We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for a hike with the family”

Scenic Caves Nature Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic Caves Nature Adventures offers nature, history, scenery and memorable adventures. Explore a self-guided trails of caves carved millions of years ago and savour breathtaking lookouts from the highest point of the Niagara Escarpment, set in one of Canada's six UNESCO biosphere reserves. Learn about the First Nation's Petun tribe and their legends. Venture over Southern Ontario's longest 420 ft. suspension bridge. Take an adrenaline-pumping ride on the Thunderbird Twin Zip Line. Experience treetop canopy walking across a web of platform decks and air born walkways, and zip cable gliding on a guided Eco Adventure tour. Enjoy the many family-friendly features such as: children's adventure playground, Rocky the train, mini golf, gemstone mining, trout pond, picnic areas, snack bar and gift shop. In winter, glide along 27 km. of professionally groomed cross-country ski trails. Snowshoe across a suspension bridge and 8 km. of pristine trails winding through a 200 year old forest.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a great place to take the kids for a walk and introduce them to nature. Our kids had allot of fun exploring the caves and crevices (look out for 'Fat Man's Misery') as well as taking pictures.

You do need to be in fairly good shape because the climbs can be steep. I wouldn't recommend Scenic Caves to the elderly or children under 3.

We printed out and used a couple coupons from Attractions Ontario http://www.attractionsontario.ca/index.cfm?DSP=Chapter&ID=11&ACT=Member-Coupon-List&Member_ID=1039

Thank Another_Excursion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene T, Public Relations Manager at Scenic Caves Nature Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thanks for sharing your great family experience with other family adventurers. The coupons we offer are widely distributed through a variety of vehicles intended to encourage price-conscious visitors to sample our adventures. We also encourage guests to sign up for our monthly Enews where we also post special offers and contests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Scenic Caves Nature Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 379 of 598 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great views from on top the suspension bridge. Climb to the caves was easy and as to be expected, the climb down into and around the caves was a challage for anyone that is not in reasonable shape. You have to climb up and over rocks, down and up stairs, etc.

I really enjoyed it.

Thank dan459us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene T, Public Relations Manager at Scenic Caves Nature Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

As you observed, the outdoor experience requires the ability to hike trails through the Niagara escarpment, walk on unlevel trails through the caves and caverns, as well as up and down metal stairs. Because it is a self-guided adventure, you can take your time, stopping anywhere to catch your breath, take photos and relax at the many spectacular lookouts. So glad you had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

this is a good adventure walk - but $40 is a little steep for this - especially with a family of 4 -

i think $20 would be a more reasonable price.

Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene T, Public Relations Manager at Scenic Caves Nature Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed a good adventure hike at the Caves. The basic park admission (including tax) ranges between $21 (youth) and $25.50. If a guest chooses to mini-golf, gemstone mine or zipline, there is an additional cost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thanksgiving holiday so it was crowded, no wonder. Parking was full and we were told to go down and be back in couple of hours but with a stroke of chance, got a spot. Go early as possible if it is a holiday specially.

This place probably will have all sorts of reviews. It depends on what is the preference one will have. If you like nature, love to trek, be a bit adventureous, go for it. There are so many hidden areas and caverines if you wish to test yourself. Try "Fatman's Challenge"...but make sure you are mentally prepared and thinking smart.

Only regret will be the place is not kept clean and not much option to eat as well. Pack something to eat with you and add couple of hours of family picnic in the park. Go prepared with some insect repellent cream, specially if you plan to go inside the caverines (not the caves). Got bit by something and I got all red marks and itching for couple of days.If one tries to envision how natives could have been living here, keeping food stored in "natural refrigerator", and the runaways in case of war, it is fascinating. I have seen better maintained and more challenging places like this in Australia and India but this one is not bad, I will say, for one time experience. As a repeat traveller, go to Wasaga beach, spend some time and be home in time.

Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene T, Public Relations Manager at Scenic Caves Nature Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for putting Scenic Caves on the “must experience” list. “Fatman’s Misery” is one of the favourite challenges for guests.
The park is especially busy during long holiday weekends and your recommendation of coming early is excellent. Unfortunately due to the volume of visitors during the Thanksgiving weekend, it was hard for the grounds staff to keep up with the tidying up. We urge guests to respect the natural surroundings by not littering and using the many garbage bins located throughout the property. Insect repellent is another fine suggestion when you prepare for the great outdoors. During the fall, we recommend wearing layers of clothing and footwear with deep treads in case of slippery conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to this attraction hoping to see real caves. There are no actual caves although there are a few caverns, large rocks and crevices. It is very much a theme park with a kiddie train ride, that fake "panning for gems", a playground, mini golf, zip line etc. If you are planning for the theme park experience, go for it. If you are planning to explore caves find something else to do. The caverns themselves take only a few minutes to go through. It is really disappointing and over priced as a natural formation.

1  Thank ellenmToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene T, Public Relations Manager at Scenic Caves Nature Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We describe our property as caves, caverns and crevasses carved by glacial ice. It is not an underground grotto that one would crawl through using hard hats, ropes and flashlights. Of the eighteen geological features, there are three caves: Ice Cave, Fern Cave, and Bear Cave. Hope you didn’t miss them. Most guests spend an hour or more exploring, taking photos and reading about the history. Over the years we have enhanced the park with various ‘light adventures’ that augment the experience and appeal to a variety of ages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Caves Nature Adventures also viewed

Blue Mountains, Grey County
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to Scenic Caves Nature Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing