We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay ruined by valet parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Loved the westin! Hate their 20$ valet parking. While I can appreciate that it isnt unheard of to charge 20$ for valet parking I thought the westin would show more class than that. Include it in the price if you must westin, but honestly- it just leaves me feeling nickel and dimed. Even self park was 15$.... what a joke. I left for 30 minutes to go into Collingwood... that cost me ANOTHER 20$ to re-valet the car. Total: $ 40 spent on parking a car... ugh. Room was great; we had a one bedroom suite it ha lots of room and a fabulous balcony. Service was super friendly. It's really important to read the resort guide in the rooms..Pretty much anything you could possibly forget and needs is available free of charge by asking (band-aids, tooth brush.....) we had a great time and I would certainly stay there again....only I won't- because of their valet nickel and diming.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234abcdxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear mrkj0090,

Although I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time spent here at Blue Mountain and the Westin Trillium House I am a bit perplexed by your review of our parking service. We are however grateful for the feedback as it offers us the opportunity to remind our Tripadvisor readers about what to expect when they visit.

Parking is a service that we provide for a charge due to the fact that we have built, maintain and operate a rather extensive underground, climate controlled parking garage with secure direct access to the Hotel. We also offer a complimentary self park option at the various gravel surface lots located around the resort if guest so choose to use them (not the most convenient in the rain, snow or mud). We charge a flat self park rate of $15 per day (not per entry) for self parking in our underground facility and a nominal $5 surcharge for our valet attendants to park your car if you wish. These are flat fees not per entry fees and you can come and go (or have your car retrieved & parked) as often as you wish. My first question to anyone asking about our parking fees is to ask them to try and remember where they were last able to park in such a facility for free? My last visit to a Toronto Hotel cost me $43 per day for parking in addition to the room charge :-).

Thank you once again for reaching out and providing your perspective on the Trillium House. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and if you do choose to visit again we will hold a spot for you in our surface lot next door.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel in Blue Mountain. We were upgraded to a room with separate living area and kitchenette. My partner really appreciated being able to hire a New Balance gym kit for a nominal amount.
Only downside - you really need a car!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Great-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Great George,

It is always a pleasure to host overseas visitors and we are very pleased that you came away with a great impression of the resort and the Trillium House. Our Westin Gear Lending Program has become quite popular with our guests and is available at every Westin Hotel Worldwide. I would have to agree that if you wish to experience what our region has to offer a car would be most convenient. We have some very inviting communities, destinations and events all within a very short drive from the resort that are not to be missed when you make the trek to Georgian Bay. Thank you once again for reaching out and we do hope to see you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was Good, not Great.

I stayed there last week as part of a convention. The room I was assigned to was on the 4th floor (the hotel is mid-rise and the highest floor is 5th). The room itself was very small but they managed to fit in a queen-sized bed, a sofa bed and even a fridge and microwave. Optimum use of space but while it is billed as being large enough for 4 guests, you'd feel a little squeezed.

As with other Westins, the bed was very comfortable - what is it they call it? Heavenly? - but the duvet had what appeared to be ketchup or chilli sause stain. Strike One.

The next morning, I saw the Globe & Mail in front of many of the rooms but not mine. Instead, there is a pile by the elevator which are for the "other" guests to help themselves. If they are delivering the newspaper to what appears to be over 70% of the rooms, what is the additional effort to deliver to all occupied rooms? Strike Two.

The amenities in the bathroom are somewhat lacking. While there were two bathrobes, two soaps, shampoo and conditioner, body lotion and mouthwash, there was no sewing kit, no shoe polish cloth and no Q-tips/cotton buds/emory boards. Strike Three.

Perhaps my expectations are too high, but a Westin "Resort" ought to live up to its name. This one came up just a bit short. All in all - Good but by no means, Great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank udomeidouwedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear udomeidouwedo,

Thank you for taking the time to post such an honest commentary regarding your recent conference visit to the Westin Trillium House. We are grateful for the feedback and pleased that overall you did seem to enjoy your time with us. The concerns that you have mentioned are valid and we are always pleased to receive this kind of feedback especially when it relates to our housekeeping service.

With respect to the delivery of newspapers I can certainly understand your frustration and if in the the same position I might have had the same perception. One of the perks of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program (SPG) is the complimentary delivery of newspapers each morning. We make those same papers available for all guests at convenient locations throughout the hotel. Considering the fact that between 60 & 65 per cent of our guests are in fact SPG members that means that quite a few are delivered each morning. If you would like please feel free to contact me personally and I would be more than pleased to register you as an SPG member so that you may enjoy the same perks and benefits as our frequent travelers.

As for the "missing" amenities in your suite here too I can see your perspective. All of those items are in fact available on request from our Service Express Department. Several years ago the Westin Brand initiated a program known as "Clutter to Calm" that involved removing all extraneous and infrequently used amenity items from the suite. The program was designed to clean up the appearance of the suites and quite frankly reduce costs (those types of amenities are more often damaged by guests than actually used by them). We indicate in our guest room compendium (directory) an extensive list of personal items that are available 24 hours a day and that our associates are pleased to deliver to your suite.

Thank you once again for reaching out and I do hope that the information I have provided may have improved your impression of the Trillium House just a bit. Here is hoping that our Good will change to Great on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As recent newcomers to the world of dog ownership, we have come to realize that finding a dog friendly hotel isn't always easy. THEN, try to find a nice dog friendly hotel!

The Westin at Blue lives up to the high expectations - everything from the lobby to the room is beautiful. Very classy and modern style, but not "cold" or "snobby". We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and really appreciated the genuine friendliness of all the staff we interacted with.

A bit of a mixup with room service (as much our fault as anyones) was graciously resolved - we were very satisfied with the level of service we experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Chris H,

It is because of guests like you that we are pleased to offer our Westin Heavenly Pet Program - after all they are a part of the family too! Thank you for taking the time to post and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything so perfect,feel like home away frm home.got one of the best room nd they allow us to check in at 2pm as we earlier requested that.gud food gud pool nd best resort at blue mountain.oh heavenly beds,u don't feel like leaving them.bathrooms r big nd clean..kitchenette was well stocked with all utensils..most of all best view nd best place to stay in bluemountains..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Ishgur,

You have described exactly how a Westin visit shoud feel so thank you for taking the time to post. We are exceptionally pleased that we were able to impress and do hope to see you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here on a trip around Canada, wish all the hotel were like this, the staff so friendly and helpful, our upgraded room so comfortable, the meal we had really good staff very attentive, the restaurant we very busy. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Viv E,

Thank you so very much for making us part of your extended travels across Canada. We are happy to have played a part and very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Westin at the one bedroom suite (we initially booked a regular room, but were very happily surprised that we were upgraded to the suite, as we were celebrating a special occasion). The suite was spacious, beautifully appointed and with a well stocked kitchenette. We'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a papered stay. Oh, and the bed is so heavenly - you won't want to leave!

The only dent in this perfect getaway was the breakfast. When I booked the breakfast package I thought it would include a voucher to the Oliver & Bonacini Cafe, which is located in the Westin. But I was wrong. I was highly disappointed to find out that in fact we got a voucher to the Sunset Grill, located at the village. The food there was greasy, loaded with sugar and fat, and tasteless, very much not in keeping with what Westin stands for.

So my recommendation - do NOT pay extra for the breakfast package, it's not worth it.
Just pay for the room, and go have breakfast at the O&B cafe. That's what we ended up doing, and we enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank super-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear super-explorer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your recent stay experience here at the Trillium House. We are pleased that for the most part you enjoyed your time with us however dissapointed that your breakfast experience did not measure up to your expectations. We have passed along your commentary to our partner for review though I can say that for the most part this program has been well received. Just a reminder for those guests who would prefer to dine in our Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill for breakfast, that the vouchers provided with our packages can be exchanged for credit toward your bill. Thank you once again for commenting and we do hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $156 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing