We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Blue Mountain The Grand Georgian”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Blue Mountain The Grand Georgian”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a wonderful way to spend a long week-end at Blue Mountain - The Grand Georgian
So much to do, dine, wine, golf, swim, kayak, ridge rider, rock climb, walk on the beach,
play volleyball on the beach, walk, shop, listen to the bands, music so much fun.
Beautiful clean 1 bedroom and staff is amazing.

Linda

Room Tip: High floor looking over all the excitment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linfa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Linfa R,

We are so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed the resort, hotel and all the activities, it is really an all in one destination, literally park your car for the weekend and enjoy, so close to home too. We will be sure to pass on your kind remarks about our staff in recognition of their great service.

We will look forward to your return when you have the chance again.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Ltd.,



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    133
    49
    22
    20
See reviews for
132
80
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for one night in a one bedroom apt suite. Was outside doing stuff until late and got in to the hotel around - 10:30 at night. Got kid to sleep on pullout. Went into bedroom and lay down on the squeakiest bed ever. Every time you moved, the frame squeaked no matter what. Tried to fix it by moving the mattress. Frame was secured to the wall. Too late to call without having sleeping kid awakened. Toughed it out but for about 2 hours of sleep all night. Upon checkout, cited problem. Received a 10% discount on room, amounted to $34. Kind of disappointed given the price we had paid for it. Just seemed like a mediocre response to the situation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear travellerino,

We are very sorry to hear you had a squeaky bed; this is certainly not the quality of service we intend to offer. We would be happy to have one of our representatives from our home owner services department inspect the room and determine the best course of action to remedy this situation. If you were to provide the room number in a separate e-mail we could address the matter directly.

We were pleased to note that our staff member offered to amend for this irritation by extending a discount off of your lodging costs during your departure.


Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Ltd.,



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Georgian for our Wedding night (Aug 2012). Arrived late in the evening and was met by rude security inquiry what we were doing on the property. After checking into our room, I went to have a shower before bed and found hair in our tub. In the morning before checking out, we found a dirty shirt on the top of the old tv stand that is in the corner of the room.

We emailed the resort to express our disappointment in our stay and were invited to come back on a small discount to renew our faith in the resort. Sadly we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Stay at the Westin if you are going to be visiting the Village!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Sarah N,

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we regret that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay and are sorry to hear you will decline the offer to return with a discount.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day sales and marketing conference. The staff were excellent to deal with from the pre-conference meeting where we reviewed every day in detail to the regular drop ins to see how things were going. Twice we had a emergency (LCD not working) and the staff were there within 2 minutes. The food was very good and changed each day so no one was bored with the meal selections. We were able to have a dine around where we let staff choose one of the local restaurants and the hotel reduced our bill per person. I've been organizing and running conferences for over 14 years and this was definitely top 3.

Room Tip: The staff at Destination Blue were also very good to deal with and helped us organize activities for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGWEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear TGWEST

Thank you very much for this feedback, our conference team and every department involved in supporting the success of our group business will appreciate viewing your comments. We take pride in providing the best possible services to our groups as well as our independent travellers, it is really nice to know we ranked this well in your opinion and considering the experience you have in the industry.

Thanks again, we hope you will consider us again when planning another event.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Georgian for a weekend with 3 girlfriends in July 2012. We are all in our late 30's. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a two bedroom suite with a full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Nice balcony with chairs. The beds are very comfortable. You can use the pool/hot tub/suana with your stay. Check-in was very quick and everyone at the front desk was very nice & professional. They helped answer all of our questions, and also suggested places to eat. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JourneyHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality Services at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear JouneyHeels,

This is great, thank you for all the great feedback, sounds like a good time was had by all and even better, it sounds like you will be back for more. We are happy that the room and resort lent itself to your weekend plans and that our staff members contributed in a positive way to your overall enjoyment.

Kindest regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Ltd.,



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Blue Mountain last weekend with my family/friends and we had a blast. We stayed at the Grand Georgian in a two bedroom suite overlooking the village square. The room was very spacious with a full kitchen which we used to prepare breakfast and snacks. It was raining a bit so we were glad our room had everything we needed.

The location of Grand Georgian is good – it is right in the heart of the village and right by the skihill. The check in & reception is right in the lobby which is very convenient.

The Blue Mountain village is very quaint with a lot of activities. We tried the Timber High Ropes course which was a lot of fun … definitely worth a try as long as you aren’t afraid of heights. We also went on a 2 hour canoe/kayak trip on the Beaver river via Free Spirit Tours… that was also a lot of fun, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear BBBH,

Thank you for this really nice review, we are delighted to know you enjoyed the resort and all we have to offer in terms of lodging and activities. The Village is very self-contained, you can pretty much park your car and relax, from dining to shopping and activities, it’s all in one location with ease of access.

Once again, thank you for your comments; we hope you will have a chance to return again very soon.


Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Georgian for a couple of nights the week of July 30th. This was our fourth stay at the Village at Blue Mountain, third being at the Grand Georgian. Picked this one over Mosaic because of price. Season's has a smaller pool and we've never tried Weider lodge. Over-all this is a very safe bet for comfort in the Collingwood area. Rooms are a little tight, but clean. The pools are ok, but mostly filled with very young children (3-10) in the summer, so teenage kids and adults with no kids wouldn't enjoy it. Great for the young families though. We stayed in a Studio which gets you a Queen bed, pull-out sofa-bed and kitchenette with toaster, fridge, microwave (no oven). Not for cooking - reheating or storing only. Sofa-bed was not comfortable for our kids - we had to ask for another comforter to use as a mattress pad.

The Village resort has a lot going on now for the entire family, with a new hillside roller-coaster and really nice mini-put that climbs one of the hills. They have lots of other things to do like horse and carriage rides, etc. In the evenings, they have musicians and sometimes show an open-air movie (Wednesday's I believe). We never eat at the restaurants because they are so pricey, however, they are very convenient for those that aren't too worried about that. We're not golfers, but many seem to use this as their stay while using many of the coarses around. We use this as our home base for daily trips to Wasaga Beach.

You don't get normal hotel service here, but again, this is more about convenience and location than anything else (there really isn't anything better in Collingwood).

I recommend the Village and the Grand Georgian to families that either don't want an old cottage experience in Wasaga Beach, or just want one to a few nights getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pools. Outside rooms facing the Village will be very noisy through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMountainResorts, Vice President-Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear TravelHeros,

Thank you for your very helpful review regarding your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resorts Limited, we are delighted that you have made us one of your regular vacation destinations. Yes, Mosaic is the newest addition to the Village, referred to as a boutique hotel, providing higher quality, offering a year round heated pool and other amenities not available at the other village hotels and is therefore set at a higher price point. The studio suites are the smallest we offer and are all equipped with a kitchenette versus our larger rooms that offer a full kitchen, it really depends on what each guest is looking for. The pullout couches are definitely a convenience but would recommend taking a larger unit if seeking the comfort of a regular bed.

The pools are a big draw for young families and with the hot summer we have had, we have seen a great deal of traffic at all of our properties. The expanded attractions are another big draw for both overnight and day guests, there is something for a wide variety of ages and interests.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.3 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
359 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort

Property: The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort
Address: 156 Jozo Weider Blvd | The Village at Blue Mountain, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Georgian, in the middle of the Village at Blue, is fashioned after a historic railway hotel, with 189 suites ranging in size from studios to 3 bedroom. Every suite features high-speed wireless internet access, in-room movies, a DVD player, flat screen LCD TV. Guests also have exclusive access to secure underground parking, games room, 2 outdoor hot tubs (open year round), outdoor pool (summer only), fitness room and sauna. Bachelor, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites include a fireplace, fully furnished kitchen and a balcony or patio. Studio units (regular size hotel rooms) have a kitchenette (small fridge, small sink, microwave, toaster, kettle, dishes and cutlery). Larger units (1 bedroom or larger) have a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Grand Georgian Blue Mountain
Grand Georgian Collingwood
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing