the activities on the mountain and to the children's playground. Plunge aquatic centre was directly beside the Westin and it was perfect for our 3 yr old son, he really enjoyed himself. In our opinion, tweens and teens would find Plunge a little boring. It was great that the resort had a private beach for their guests. It was relatively clean with some services available. Unfortunately, there was very little food available for purchase, sadly we were informed that they only had hot dogs because they ran out of sandwiches. There was towel service and rentals available, and there were ample plastic lounge chairs for the guests. The restrooms and change area could be better, there was a portable trailer with restrooms and a small wooden outdoor change area closeby. A "Kids Club" was advertised on their website. Unfortunately we did not receive the "welcome bag" described on their website and the room was a big disappointment. It was merely a small room with a few toys, a television and table/chairs; nothing to entertain and hold the attention of our young son.

We only ate one meal at the hotel at Oliver and Bonacini. We ordered take out for a late night dinner. It was difficult to get through to the restaurant at approximately 9:30 PM, we were constantly connected to the restaurant's voicemail. Guest services were able to assist us by connecting us to the restaurant manager. She gladly took our order and it was ready for pick up in 15 mins. When I arrived to pick up the order, the staff were not able immediately available to assist. When I asked a waiter for some help, he pointed me in the direction of the take out bag on the bar. When I inquired about a receipt and signing for the charge, the staff responded by saying that they did not take the order so they don't know where the receipt was.
We ordered the O & B mac and cheese with bacon and the chicken and leek potstickers. The food was delicious and a perfect serving size!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay as we were looking for a "hotel" experience rather than a "condo" experience at Blue Mountain. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful but there definitely could be some improvements at the hotel and with their activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    379
    130
    53
    36
See reviews for
494
400
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful!.. top notch among all village hotels!.. the only thing that I was concern is they charge you extra with everything even if you only ask for a little amount of olive oil for emergency in the restaurant.. it's like 5 drops of olive oil they charge you 3 dollars for that..

Other than that front desk are friendly and our room is sweet and awesome!! I will still go back here with my friends...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Khathee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

As usual, this property did not disappoint. Fast check-in, and room was ready at noon when we arrived. The one bedroom suite was a fair size for our family of 4, and a large bathroom with glass shower. The suite was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel. This place is always maintained well, and the grounds are excellent. The only negative this time was the pool..it was very cloudy and uninviting. We mentioned it to front desk, but not sure what was done about it. We had 2 meals at O&B on site, and both were very good. Keep in mind the service is a bit slow at this restaurant, as are most of restaurants in the village. It seems like every place is shortstaffed for some reason. Our room faced the main road, but was very quiet..you don't get the noise from the village on that side.

Overall, had a great time at the Westin. I believe it is hands down the best property in the village. Look forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was our second stay since last year and Blue Mountain Westin will be a favourite local (relatively) hotel. We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite, which was very comfortable and well furnished. There were four adults and one toddler in our room and it was a good size. I would highly recommend the 2-bedroom suite because of the ample space and full kitchen. With a child in tow, sometimes you will want to order take-out (Firestone pizza) and eat it comfortably at the dining table (seat's six people) or on the balcony.

Make sure you request for the lake view (it's really a pond but it is so relaxing to view it from the room/balcony).

The O&B restaurant - We didn't really eat many meals here because there are better options in the village. We had breakfast vouchers and I don't recommend the buffet...better options in the village.

Wifi - $9.95/day for in-room access. I'm surprised they charge this rate given the expensive rooms and I'm sure it appeals to lot's of work-cationers.

Georgian Bay Beach:
This is the most underrated, not talked about, minimally advertised 'attraction' or 'destination' from the hotel/village.
If staying at the hotel between May and September...you MUST visit this beach. There is a shuttle that runs on the hour or you can drive over (~10 min away).
If you have young children/toddlers...this will be a favourite beach.

Here are the pro's:
- Soft sand with minimal rocks in the water
- Extremely shallow for ~0.5 km (maybe less); starts from ankle to knee deep water. The young kids are extremely safe.
- Minimal waves and very calm water; The water is very warm and comfortable
- PRIVATE beach for those staying in the village
- Not crowded even on a weekend with excellent weather
- Clean (but will need to wear shoes because there are rocks on the beach)
- Water activities ($25/hr for a tandem kayak; paddle boards are hard to secure because there are only 2).
- Snack bar
- Towels, lounge chairs and umbrella's/sun shades (if you can find one) are free; no need to bring or pack your own.

We stayed at JW Marriott Lake Rosseau and this beach was hands down so much better. This lake was warm, shallow, soft and sandy and calm. I would return to this location just to be able to spend a day at this beach!

Please note that this hotel does not provide turn-down service...and the amenities/toiletries are limited and I'm sure you can get more but need to request them.

We did not have issues with Housekeeping. They picked up and cleaned up after our dinner and multiple pizza boxes and replenished the showers after our return from the beach. Again, we requested for the room to be serviced a second time.

Highly recommend this property to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smann, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
This is a very thoughtful review, thank you for taking the time to be so thorough! You are right the beach is fantastic and wonderful for young children. I am also pleased to hear that our housekeeping associates cleaned to your expectations and made your experience more enjoyable. I hope we will be welcoming back for a third stay in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel met and exceeded our expectations. We have 3 children and stayed in the queen suite, with kitchenette. (not sure if that's actually what the room is called?) Spacious, clean and great views. The location of this hotel was perfect. We ended up booking our next stay with them even before leaving. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I am an SPG gold member and have stayed at Westin properties throughout the world. The property is very beautiful but when the Westin Trillium and Westin Beaver Creek are put within the same category, I believe a review is in order.

Pros: Room was very nice and onsite facilities were nice as well. Location to main village was excellent.

Cons: Front desk services are extremely curt and rude. Hotel checked us into the smallest available room and hotel informed us that we would have adjoining rooms. Adjoining rooms not available at hotel and I spoke to manager who provided us with a 2 bedroom suite. The two bedroom suite keeps me rating at a three star, otherwise, I would have given the hotel a 2 star rating. The hotel is extremely loud at night and myself and children heard the noises of screaming kids and doors slamming until 1-2 AM. Housekeeping provided the bare minimum services. The final blow for me was a simple request for an extended checkout from 11AM to 12PM. As an SPG Gold, I have never been denied this request. The front desk agent named Sara was extremely curt and rude.

Bottom Line: Nice facility if you are a property owner but be prepared for some late night noise, management that treats you like your at an overcrowded motel but very convenient access to village.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank knected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

During our first visit to Blue Mountain we were fortunate enough to make the right choice to stay at this hotel. We had a room which over looked the mountain and not the pool/village. This was a perfect choice for us. It was the "quiet" side of the hotel where we did not hear any sounds from the poolside fun nor the music in the village. The rooms were fabulous and clean. I liked how the hotel offered incentives for those guests who wished to "go green". For every day that you declined housekeeping, you were given either a $5 coupon towards food in the village or 500 SPG points - your choice. We also purchased the breakfast plan which worked out great for us. The hotel breakfast was YUCK!! The food was cold and not flavourful at all. When given the bill, the server proceeded to tell me that the hotel only gave her a 1 cent tip. I had planned on leaving her a tip but, to be reminded of that made me feel uncomfortable. We were also given a second option for breakfast at the Sunset Grill. That breakfast was incredible and well worth the walk! We would definitely stay at the Westin again. All staff was friendly and very knowledgable. Thanks for an amazing visit.

Room Tip: One bedroom is not really worth the extra money unless you want the extra space.
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the go green program where you can decline housekeeping for free rewards.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushroom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
1.0 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Property: Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing