We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of the Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just spent a night at The Grand Georgian. Thought it was good value for the convenience of location, view of the hill, access to the hill and amenities. We booked through Expedia and got a suite for $150.00.
We had our pick of restaurants in the eveing but the best part was simply walking out to the hill in the morning without the hasle of packing up and driving somewhere.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking through expedia for a better deal. We were on the 4th floor and had great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWATTWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear SWATTWorld,

You make a perfect point, the convenience is such a luxury and the bonus of a Village stocked with so many options for dining and shopping when you’ve had enough of the slopes, a great way to unwind and relax by strolling through the Village square.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with fellow Trip Advisor readers.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 327 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Two room suite was lovely, but over a noisy corner store in the village. The hotel obviously knew this was a concern as there were two packs of ear plugs on the bed side table upon our arrival. I have no complaints about the actual unit. Clean, spacious and fresh with comfy beds.
The pool in the hotel is tiny and not at all impressive. Tons of great activities around you but you have to pay for everything. The ropes courses are great, mountain roller coaster is a blast, minigolf was fun but it all cost a small fortune.
Good selection of restaurants in the village but they are all over priced. We ate at a Greek restaurant, two adults and one child with one alcoholic beverage, one appetizer, three main courses of chicken souvlaki and it was over $125. It was the same at the Italian restaurant the next night, we all had pasta dishes, a glass of wine each and shared a salad and the bill was close to $150.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from the corners of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear vacationgirl5,

We are sorry to hear that the noise generated by one of the commercial tenants was bothersome to you, contrary to a post just prior to yours where a guest was located above one of the pubs and didn’t find it bad at all. We put the ear plugs in the rooms for this reason, those that find Village noise irritating can diffuse the effects by making use of the plugs but more often than not we find they are not used. Good to hear you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the amenities as well.

We have made a substantial investment in activities in recent years and therefore we do levy fees to both our overnight and day guests. Sorry you found our fees to be unreasonable, however we are not to be compared to an amusement park that attracts thousands of guests daily with one purpose in mind.

The Greek restaurant “Tholos” generally gets fantastic feedback, we are sorry it didn’t rate as high with you as that of the Italian restaurant, “Magnones” which also gets very positive feedback. There is so much dining variety, we’re glad you got to try a couple on this occasion and hope you will be back and try some of the other options.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my extended family went to ski and ended up staying a night at this hotel..
it was pricey but WORTH it!! I loved the whole village lit up at night.. there were really nice restaurants all around the area too!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIMOTHY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear amber c,

Nice, nothing like a spontaneous overnight, the Village is really pretty at night with all the lighting. We’re really pleased to read your comments and are so happy that you got to enjoy not only the ski hill but the lodging and Village dining and excitement, it’s hard to fit everything in when you are only here for the day, making an overnight just perfect.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

AP/hb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family visit different ski resort every winter but this is the only place that has a warning in the ski racks- "theft is a concern". I should take it seriously, because my son's snowboard was stolen. I have to pay $570.00. Looks like this is a rampant problem in that area because I spoke to somebody who told me that there were several snowboards being stolen every year. I'm not coming back...bad experience. I feel safer in US ski resort.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Elisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Elisa F,

Thank you for your comments, what an unfortunate incident, we are sorry this was your experience but assure you this is not something that is limited to this area by any means. If you think about it, most of our clients come from out of town, not from the immediate area. How sad that the actions of a handful of individuals is labeled as representing that of the whole population. Crime is all around us, whether you are visiting a small town or big city centre, we regret that you feel this type of activity is isolated to our resort. We post signs to lock up equipment for the benefit of all who use the resort and to avoid losses such as yours. Sadly our efforts in prevention were unsuccessful in your instance.

We do hope this instance will not deter you from future use of our facilities but certainly respect your decision to visit our neighbors for skiing in the future.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I attended a company convention at Blue Mountain and was very impressed by all aspects. For those UK readers it's hard to explain as we don't seem to have anything similar - I guess folk go for the skiing but looking at the mountains it probably takes more time to get up them than get down, but for an indulgent pampering experience I'd imagine it's hard to beat. The room was modern, comfortable and well stocked - kitchenette, lounge, modern and well constructed bathroom and modern appliances. The conference facilities were excellent with the standard of buffet food and service exemplary. There are many great bars ,shops and restaurants on-site offering steaks, oriental, fusion, greek and a really cool cocktail bar. There's a good Irish style pub with live music. I would say it's a bit on the high side price wide but then the Canadian dollar is pretty strong these days so that was just me. The area itself is rugged and great for walks and outdoor pursuits. I would say it's my best conference in Canada ever and I've been going for over a decade. Thanks to all the staff - great ambassadors

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear SurreyFamilyof5,

This is so nice of you, thank you for your kind and flattering remarks. We are the tallest ski hill in this area and accessible to several city centres, just a 2 hour drive in most cases. The Village rooms are great, offering comfort and functionality, we’re glad you found the room satisfactory. We are proud of our conference facilities and really proud of our Food and Beverage team for the quality they serve up every time and thank you for recognizing this aspect of your stay.

The Village does offer a really neat variety of dining and entertainment options, so convenient too. This quaint little Village is nestled in a really beautiful part of the country, no matter what season, there is plenty to do and the scenery is breathtaking.

Thanks again for such a nice acknowledgement of our resort and in particular our staff, we really appreciate your comments.

Best regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

AP/hb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends and was very disappointed. The location Is unbeatable being right beside the ski hills, however the size of the room was tiny. We were told it was a four person room with 2 beds and a full kitchen only to find a small double bed and a pull out couch with barely enough room to pull out. Plus a tiny kitchenette which did not include half of the items listed on the amenities sheet left by the hotel. We did not have enough towels for 4 people and ordered more but they never came. Meanwhile our friends staying in a chalet a long way down the road from the main building would receive additional sheets and towels within minutes of the request.

The number one worst part was that the last morning of our stay we realizes there was a blood stain on our bed sheets from previous guests! It was the nail in the coffin. This resort needs to pick up its service because for the price you pay, you would definitely expect more.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MStra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear MStra,

We are really sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and you have gone away disappointed with your experience. As you can see from many of the other reviews, our guests are typically quite pleased with their overall experience. It would appear that you selected a Studio Suite for your stay, being the smallest size suite we offer in the Village. The Studio Suites offer a queen bed and a double pullout couch, accommodating up to 4 guests.

We are disappointed to hear you did not receive the items you requested and did not have all of the items listed in your kitchen; this is not the service we want to deliver on and will most certainly address this matter internally to improve on our services.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

AP/hb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This Hotel in conveniently located in the heart of the Blue Mountain Village, however the price per night may make you think twice. I've stayed at luxury hotels before but for the price you pay here, the luxury is missing and all your paying for is the convenience and the location which is right at the bottom of the mountain. If you have no problem paying $300+ a night, then this is the spot for you, however, if you don't mind a 5 minute drive, there are other nicer hotels down the road for almost half the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markus-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Markus-Toronto,

We respect your comments and agree that it is personal preference as to lodging choices, everyone is looking for something different and it may not be found here. We are very nicely nestled at the base of the ski hill and accessible to a plethora of shops, dining and activities beyond skiing and snowboarding, once here you really don’t need to drive anywhere. The Town of Collingwood is only about a 10 minute drive from us and yes there are a number of lodging and dining options there as well.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

AP/hb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.3 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
389 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.8 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 17 in Blue Mountains
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort

Address: 156 Jozo Weider Blvd | The Village at Blue Mountain, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Georgian, in the middle of the Village at Blue, is fashioned after a historic railway hotel, with 189 suites ranging in size from studios to 3 bedroom. Every suite features high-speed wireless internet access, in-room movies, a DVD player, flat screen LCD TV. Guests also have exclusive access to secure underground parking, games room, 2 outdoor hot tubs (open year round), outdoor pool (summer only), fitness room and sauna. Bachelor, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites include a fireplace, fully furnished kitchen and a balcony or patio. Studio units (regular size hotel rooms) have a kitchenette (small fridge, small sink, microwave, toaster, kettle, dishes and cutlery). Larger units (1 bedroom or larger) have a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Grand Georgian Blue Mountain
Grand Georgian Collingwood
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing