We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as the website portrays”
Review of Blue Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Mountain Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
keswick
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not as great as the website portrays”
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I booked one night at the Blue Mountain Inn in Collingwood for my husband and I. One night away from the kids....just us.....something we haven't done in a long time. Suffice to say we were looking forward to it.

We drove the 1.5 hr or so journey to Blue Mountain. It was an easy, leisurely drive.

Check in was at 4:00 pm but we were early and decided to try to check in an hour early. We arrived at the Blue Mountain Inn which looked like an industrial building saying to ourselves "there's no way they would have us stay in this building, would they?". To our surprise that's exactly where they were having us stay. Without even seeing our room we immediately asked to stay in the Village. This Blue Mountain Inn is a bit of a walk from the Village. So for $125.00 more we stayed in the Village at the Grand Georgian. So there goes the nice rate of $139.00 which is now $225.00. If you could see the Blue Mountain Inn we would rather cancel and go home then stay there. I think that is what they count on.

We drove down the road to the village to go to our room. We drove into the underground parking garage and both said the same thing "what a dark underground parking garage." We parked in a spot that was almost totally in the dark. I wouldn't want to be alone down there with it being so dark.

We went to our room, which by the way, we upgraded to a bachelor suite. Our room, 409, was nice but with a double bed, fireplace, sofa, tv and balcony. My husband and I are used to a king size bed at home needless to say we had a sleepless night.

The room was very clean and nice. The only things that were missing were the little things that you expect when you are paying over $200.00 a night for a room. There were no bath salts, no shampoo and the tub had nowhere to put the soap. No soap dish at all.

The bed was small but also very uncomfortable. You could feel every coil. I ended up sleeping on the sofa while my husband had the bed. The TV was the weirdest set up I have ever seen. In order to change the channel you have to access the menu and you choose the channel you want to watch without even knowing what is playing on that channel. If its something you don't like, you have to access the menu again and do it all over again. Very frustrating.

The village was nice but very small. We literally saw every store in about an hour or so. We took the gondola to the top of the mountain which was nice. We received the plunge package with our room reservation. That's a bit of a joke. The plunge zone is a pool with a very small waterslide. The website makes it out to be some sort of water park. The big thing about the village that I did not like was that dogs were permitted all over the place. I don't understand this at all. Everywhere you looked dogs were peeing on things. How can this be sanitary?? It turned me off big time. One thing I don't understand out of all of the shops that were located in the village, not one sold any Blue Mountain gear such as cups that say Blue Mountain, fleeces etc. I found this very odd for a company which seems bent on taking your money without offering alot in return.

My suggestion to Blue Mountain is tear down that Blue Mountain Inn unless that is your way for people to upgrade. That Inn looks more like an industrial building than a hotel that you are giving your hard earned money for. My husband and I are not rich by any means. We look for deals whenever possible but there was no way I was staying in that Blue Mountain Inn. Everyone does judge a book by its cover.

  • Liked — The beautiful scenery....location.
  • Disliked — It was nice but expected the little things for the price.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnmickeyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    150
    72
    38
    16
See reviews for
118
108
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Markham, ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We booked on-line. To our disappointment upon check in, the room booked only had 1 queen bed despite the fact that we specified 2 adults, a 13-year old and a 10-year old child. The reservation confirmation failed to inform us of the mistake or the need for us to bring sleeping bags if we chose to stay in that room. Better still, it should give a warning message upon reservation to ensure the guests are aware of the room facilities.

Our check-in clerk was not knowledgeable about the rooms and did not make a true effort to assist us. Luckily there were rooms with 2 double beds available.

There were leaky roofs everywhere. The change rooms to the swimmin pool were flooded.

The towel change service policy was unclear. I left towels on the floor so they can be changed (following instructions from a card in the room) and found out to my dismay that they had not been changed and were just folded!!

Their private beach was not much fun either as the water level was extremely low.
Luckily, the Blue Mountain Village and the nearby beach saved our vacation.

  • Liked — The nearby Village. Wasaga Beach
  • Disliked — The staff's attitude
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goujai2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blue Mountains hotels

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
372 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Just came back from a 3 night stay at Blue Mountain Resort - staying at the Cachet Crossings Condos that are part of the resort.

Outdated is an understatement. Our first 3 bedroom condo (108) was terrible - very worn furniture and decor and the kitchen table was 2 folding card tables put together.

Called the front desk & they immediately moved us to 206. (Service throughout the stay was excellent). Still worn, but a little better. However, both hairdryers didn't work and the toaster didn't work. Beds were also a little... used. And the outside of the condo, the open-air stairways, had tons of rust stains - the whole complex is in real need of up-keep, as are the rooms in the main Inn apparently (according to friends that stayed there).

However, Cachet Crossings are pretty convenient - right at the bottom of the hill & midway between the main inn & the Village. That's about the only good thing.

Friends and family stayed at the newer Rivergrass condos in the Resort & they were beautiful. Modern & clean. If we had to do it again, we'd be there. And I think they were actually cheaper.

The village is excellent (great nightlife, good dining), the service for the entire visit was great, and there are some good accommodations - just not at the Cachet Crossings nor at the main Inn.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed 2 nights over the Family day long weekend. Our stay included breakfast and dinner daily. It was a surprisingly good stay. The building was an older building but the rooms seems to be refurbished. Our room has two double beds. It was very roomy and the carpet is in good shape. The bathroom is a little smaller than most hotel bathrooms but very clean. Breakfast was included which had a variety of hot and cold items. Dinner was very good. You have a choice of an entrée item and the salad and desert bar is also included. It was convenient to have the pool and hot tubs located in the same building since we had one rainy day. There was ski locker room to stored your skies and a shuttle bus to take you around the resort areas. Overall, we had a great time and the dinning package was good value.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

It’s a very, very basic motel. The place is worn out. Requires major renovation. Beds are extremely small (never seen so small beds in any accommodation). Elevators are very slow and smelly and so on.
The only good think - location (pretty close to the ski lifts). Swimming pool and Jacuzzis are OK, but too small

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

Recently stayed at the Rivergrass homes section at Blue Mountain. The Condo / home had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. One bedroom with a king bed and seperate washroom. The second bedroom with two small beds and no washroom. The accomodations themselves were nice and I would say fairly new. When entering this unit, it clearly was not cleaned properly. The countertops were messy with coffee grinds and plastic bags all over. The fridge still had food left in it from the last occupants. Although they did leave some beer also . Thanks ! The bathrooms were not cleaned properly as the sink was sticky with stains. It clearly looked as though they came in and cleaned the garbage etc., and rushed out. Simply not very good cleaning !! I was there for three nights and never got any sleep at all...........not sure if it was the beds or what ? but could not wait to get home. They do have a shuttle service which was very effecient at times. While there , visited the Scandinave Spa just outside of the resort area........Check it out , very large facility and well worth the trip. Very relaxing with outdoor hot tubs !! If I visited Blue Mountain again I definately would not stay here. I would like to try out the Westin Trillium House. As these are large units these might be good for the family with kids but not for me.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank okop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2008

The facility is definitely on the shabby side -- hole in the ceiling in reception, hole in the ceiling in the closet of room, mid-70's decor. Obviously most of the money -- and effort -- are being pumped into the "village" part of the resort (read: canned, expensive quaintness). Customer service was definitely lacking. Examples: no resort/local information book in hotel room, very confusing and conflicting phone directions, rude front desk attendants. Website advertises room service, but none exists; the "luxury spa" is a suite on the second floor with only a small sign posted -- no hours, prices, or services listed.

The room was clean; beds were updated. Food at the restaurant was okay. The whirlpool and pool area was clean -- but had to be accessed through a back basement hallway; definitely NOT what I expected for anything billed a "resort" and using words like "luxury" and "first-class" in their advertising.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justcomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
2.8 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.5 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Inn

Property: Blue Mountain Inn
Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Blue Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Collingwood
Blue Collingwood Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing