We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
Nearby Hotels
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain(Blue Mountains)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$171
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Mountain Inn(Blue Mountains)
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Meaford Motel & Restaurant(Meaford)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mosaic(Blue Mountains)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
121
33
10
15
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
33
10
15
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe kitchencachet crossingwalking distanceup to datehome away from homegreat weekendlarge groupopen conceptski liftmountain viewmain floorbedroom condolong weekendgeorgian baywheelerlucille
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 211 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Property 7800 in late September 2011. We had 5 families with small children so we were looking forward to staying at this "luxury chalet". We had stayed at Property 6860 a few years back but we were disappointed (dirty carpets, bannisters upstairs with gaps wide enough that our small children could fall through, dirty bbq, cold pool) so we decided to try the luxury chalet instead.

Overall, the chalet itself is nice, but not quite as nice as the pictures shown on their websites. The carpets are a bit grungy, there were several areas of the drywall that had holes and appeared to be in mid-repair, and the cooking utensils were not great (dull knives, lack of good pots and pans).

However, the big problem we had was that about 2 weeks after we checked out, they charged our credit card for a $1,500 damage deposit and said it was for a broken ceramic stove top. First and foremost, we did not crack the stove top. There was a pre-existing small crack in the corner of the stove top that we noticed but ignored since the stove was working fine. They didn't believe us and would not listen to us.

Furthermore, the contract we signed with them and their own "Code of Ethics" on their website said that they were supposed to reverse any damage deposit authorizations within 3 days of checkout, upon a full inspection. As I said, they charged us about 2 weeks after checkout.

We asked for proof of damage and all they sent us was a handwritten inspection report by their staff and pictures that had a date of April 2009 in the picture properties. At this point we thought we were being completely scammed so we asked Visa to reverse the charge, which they did. However, after a cursory review where LBM only had to show that we signed a credit card authorization for the deposit, Visa again put the charge through.

After several emails and phone calls back and forth, the owner (Sheldon) admitted another party had cracked the other half of the stove two weeks after we had checked out, so he would be willing to "settle" the matter with us for half of the repairs of $900 including taxes. At this point we were fed up and agreed to pay the $450 to get rid of the whole mess and at least recover $1,050 of the deposit they took. If only it were so easy. They ended up sending us an invoice for $450 plus taxes and said that it was more than the agreed upon $450 including taxes because of "labour". Huh? On top of that, they said we had to sign a ridiculous waiver saying we wouldn't post anything on the internet about this incident. They said it was a standard waiver that ALL their customers had to sign in these situations. No wonder there aren't more negative reviews on these websites!

As you can tell, we refused to sign the waiver. We don't think it's right to force someone to stay quiet. We thought seriously about taking them to small claims court but decided at the end of the day it wasn't worth it for $300 per family as we probably would all have to go to Collingwood, likely multiple times, to pursue it. We tried the Better Business Bureau but they are useless. They basically just take your complaint and then side with the business and they can't enforce anything anyway.. They didn't return any phone calls or emails. Just google them and you can see how useless other people think they are as well.

Anyway, they are still holding our full $1,500 deposit 6 months later, for a repair that was $847.44 total, for which they likely recovered half from the party that damaged the other side of the stove. Phone calls with the owner were very frustrating. I kept telling him that we didn't damage the stove and all he kept saying was "That's what everyone says." When I told him that we wouldn't sign the waiver, he called us terrorists and said that we were going to intentionally try to destroy his business and threatened legal action against us. Apparently consumers that have had poor service are not allowed to complain about it.

I'm sure he'll respond to this and say that the waiver is standard for all businesses, that the BBB sided with him, etc. Just think about this. They took our money well after their own policy of 3 days, and then said just to get any of it back we had to sign the "non-disclosure" waiver, even if we paid for the full amount of the damages. How does that make sense? Why do we have to sign a waiver to get our own money back?

Needless to say, we will never stay at these properties again and will not recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank R_647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have been staying at several of these lodges for the past 8 years or so and my experience has always been fabulous. The homes are always clean and welcoming and the views are breathtaking. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We rented the house at 102 Patricia avenue (Blue Mountain Lodge #7512) for a long weekend in March and were grossly disappointed. Upon check in at their main offices in Collingwood, we should have been tipped off by the disgusting restroom there, as well as the general state of the office. One of the many empty desks there had a crumpled up bed sheet on it, and it only went down hill from there.

The first night we spent there, we found the dishes, utensils and pots and pans were dirty, eventually discovering a pot of old rotting spaghetti in the laundry closet of the house. Not only that, there was a colony of ants, and large ants at that, living behind the kitchen cupboards and walking all over the dishes and any food that were to be left out on the counter. We disregarded these inconveniences and moved on with our vacation.

The second day, upon returning from the ski hill, the plumbing proved to be faulty, even when our group was much fewer than their stated "capacity" for a house they claim sleeps 13 people.The situation was so bad, there was sewage water not only overflowing in an upstairs bathroom, but it leaked through the ceiling and into the main living space, all of which our group had to clean up. The management was alerted of the situation but the maintenance person was of no help, and we had to request cleaning supplies from them, which they reluctantly gave us. The third morning, we awoke to have no hot water for showers, and again our party was fewer than the "capacity" of the rental. The hot tub was not hot, it was lukewarm and uncomfortable at best, not to mention improperly sanitized, which we would come to discover later after we developed infectious rashes.

Once confronted with these issues, Blue Mountain Lodges not only didn't follow up with us regarding our complaints, but WE were accused of bringing the ants and lying about the unsatisfactory conditions at the home. Terrible service and definitely the worst rental experience I have had.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank er242975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgesatbluemountain, Owner at The Lodges at Blue Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

While we appreciate constructive comments from guests. The guests who are writing about 102 Patricia are doing this with a vengeance. All negative reviews are from the same rowdy group. They trashed the chalet including plugging & overflowing toilets, & breaking the hot tub cover. They are being held responsible for damages hence all the negative reviews. The reviews seem to be coming from individuals all across North America and doubt most of them stayed at this location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My family and I experienced several enchanting escapes from the rat race of the big city when we vacationed at the Lodges at Blue Mountain, property 6800, 191 Brooker. This is an ideal chalet for both winter and summer vacations. Being just minutes away from the village, this chalet provides convenient lodging for skiing and winter activites as well as for enjoying the summer activities offered in the area. The chalet is clean, spacious, luxurious, equipped with a hot tub, beautiful kitchen, cozy fireplace, several bedrooms to accommodate numerous guests, and a spectacular view. I highly and confidently recommend this venue for anyone wishing to experience an enchanting escape!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have been staying at The Lodges of Blue Mountain for years as part of our bi-annual girls getaway weekends. We have had the best times during these stays and have always found the Chalets to be beautiful and spotless. The owner is so attentive and I remember once we had a problem with a toilet and he had a plumber there before we could even unpack! A big part of our weekends is about the "cooking" and we have thoroughly enjoyed cooking up some wonderful dinners in the amazing gourmet kitchens!

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed having "The Lodges of Blue Mountain" as part of our getaway weekends! It keeps us coming back year after year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOCO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews