We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday to me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Trillium House in Blue Mountain during the August long weekend. I celebrated a milestone birthday and decided to stay at the Westin Trillium after hearing about this hotel from a family member who gave it rave reviews. Check in was a breeze and the grounds/village/amenities of this hotel are spectacular. As it was the Civic long weekend, the village was crowded but we enjoyed sitting at the local restaurants / bars in the village and having either a refreshment or coffee and relaxing and people watching. When we checked in, we were asked if there was a special occasion that we were celebrating and I advised the hotel employee that it was my birthday and she was very happy that we had decided to book our getaway at the Westin Trillium and thanked us for joining them on this milestone celebration. A few hours later, as we were in our room getting ready for dinner, there was a knock on the door and I was delivered a beautiful birthday card, signed by all the front line staff, along with a box of chocolates. I was impressed to see that someone actually took the time to listen and acknowledge my special day. (aside from my family of course) But hats off to all of the Westin Trillium employees. We loved our stay and we will be sure to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bramgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the westin trillium for 2 nights and had a really nice time. The hotel was so nice, the village is just chocolate box. The rooms and all public areas are very clean and tidy. Would defiantly recommend this hotel. There is free wifi in the lobby area and all the staff are really friendly.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Kirsty4464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Westin Trillium for 2 nights. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. There seemed to be plenty of visitors at the hotel but it wasn't noisy or seem to be overcrowded except at the pool. The hotel is close to all amenities in Blue Mountain village. There were many families staying at the hotel and it seems to be a good place to bring children of all ages. There is lots to do in the village and if you don't mind driving there are lots of charming places on the shores of Notawasaga Bay. Collingwood is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a balcony. The weather when we were there was hot so it would have been nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My stay at the westin trillium was good but it was way too expensive. The pool we went to said it is 15$ a day per person to swim.. And that it is a public pool not hotel pool. We were told there is no pool at the westin, after calling the booking agency i was told i was lied too and there is a free pool. Everything there costs money and is very expensive. Be prepared to spend spend spend!
Overall good hotel..
TIPS:
Use gravol parkinglot beside hotel its free
Make sure they dont charge you, they automatically assume you parked there and charge you.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devanjames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Devanjames1,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to the Westin Trillium House and the Blue Mountain Village. I think that I am safe to assume that overall you seem to have enjoyed your visit. You most certainly have our apologies if you have been misled in anyway regarding our facilities.

I have to be honest and say that your experience has somewhat stupified our team here at the hotel. I understand that your reservation was made through an on-line booking agency however that site lists our outdoor pool in its description. We also list descriptions of our outdoor pool and hot tub facility on our Westin website, in our guest room directories and on signage in our hallways and lobby. We are perplexed as to who on our staff would ever inform you that the hotel does not have a pool (in fact many of our past reviews on Tripadvisor speak of our pool and hot tubs). Our team of associates recall receiving a phone call from your booking agency enquiring as to whether we have a pool however they did not indicate whom they were calling on behalf of. Otherwise we clearly would have assisted and pointed you in the right direction. I can only assume that you occupied a mountain view suite as our pool occupies a rather large area in front of the property facing the Blue Mountain Village and the Millpond - definately hard to miss from that side of the building. You are corect in that the Plunge! Aquatic Centre is located in an area connected to our building however it is a private facility open to the general public and therefore charges for access. Our pool and hot tubs are free for guests and open from 7am until 11pm 365 days of the year (yes in the winter too!!).

With respect to the relative cost of our facility I would refer you to other posts where I have responded with explanations and our positioning on price. We do tend to focus on value rather than cost and everyone values services and amenities somewhat differently.

Thank you once agin for posting on-line for the benefit of our facebook readers and we do hope to see you back at the Trillium House.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain
jhenry@westinbluemountain.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Not for Summer! Our room would get no cooler than 78F at night. The air conditioning vent is only 8in by 12in and located next to the window near the drapes. The small crowded pool had water at 99F. The pool was so crowded that there were hairs floating on the water. No balcony for the room, only a sliding door and rail, with no screen to keep out bugs.

That said, the hotel was very clean, had good service, and plenty of activities. The resort had the appearance of a shopping outlet mall though. Not what we were looking for, and would not recommend. If you are there, get out of the developed area, and take the mountain ridge road to Eugenia and Hoggs Falls. Beautiful country drive with views, and a nice general store in Kimberly.

Room Tip: Many rooms do NOT have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a nice hotel IF you ignore the price. We were charged over $300 for a one bedroom room (and this is one of the cheapest rooms in the hotel). The room is nice and clean, however, the bedroom is so tiny that the door of the only closet opens only halfway because of the dresser. The bed is extremely uncomfortable - the mattress is way pass its lifetime. The A/C is very noisy - probably time to replace it as well.

The $300 per night is obviously not enough for them - expect to pay an extra $15 per day for parking, $11 for Internet and $100+ for the breakfast. The breakfast is $21 per person (plus tax and tip) for the buffet which includes some eggs, sausage, ham, fruit salad, couple of cookies and coffee. No cheese, fruits etc.

The bottom line: an average ~4 stars hotel that charges 5 star deluxe price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear kkla1,

Thank you for providing commentary on your recent visit to the Westin Trillium House and the Blue Mounatin Village. I am very pleased that save for the price of your accommodation and the breakfast buffet at Oliver & Bonacini that we were for the most part able to meet your expectations.

As you are very well aware, choosing your accommodation and activities while on vacation is not only time consuming, often times confusing, but also somewhat difficult owing to the multitude of value options that need to be considered. Each traveller's needs are different and as such they will value the product and services that they receive for a given price differently, especially as they compare what they have purchased to what they have known from their past experiences. Here at the Trillium House we are quite confident that the pricing we have determined for our suites and four diamond service level is very competitive in the Ontario resort market and our destination provides exceptional value for the price paid for accommodation. Remember that our accommodation levels vary from standard size Deluxe Guest Rooms up to 1,500 sq ft three bedroom suites with a very large range of moderately priced suites in between. If we did not provide this value to our guests we would be hard pressed to achieve the occupancy levels, guests accolades, and return business that we consistently see each year.

These same principles hold true for the food and beverage providors here in the Blue Mountain Village. Remember that Oliver and Bonacini is but one restaurant of twelve that service the needs of resort guests and one of three (not including Starbuck's) that serve breakfast. The average price point at each of these restaurants does vary from a low of $10-12 per person to a high of $20-24 depending on what is ordered. The variance in prices can also be tied to the level of service and product quality offered. Table side breakfast service at an Oliver and Bonacini Cafe Grill is going to be significantly different from the experience at a diner style breakfast restaurant and each operator is well aware of who their patrons are and are proud of what they deliver to them.

With respect to charges for services such as Wireless Internet Access and Parking here too our guests may perceive value differently. In essence you get what you pay for in that free WiFi in general can be equated with low bandwidth, slow download speeds and high congestion while on line. Likewise free parking here at Blue Mountain (yes there is that option) means parking in a gravel lot 400 metres from the hotel and lugging luggage along a sidewalk regardless of the weather. Value in the relavent charges for these services is derived from the safety and convenience that are provided - those being high bandwidth and underground secure parking. We do not include these charges in our room rates simply because other resorts do not and to do so would put us at an unrealistic dissadvantage when comparing prices. In addition not every guest requires these services and hence inclusion in their rate would also be inapropriate. We do however offer choice to our guests and given the fact that nealry 70% of our guests are Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Members they have the option of exchanging accumulated points for any of the services that we provide (including the cost of their accommodation).

At the end of the day we understand your concerns regarding price sensitivity but we disagree that our product and service offering does not warrant the prices that we charge. Remember as well that price is also determined by supply and demand and Summer Rates are going to be significantly higher than say those we offer in the Spring and Fall. If you truly enjoyed your visit we would love to see you back when our prices are more in line with your value expectations. We have passed along your concerns regarding the mattress in your suite to our Housekeeping Department for inspection (we do keep spares for just this very reason and we are aware from other correspondance which room you stayed in) and the same to our maintenance team to inspect the Air Conditioning unit Thank you once agin for reaching out to our Tripadvisor readers and we do hope to see you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain
jhenry@westinbluemountain.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very good hotel, has its own pool, gym, sauna, plus you can go (extra pay) to aqua centre (shared with the other hotels) right from the hotel. The room was very nice, fully equiped with microwave, kettle, toaster, dinnerware, coffeemaker with STARBUCKS COFFE!!! etc...
Take a room with a patio overlooking at the pond. My first coffe outside in the morning was amazing :-)
If you preffer your room not to get cleaned daily, you'll receive a $5 voucher for every day usefull at restaurant.
Parking: underground - $15 per day, outside the hotel (in less then 1 min. walking) - free.
Oliver and Bonacini restaurant was very good. We ate better and paid less that eating at the village a day before. Server Shane was amaizing.
Don't take the room with a french balcony; it just large sliding window.
Private beach - nice and clean, the lake is a swamp, we didn't go in and went back to the hotels pool.
No free wi-fi internet :-(
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Take a room with a patio overlooking at the pond. My first coffe outside in the morning was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $156 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing