We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a Ski Weekend”
Review of Blue Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed at the Inn for 2 nights. Check in was easy and the room was ready as soon as we arrived which was perfect since we could hit the slopes earlier. We had 3 people staying in our room, which was a decent size even taking into account all our snowboard gear. The hotel is close to the lift at happy valley. There's a bit of a walk to the village but if your lucky enough to catch the hotel shuttle you will be there within 5 min. The breakfast buffet at The Pottery restaurant was good and was replenished regularly when we were there. As for the facilities, the hot tubs are especially popular here, several people rotate through them from morning to night. Overall, decent hotel for a ski weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 382 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2010

We spent just the one night at the Blue Mountain Inn early December 2010. First impressions weren't great, but that was because we originally arrived at the The Grand Georgian in the Village (part of the same resort) and saw how great that looked. By the time we arrived at the Blue Mountain Inn, it looked depressing in comparison. Like other reviewers have already said, it looks as though its in need of a renovation. Very brown/grey/concrete.

The room itself (room 524) wasn’t too bad. Two double beds, nice size, a closet, ironing board, TV, dresser with mirror etc, coffee - all the basics you would need. We had a quick look around the rest of the hotel and checked out the pool area, Jozo’s Bar and the Pottery restaurant (where they serve breakfast) and it all seemed ok. Basic, but ok.

Instead of eating dinner at the Pottery or even eating somewhere else in the resort, we decided we wanted something a bit more special and after researching local restaurants on the net we decided to drive into Collingwood to eat at Azzurra, a lovely quaint Italian restaurant. Considering the snow was coming down ferociously and the roads outside of the village were very dark, deserted and icy it wasn’t the best idea. It was a very scary drive into town. If visiting the Blue Mountain Inn in the depths of winter, I would advise finding a restaurant within the resort to eat at.

Although it had been snowing there still wasn’t enough snow for the ski slopes to be opened, so we didn’t get to try that out unfortunately.

The fire alarm went off twice during breakfast the next morning, which was annoying. It meant having to congregate outside in the cold, which was also annoying. Being a wussy Brit, I decided to wait in the lobby instead. It wasn’t a great experience but it was made a little more enjoyable by the amazingly upbeat Michelle, a waitress from The Pottery. She was lovely!

My trip to Collingwood was a nice one off trip and I don't think I'd ever visit again. Although, if for some reason I were ever to go back, I would definitely find another hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deenie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We booked this hotel using the Blue Mountain tourist website and were rather mislead as to which hotel we were booking. We were under the impression that the hotel would be right in the village and were rather disappointed when we were directed down the road to a much older looking hotel. The staff were friendly and apologetic for the confusion and offered to switch our booking to some other hotel slightly closer to the village, but at that point we were tired, had unloaded the car and baby twice already...we just wanted to get into our room.
The room itself was nothing special...dated...small bath tub, old TV...Rather annoying when you pay $15 to rent a movie and have to watch it on a TV that looks at least 10 yrs old.
While we were underwhelmed, we were content enough until our 14 month old son came toddling over with a huge smile and a used condom wrapper in his hands! Clearly the cleaning staff leave something to be desired. We informed the front desk of our "lucky find" and got an awkward "Oh...that's not good" response.
Apart from that...Collingwood was a lovely place to visit, we just don't suggest this hotel as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifermonczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel was probably a nice facility when it was opened, likely in the early 80s. But by now it is in need of a major renovation. It looks sad and outdated. This is basically what you would expect from a cheap motel - but not an Intrawest resort. I don't understand that Intrawest associates its brand with this facility.

The furniture in the room was probably not replaced in the last 20 years or so. The beds are bad and sleep was not good.

The room was clean basic - nothing exceptional (ex: they give you only one soap) and you do experience the "moisture sent" of an old facility - but it does not seem to have fundamental "sanity issue".

Unlike all other facilities in Blue Mountain, the hotel is not in the Blue Mountain village - it is a10 minutes walk to the village or a shuttle ride. So it's not the walk is that bad - but you certainly not have the experience of staying "in the village" if you go to this facility.

The staff is very friendly - this makes the experience a little better.

I guess if you go there in the winter - and your main goal is to ski all day - and use your room and hotel for the sole purpose of sleeping - and if you are not picky and do not mind sleeping on a bad bed - and most importantly if you have a great rate - with all these conditions this could be an acceptable option for you. But keep your expectations of the facility low otherwise you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Mountain Inn for the Family Day long weekend and were pleanantly surprised, given the bad reviews here. I will admit that the place is older and has a "bunker" feel because of the concrete and the low ceilings, however the staff were extremely friendly, the deal we got was great and the food at The Pottery restaurant was surprisingly good.

We took the deal for accomodations, breakfast, dinner and all day lift tickets and we were glad we did. While The Pottery was a bit hard to find (it is tucked away on the 2nd floor - easy to get to if you're coming from the mountain, not so much if you're inside). The breakfast buffet was really good and everything was included. The dinner was great too- you could pick anything off the menu and you also could pick any appetizer and dessert.

The rooms were very small, especially the bathroom.The beds were really comfortable, though and we received lots of towels. I was disappointed that there was only shampoo, soap and hand cream, but no conditioner provided. Lots of hot water, but you have to let it run for a while.

There is a place to lock up your skis - we had trouble with the lock when we got there, and the staff was so great and responsive to get it resolved for us. One of the ski hills is right behind the hotel, so that was very convenient and the shuttle to the other hills was right there. The drivers were all nice and helpful.

There are 3 hot tubs (2 outside) and an indoor pool, as well as a small sauna. They are located at the basement level and it is not very pretty to get to the pool, but the facilities themselves, while somewhat dated, are in good condition and we enjoyed using them after skiiing. I've been to the spa in the hotel as well. it is very small, but the service is pretty good.

I would go here again, as it was cheaper than staying in the Village.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suburbandiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My family spent new years at the Blue Mountain Inn and I was shocked at how old and run down this place is. We are a family of four with 2 kids preteen. First, the staff are really great especially those in the hotel restaurant - no doubt the frientliest i have ever met in a hotel. the reception staff were also very nice and helped us with our booking that had a mixup, so this was very helpful. however the place is absolutly filthy and probably would not get a 3 star rating. definitely not the pictue on trip advisor, this is from the hotels down the road that have a pool. In our room, i was surprized to find that there is no fridge (not helpful with young children), towels are old, sheets had stains on them, probably the most shocking thing was that we were there for 4 nights and never got new coffee cups. that might sound odd, but this is a pretty basic perk that any 2 star hotel would have! they gave us styrofoam cups wrapped in plastic for our in-room coffee and never replaced them the whole week. my husband had to find the chambermaid cart to get refills for cream and sugar. i dont think the bathroom was ever cleaned the entire week, i had to clean the toilet myself, can you believe that?only one of the two elevators worked, and the one elevator had a side that faced onto windows that was full of dead flies. very disgusting. we spent well over $2000 at this hotel during the week, not including all the ski rentals. i have filled out a survey form for the hotel so lets see if they answer me. on a positive note, the outdoor hottub was great (my kids loved it) and the pool was small but warm. anolther nice thing was the free shuttle to the hills, this is really great so you can store your skiis at the inn and shuttle to other hills you want as the shuttle bus comes every 15 min and the drivers are really great. So, If you are looking for a hotel that is basically a 2 star place to sleep and very very close to the hills, this is the place you can skii right outside your door. But dont expect it to be luxurious, bring your own coffee mugs, cleaning supplies and fridge with you and you should be ok.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annetoronto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Don't be fooled by these lovely photos. The photos are of the Blue Mountain Village area and Village Suites hotels which include the Grand Georgian; Mosaic, etc.
The Blue Mountain Inn is part of this resort only that it is on the same Rd and is serviced by the Blue Mountain Shuttle that runs to the Village and the Conference Centre. The Inn is an old, rectangular, grey and blue building. It is a ten minute walk from what you see in the posted photos.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WdWoKw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
2.8 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Inn

Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $123 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Blue Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Collingwood
Blue Collingwood Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing