We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You decide, minor nitpicking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You decide, minor nitpicking”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival the checkin took a bit of time due to the lineup. Once in the underground parking(xtra 15$) some parking spots were used for renovation materials, on an already busy weekend probably not the best spot to leave these in, also the young guy smoking in the underground wasn't appealing to us non smokers. The last negative was requesting a late check out, which I know hotels are not obliged to provide, however when the hotel advertises "extended weekends with late checkouts"... Please stick with it, it's the little things that matter. I was told how busy the weekend is and I understand, but I believe in taking care of your current guests who already signed on the line rather than using your coming guests as an excuse.

With the above set aside it was an excellent location, clean room and lobby, friendly staff. The heated pool and hot tub are perfect for the winter season. The restaurant in the lobby area is very convenient. Everything in the room was well kept and in good working order. We will plan on using this hotel again, while keeping in mind the late checkout may not apply in all circumstances! By the way, white tea aloe is amazing!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your post, I'm pleased to advise you our renovations are now complete! All the guest rooms and public space are now completely refreshed. So the garage is no longer being used for renovation storage. This is not minor nitpicking, I completely agree with your comments in regards to the garage, unfortuantely with no alternative space, the underground parking garage defaulted to be our temporary storage area as we transitioned between the old furniture and fixtures and the new furniture and fixtures.
I also want to apologize, I am very sorry that business levels did not allow for a late check out, I can imagine this was disappointing and personally inconvenient. In a drive resort location we understand guests want to spend the whole day of check out experiencing the resort, however on certain dates, we have an equal amount of guest's arriving to the resort to experience the resort. We do our best to try and balance out the in's and out with an effort to not disappoint any of our guests. Unfortunately in some circumstances we are not always able guarantee check out times past our 11am check out. I hope there is an opportunity for you to visit the resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    384
    133
    54
    38
See reviews for
498
412
12
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Westin Trillium. The room was clean and wonderful! The bed was absolutely comfortable and clean. There was a gas fireplace that warmed the room up wonderfully. We were in room 357 with a view of the ski slope. The group we were with went on a horse drawn ride around the village. Though it was cold on the Saturday, we were not too bad off as the wagon was covered. The village of Blue Mountain is a winter wonderland and a skiers best dream. We didn`t get a chance to ski, but would have if we had had more time. I highly recommend the Westin for your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your postive review! We hope you get up again to enjoy the skiing, the brand new Orchard area just opened today and the snow is fantastic; we are very excited for everyone to get up and enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the 4th floor for 3 days. It was very spacious and we had a great view of the pool area.
The hotel was fully equipped with all the necessary amenities.
Very clean, and the beds were comfortable.
Staff were very nice and helpful.
There's a jacuzzi, pool and sauna.
The jacuzzi outside was nice however it can easily get crowded - even in October.
Location is right in Blue Mountain area, however you have to do a slight loop to walk around the hotel itself and past the parking lot area to get to the village.
There's lot to do around the area. All year round.
We had a enjoyable stay. Very comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the village area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Excellent hotel! We felt as though we were at whistler. The two bedroom suite was perfect, clean and spacious. Nothing is nicer then traveling for 7+ hours in a car to walk into the lobby and have friendly hotel staff to greet us. The staff are just as impeccable as the hotel itself. We're looking forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: if you have a larger group of friends/family the two bedroom suite is worth it and bring comfy shoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelpfulHenry125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, I will ensure your postive comments about our associates and the warm welcome they provide is shared. They take great pride in trying to give personal welcomes to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom suite with fireplace and kitchen. I've stayed in many Weston's and this was by far the nicest.

The decor was modern and the rooms were spacious. My only complain (having stayed at many ski lodges) is there was no place for your wet gear. A plastic mat would have done the job.

We brought prepared meals and ate in the room but enjoyed room service and the hotel restraunt emensley.

We took advantage of the shuttle a few times but it was. A quick walk to the lifts (the lifts in front of the hotel never ran during our stay).

The hot tub & pool were outside and in -10 they felt a bit chilly (not like panarama or banff hot springs). Great view of the hill and close to the village.

We have enough reward points for a week so we will return and see how the gold suits are.

We dress a little out of the business norm and like the other Starwood hotels the front desk staff are rather cold.. We are president members and now moving to platinum.. It is rather frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kindkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smann, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
So pleased to hear that you will be returning for another week! Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw. When you do make your reservation for this winter, please reach out to us and let us know the dates you plan to return, this will enable us to ensure you receive a similar suite as your last stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Three ladies celebrating together 20 years since we graduated from Western, King's and Guelph respectively. Upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite and had a bag of goodies complimentary from management delivered to our room. Allowed us early check-in and late departure. What a treat! Will all return with our families in tow soon! Thanks to the management team for such amazing treatment!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BearsandIrishfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smann, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for selecting The Westin Trillium House for your gathering, we are honoured to have been the chosen location for your 20 year gathering. Sounds like you had a wonderful time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I were impressed with the look and feel as soon as we arrived, but disappointed by the huge check-in line. The line span across the front doors, so it was very awkward as people were trying to get in and out.
We found service overall to be very forthcoming and friendly but completely innacurate. The first exampel of this was with our check-in. Our room was on the first floor and we were told we've have nice patio to enjoy. The room didn't have a patio, but the room next to ours did so maybe it was the view of someone else's patio that we were suppose to enjoy...?
We don't have a dog, but thought it was neat that the property was pet friendly. Unfortunately the couch in our room as well as some areas of the carpet were littered with dog hair. That really threw us since everything seemed really nice and well taken care of.
Aside from the dog hair, the room was a great size and had great features. We brought bottled water for the fridge, but had to first throw out food that someone had left behind - a long time ago it seemed, so attention to detail with room turnover was really lacking.
We inquired at the front desk about some of the activities listed on the website, but she referreed us to the activity center which is a bit of a trek. Not knowing what to bring, time or how long activities were, we had to go to the activity center, come back to room to prepare, then head back to the base of the mountain for various things.
The gondola ride up to the top was priceless! The line was long, but it moved and the journey was nice. We chose to hike down and that was a real treat do, almost felt at times like we were stranded in the wilderness, but the trails are well defined and marked. Eventually you see somene so you know you are not alone. It was perfect!
We also wanted to head to a Georgian Bay beach. The activity center told us there was a shuttle we could catch that left on the hour. It was 20 minutes before the hour, so we hustled back to our room to get our suits and catch the shuttle. Upon getting back to the hotel, someone at the concierge desk said we had lots of time, the shuttle would come at quarter past the hour...? Strange, but we hustled to be safe and be outside early. After getting our stuff, we asked (a new guy) at the Concierge desk where the beach shuttle would pick us up. He told us to wait out front on the bench. Moments before the hour, we saw the beach shuttle drive by and not even stop. We went in to ask (yup, another new guy at the Concierge desk) and he said we were waiting in the wrong spot. Now frustrated, I said we would go back out in an hour. The gentleman said "Why don't you just drive?" and I took huge offence to this as this was my vacation and part of why we were at the Westin was for the service and activities PROVIDED.
We had dinner at Oliver and Bonacini in the hotel and it was fabulous! Breakfast options are few and far between. Very expensive onsite.
Overall it was a great destination, a few too many kids for a couples weekend away, but it was still very nice with lots to see and do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CH1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy M, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a thorough and thoughtful review. I am pleased you were able to experience some of the great highlights of the resort and our area. I appreciate you recognizing the friendly and forthcoming service our associates take pride in providing. I also thank you for your feedback provided on some of your experiences, we will use this feedback for coaching opportunities with our associates and improving processes. In fact, we anticipate our new line stantions will be up by the middle of December, which should prevent the line from crossing the entrance and improve the check in process. Additionally, I want to apologize for what, in some instances, seemed like a bit of a run around. At check in our associate failed to notice that you were in the only room on the first floor that did not have a patio and with this oversight we set an expectation that we failed to deliver upon. Also the inconsistency in the messaging in regards to the shuttle should not have occured and we are in the process of reorganizing our Conceirge desk to improve our guest experience. I do hope that you will find a future opportunity to visit us and experience these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
354 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
305 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Property: Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing