We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 1, 2008

March 29, 2008
The Westin is definitely a family hotel. We have no kids. Pool, hot-tub, sauna and the work-out facility were basically playgrounds tor the poor kids who's parents drop them off. We couldn't use any of the facilities until after 5 (dinner time) and the hot tub until after 10pm. It was disappointing that a hotel of this size wouldn't have facilities just for the children.
The rooms were lovely, although disappointing that only the upgraded rooms had king beds. The restaurant was fine, service was slow.
Blue Mountain is Ontario's little taste of Whistler BC. The hills are a good size, although extremely poorly marked (which is quite disconcerting for a intermediate skier).

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank et-toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2008

Took our 3 kids (5yo, 4yo, and 20month) to Blue Mountain for a 4-day weekend. We rented a 2-bed/ 2-bath suite that overlooked the hills (not much of a view). The suite had a large living area, typical kitchen, good size bathrooms and tiny bedrooms. The area is very nice and not too overpriced.

We took the kids swimming outside every night. Their outside pool is awesome and warm (even warmer than Plunge the water park which wasn't as nice as the Westin). Everyone had a great time, even with klunky skiis and boots.

Will go next year and definitely stay at the Westin again. We have stayed at other accomodations at Blue Mountain and found the Westin has it all - best for room size for new facility, swimming pool, hot tub, and customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HoangCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Stayed in a Suite with family that included our son's girlfriend. Had a wonderful 3 night stay and wished we could have stayed longer. Suite condition was excellent. Only minor complaint was wait for room at checkin. Room rate was discounted due to summer package. Food expensive, but ate at nice places in village and downtown. Would go back.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank screwballgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We booked the Westin as part of a ski weekend package as advertised on Travelzoo, which I would be very hesitant to do again. We had a few problems with the package and there seems to be a disconnect the Westin hotel and Blue Mountain itself.

We arrived around 4:00pm on a Sunday and check in was pretty painless. Our ski package included a one night stay and a day/night ski pass. I was under the impression that we would be able to use the night pass for Sunday night and the day pass for the following day. Not so, We were told by that the day/night pass was for the entire day Monday and if we wanted to ski that night, we would have to purchase a 'day of arrival' pass, which we did begrudgingly because I had thought it was already included in our package.

And then there was even further confusion when we tried to redeem our "day of arrival" pass at the ticket counter. The ticket lady sent us back to the Westin; the Westin sent us back to the ticket counter and back and forth until we finally went into customer service at the ticket booth and had no problems redeeming the voucher. This ate up about 45 minutes of our time walking between the two locations.

We were offered free indoor parking since it was my birthday weekend. But no upgrade on the room. We received a room with a queen bed and a kitchenette that included a microwave, bar fridge, kettle, toaster, plates and cutlery. It was enough for us to make dinner and then breakfast the following morning.

The room was large enough for three people. Bed was comfortable but a little too soft for me. Furniture and decor was tasteful. We have never stayed in a Westin hotel before.

Our favourite part of the stay was using the Westin's heated outdoor pool and hot tub. That to me was really the highlight! Pool area was very clean and deserted (possibly because it was a week night).

Also, the hotel charges for Internet but I noticed they did have a business center with a computer and Internet. I had emailed them about this in advance but no one responded to my question.

Skiing on the Monday was bit difficult as the conditions were icy and after a half hour we decided to ask for a raincheck (Blue Mountain offers rainchecks within 45 minutes of getting the pass if you are not satisfied with the conditions). Again, we did the dance between ticket counter and Westin again. Ticket counter sent us to the Westin, Westin sent us to the ticket counter. Finally, the manager at the Westin was able to give us a small refund of the ski passes from the package price (but if we had purchased the passes directly from Blue Mountain, we would have been given 2 rainchecks for another day). Instead we received the price of 1 pass as a refund.

The hotel itself is great...service at the front counter can be slow at times but we wouldn't hestiate to stay at the hotel again. The hotel is quite pricey but we were lured in by the ski package. I would be very wary of purchasing a hotel stay and ski package through the Westin again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

For our anniversary, my husband and I wanted to get away and but not too far away and so we booked a room for only a night in Collingwood at the Westin Blue Mountain. We live in Toronto and had never been up to Collingwood, and we had the most amazing time!

We arrived early on the first day and went off to the Scenic Caves only a couple of miles from the hotel. Our experience there was really nice. It was really full of activity, I wouldn't bring little children, there were many who just couldn't make the trek... and some elderly who found it too much work! As young people, in our early 20s, it was a great way to spend a day.

Then, we checked into our hotel and cleaned up for dinner.

Our room was beautiful. It was the basic room, but was pure Westin in style that never disappoints. The colours were clean and crisp with a fireplace and a king sized bed, and a jetted tub. For dinner, we dined on site at Oliver and Bonacini. Aside from the vegetarian sitting at the table next to us who loudly expressed his disgust with my husband's steak, it was a wonderful meal. With one appetiser, two entrees and a bottle of wine, our bill totaled at about $180 CAD. Even though I had the gourmet macaroni and cheese. The food was world class!

After dinner, we headed out to the "village" at Blue Mountain. The stores were delightful and the bars were great as well. The view was breathtaking and romantic. Since it was early fall, we got some great deals on winter gear at the sporting stores. We almost got talked into purchasing a vacation timeshare. It is truly unexpected for this area of Ontario...

We did find out that parking in the "village" is about a five minute walk away and is free, contrary to the parking at the hotel which was $15 CAD per night. However, after a little discussion, we were happier parking on site and not having to drag our luggage through the village.

My biggest happiness at this hotel was found with the outdoor, heated pool and outdoor heated hot tub. They were both very large in size and during the day it was hard to believe we were still in Ontario. With the warm sun, it felt as though we were on vacation in Florida.

Needless to say, we wished we had booked more than one night at this resort. We will absolutely return and spend even more time here, especially after finding such a hidden gem such a close distance from home.

This is an excellent resort if you have a car, but be warned that it is some distance from any other "non-resort" stores, fast food joints, restaurants, or the like. However, if you are looking to get away and dine on top quality food for your entire trip, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We arrived late on Christmas day, having flown directly from the UK and driving the 2 hours from Toronto airport. This hotel could not do enough for us. Within 5 minutes of us checking in we had all our luggage in the amazing 2 bedroom suite (8 cases for 2 families), the pullout bed made up and numerous towels and bathrobes. All the staff were extremely courteous and nothing seemed a problem.

The restaurant was super, we ate there twice during our 4 night stay. (Did try Centro in the town centre but it was absolutely dreadful, they have not go their act together. ) The waiting staff in the hotel are all trained to a very high standard and extremely friendly.

A couple of good thing to do apart from the skiing. Go to activity centre in the village and arrange a scenic drive on a hummer with Mark, or try snowbmobiling with Sean, great fun.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank Alison297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for 4 nights over Christmas and had a wonderful time. Our room was beautiful, with lovely decor and a great view of the village, lagoon and mountain. We booked a deluxe room which came with a bar fridge and microwave - handy for snacks. The bath was a highlight - nice and deep for soaking. We ate at the hotel restaurant (Oliver and Bocinni) on Christmas day and had great service and excellent food. We had no issues with service at all, but would agree with other reviews that the receptionists are evasive about parking. We asked about alternatives to valet parking and were told we could park ourselves but they neglected to mention the parking price ($17/day). As for the area, we are beginners to skiing, so we found the mountain as a ski destination perfect for our skill level. We got a package including equipment hire, beginner lift tickets and group instruction for $60 each/day. The instructor we had - Kurt - was excellent, and we advanced further than we imagined we would in a short time. The only down side to skiing here was that the beginner lifts got very busy in the afternoons ! It was up to a 10 minute wait sometimes to get on.
The village itself is very picturesque and has a wide variety of restaurants to choose from.
We loved our stay at the hotel and are already planning our return.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelh0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
389 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 17 in Blue Mountains
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $182 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing