We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYOB (bring your own bedding)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It seems that there is a difference in amenities offered between units. However as this was advertised as a hotel/resort type of facility one cannot be expected to know prior to booking which unit they will get.

We booked a studio room for 4 people for around $200. This was the last room available on the website so we had no other choice. The unit seemed OK, fairly clean with a small kitchen area, fridge, stove, microwave, sink and some cooking utensils and pots/pans. We had a queen bed with a futon however there were only 3 pillows and 2 covers. The room had no phone, no wifi (the password provided did not work) and no hairdryer. No biggie. Things happen.

We stopped by the front desk on the way out to dinner to request the extra items that were missing and were reassured that we will get an extra pillow/blanket and a hairdryer by the time we returned from dinner. We were also told the wifi "should" work with the password provided (winter). I guess we have stubby fingers. We'll try again.

Sadly nothing was provided by the time we returned from dinner and we found out with dismay that the front desk is closed past 9 pm and there is NOBODY on the property available until the morning to address any concerns. We called their emergency phone number repeatedly and left messages that went unanswered until about midnight. We went to sleep with wet hair and one of us had no pillow and the other no covers. The futon was small and uncomfortable and I would not advertise the room as accommodating up to 4 people. Maybe 2 adults and a child would be more realistic. Couldn't get the wifi password to work despite typing "winter" in several languages and after trying other seasons as well we just gave up.

The resort is within driving distance from the Village and I would not recommend walking as the roads are not pedestrian friendly. The pool area was busy and small but looked like a fun cozy place. We never found the hot tubs and no resort maps were provided. There are no places to eat nearby, so for eating it would be best to drive to the Village.

This was a disappointing stay not necessarily because of the resort amenities but because the staff did not seems to care about the guests and their stay. One should not need to bring their own bedding and hairdryer when staying in a $200/night room. I am also concerned about the lack of personnel/security on the property past 9 pm as this seems to be a resort that attracts rowdy hotel room parties. Proceed with caution if you decide to book a room here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgesatbluemountain, Owner at Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

This was a very unfortunate & rare incident. Our standard practice is to supply all rooms with full linens and towels. We are sorry our staff did not react fast enough to rectify the lack of linens. Guests do not need to bring their own. It seems there was a miscommunication between our front desk staff and our housekeeping staff.

I have personally spoken to all my staff and they have assured me better communication is needed between departments.

I believe my manager has offer this guest a discount on a future stay.

As for security, there regular hourly patrols from 9-2am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 193 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

My past reviews can speak for themselves.

Unit:
Out dated and drab. The patio ashtray was full of cigarette butts, deck unswept. The washroom smelled, the shower head could not be adjusted- and showers lasted only 2 minutes with hot water before it would go cold. We could here every noise from the people above us. Heater/AC was filthy. Had to take out the garbage or face fines. Not a comfortable sleep. Other people had a broken fridge- the list goes on ...

It did have a shuttle service to the Blue Mountain village which was nice. Checkin was pleasant.

Pool and hot tub:
The pool was enjoyable although we did not think it was heated (perhaps it was not advertised to be heated- this is unconfirmed). Hot tub was not special- water seemed discoloured.

Just in general the atmosphere was anything but what I expected- it just seemed very unmaintained especially for it being called a 'resort'. You could see that at one point this place would have looked fantastic. However, I would think twice before staying here again ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Point30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Many loose electrical cables hanging down the wall, scuffed walls, peeling paint inside and outside, dirty carpeted floor I stepped in food 3 times within minutes of checking in. Toilet seat peeling painted and discolored. Heaters were dirty, dusty and in some parts rusting. 4 inch crack in mirror of sliding door closet. Closet full of old furniture. Furniture old decrepit and damaged. Sofa was torn.

Outside was filthy.
Paint peeling and rust stains on most of the doors light fixtures and staircases throughout. Cigarette butts all over the complex, Trash found every 3 feet along with dog poop. The playground had empty beer cans and more dog poop.
The trash drop off area had loose trash all over the floor I can't imagine the stench in the summer.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and stay a million miles away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoannaMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgesatbluemountain, Owner at Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

While we appreciate constructive feedback from guests, I am disappointed that this guests has not relayed the true facts. There was no whole in the wall. It was the cover plate for the cable outlet was not full on the wall. As for the wires hanging down, all the electrical cables for the TV, DVD etc. were plugged into a power surge bar and they were a bit scattered along the bottom of the TV. These two issues were reported to us at 1030pm the night of arrival. Our front office staff member visited the condo with the guest and the guest agreed it was not an emergency and at 9am the next day our staff fixed.

it should also be noted that when our staff did enter the condo a large dog was present and while we allow pets in some units not all are pet friendly and this guests did not disclose a pet was going to be present likely to get out of the $25 pet fee. I question her honestly!

As for the grounds conditions this is a difficult time of year. As the snow is melting new layers of debris gets exposed. While we are not currently in control of grounds maintenance, that staff visits the site regularly to try and stay on top of the melting snow.

Other than the plug issue, none of these issues were disclosed to us.

Mountain Springs Resort condos continue to offer a reasonable alternative to higher priced Village condos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

So what I have learned is that each individual unit is owned by different owners, not necessarily by Mountain Springs. Blue Mountain Lodges takes care of the housekeeping but the state of each unit is taken care of by the owner. Some units are not up to par while other owners take pride in their property. I would strongly encourage anyone planning to stay here to look into the exact unit they would be staying in.
The upper units are lovely because they have vaulted ceilings but kinda a pain with the stairs up to the unit.
The resort has direct access to the North Chair, tennis court, outdoor pool (summer) hot tub and 2 playgrounds. There is a shuttle that goes to the village.
The unit we stayed in was 612 or 9612 if you are searching it. It is in the 600 unit building right beside the access to the North Chair. This unit was great,and very clean it has 2 full bathrooms, a jacuzzi tub upstairs. they installed shutters on the loft which as a parent makes me feel much safer for my children and it blocks out the sunshine in the morning. They can be opened up though if that is your preference. the beds are comfortable and clean with lots of pillows, extra bedding and towels. There is a small deck to the side with a BBQ. A flat screen tv with cable. The kitchen has all the amenities and dishes provided. I also liked that paper fowl, toilet paper, etc was supplied.
All in all we really enjoyed our weekend away and would stay at unit 612 again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: unit 612 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgesatbluemountain, Owner at Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. While its true each condo is individually owned and managed through The Lodges at Blue Mountain as its rental manager, we do post true and accurate pictures of each condo on our website and partner websites. This ensures guests can choose upgraded or standard room types.

We do work with and encourage owners to make upgrades at least twice a year and or when needed during each season.

There will be a great deal of work done this summer on the exterior of the condo units and common areas as well.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked two separate units (2 nights each) through airbnb.com - one was excellent and the other only fair. Since every unit appears to have a different owner with outdoor/common areas managed by the resort, it is imperative that you check out your unit carefully. The common areas are nothing special and exteriors could use a coat of paint. The outside hot tub is a nice touch (watch out for a slippery deck). Reception staff offered some good information but were unable to fix the WiFi which was out for our entire stay. The location is ideal for Blue Mtn. The basic layout of many units (our two anyways) is a studio main floor which is comfortable for two adults/cramped for four. There is a small kitchen. The 2-bedroom unit is basically the same studio first floor layout (with queen bed in one end) with a second bed/bath in an upstairs loft. Other nearby dining options worth considering include Alphorn on Hwy 26 (great beer menu) and 'The Dam Pub' in Thornbury (600+ Scotches).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgesatbluemountain, Owner at Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback. If I may comment on a few of the issues raised. The exterior of the property is set for repainting this summer. The Wi-Fi has caused some problems recently, but is in the process of being looked at and a new solution should be in place by spring. We do offer pictures of each unit on our website so guests can see the upgraded units and the standard rooms.

We trust you will come back and see the improvements in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed at the Mountain Springs Lodge this past weekend for 2 nights for a weekend of slopes and relaxation. My experience with the staff that looked after the reservation was excellent, very friendly and attentive. This place is close to the North Chair so it is very convenient for ski in and out. There is also a rental place right beside it on the highway if you need to rent any gear. Room was perfectly comfortable and suitable for our needs. Shower had great pressure and bed was comfortable and linens clean. Nice to be able to cook your own meals if you like. Overall a great place with a stellar location and service. I would recommend this place in a heart beat and we will be back for sure. Thanks Mountain Springs for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitCatToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Inconsistent maintenance and housekeeping of these units is so sad. The property is slope side close to the North chair at Blue, the architecture is attractive but the word is clearly out that you should not risk a stay here because of the high risk of a disappointing experience. Well, we rolled the dice and lost the lottery this February.

We have since enjoyed two ski mid-week stays in one bedroom units walking distance from the Silver Bullet chair at Weider Lodge for 15% more per night. Our Village experience was night and day better than Mountain Springs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $189 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All season resort, featuring 144 units in 9 buildings, with outdoor pool and outdoor hot tub for guest's use. Ski in/ski out access to North Base chair lift, on complimentary shuttle bus route for the resort's guests, free parking. Each units features full kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and pots and pans. Each building has two levels, lower lever rooms with studio and/or one bedroom condos, upper lever rooms with studio loft and/or one bedroom loft condos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Springs Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Blue Mountains
Mountain Springs Hotel
Mountain Springs Resort And Conference Centre Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing