We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travelers have booked this property
Front view from stream
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view from stream
Front of Home Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Front view from stream
Front of Home
Hot tub
hot tub
Fire pit
Jungle Gym in backyard
Stream on property
Front balcony view
Main Floor bedroom balcony
shale beach at front of property
shale beach- relaxing
Gourmet kitchen
Gourmet kitchen
kitchen
Oven
Dining room
Dining room
Living room main floor
front entrance
Main floor bedroom with balcony to backyard and hot tub
main floor bathroom with jet tub
Main Floor bathroom shower and spa tub
Master bedroom
Master ensuite bathroom
Double jet tub in master ensuite
Master Ensuite shower
Second level rear bedroom with Balcony
Rear bedroom  looking onto balcony
Rear balcony
Second floor bathroom with large shower
Second floor bathroom shower
Second level theatre room with kitchenette
Second level front balcony
Third level recreational area
Foos Ball table in third floor recreational area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blue Mountains, Grey County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek F
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great weekend, close to all attractions and pubs. The Cottage itself is immaculate. Well kept, three story beauty. Hot tub well kept, lots of bikes and canoes, kitchen is perfect for social dinners. Lots of privacy in the backyard. Rooms and view are amazing. Can't forget, everything has been thought of, everything you need X3 in the kitchen.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thanks Derek! Glad you enjoyed the home. You and your friends were very low maintenance guests and left the home immaculate. Thanks for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W
1 review
“Clean, spacious and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location (5min drive from Scandinavian Spa, Blue Mountain village, close to grocery stores and LCBO), very clean and well-kept. Fully stocked kitchen. Bonus 2nd floor kitchenette (great for two families).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Glad you enjoyed! Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmacbart2...
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous getaway!”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at the shake beach house with a group of 7 and it was truly perfect!! The backyard is so tranquil and beautiful!! There's a great trail walking or biking and it was a short drive to the village. The cottage is spacious, well stocked and very clean!! We will definately be renting here again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2017
Glad you liked it and hope for your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KetchupCa...
Canada
1 review
“Great house”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The Shale Beach House was a pleasure to stay. Very clean and very comfortable. The owner was very accommodating in some extra requests. It was a sisters weekend and my fussiest sister gave it her official stamp of approval and we plan on coming back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
So glad you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kash20
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Returning Guest- Wow!”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was my second stay at the Shale Beach house in Blue Mountain. Once again everything exceeded my expectations! This cottage is incredible and literally has everything for a perfect weekend. Previously I stayed with friends for a girls get away and this year I stayed with couples and every single person thought this cottage was amazing. I will be booking for my third time next year 100%. Thank you Phil, you're great and very helpful with every question I had. Best cottage I have ever stayed at!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The backyard was my favourite and also the beds!
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2016
Thanks Kasia and please do return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadiant...
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Weekend”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Shale Beach House provides everything you see and more. The property is so well maintained, clean and definately a home away from home, it has everything you will need. We stayed there for Thanksgiving weekend with our extended family and young children. It has a cottage feel outside for the kids to play(awesome play structure) eat/drink and have a fire yet you are only a 5 min drive to the Village. We loved it and are looking at renting Shale Beach Cottage again for another date. Highly recommend this location !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing was new, clean and updated from kitchen supplies to bedding. Sometimes when you rent a house it is mismatch or older items but Shale Beach House is very new
Liked least: nothing loved it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Thanks and glad you enjoyed it. We strive to provide guests with the comforts of home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersons...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too perfect for words. So neat and clean with unreal views!”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had such a wonderful visit at the Shale Beach House. First of all the home is so clean and well maintained which is very important to me. There was nothing more that you could possibly have needed. The kitchen has all pots and pan and accessories. The 2 fireplaces were glorious with just the touch of a button. Honestly if I had a home this nice I would not rent it out. I would be so concerned that people would not be respectful. The owners have a lot of faith in the people they share their home with. The hot tub was perfect and the jets work out sore muscles. The hot tube and the grill are both nice and well maintained newer models. The beds are super comfortable and all the furniture is in great condition. There is a huge dining table in bottom floor kitchen which was so fun to play card games on. Really I just cant say enough good things about this house and the people who own the house and the house manager, Joe. We rent vacation houses all over the world and this is, without a doubt, one of the very best experiences. We hope to go back again next year when we have our obstacle course race again. Just perfection!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house. The view. The cleanliness. The hot tub. Gorgeous kitchen
Liked least: Dealing with the recycling-but that is Canada, now matter where you stay
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed the home and thrilled with how well you cared for it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing