We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Blue Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountain Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the last weekend of March Break. We travelled with another couple, and managed to get rooms on the same floor. The hallways were quite noisy with kids running up and down them, but once you were in the room you didn't really hear anything. Was a ltitle disappointed that my friend's room had a balcony and mine did not, even though I made both reservations. Also, the heater in 329 was very noisy - ended up unplugging it.

At check in, rooms 325 had cheetos or doritos (something orange, anyway) in the tray with the coffee cups - I cleaned it up but was worried that it had been overlooked. The bathroom door was off it's sliding track a little, but pushing it out and sliding seemed to do the trick. Rooms 329 also had 2 shampoos and no shower gel, but luckily I'd brought my own supplies. These little things were really just minor issues. Our biggest issue were the pillows. All four of us woke up with sore necks :(

The ski/snowboard racks were very convenient, as were the towels in the pool changerooms. Outdoor hot tubs were very popular (to the point were they were too shallow and needed a refill). The entrance to the pool is a little institutional, but I don't think many people choose this hotel based on its looks.

Didn't really interact with staff other than when we checked in and out (both time with an Australian guy who was very friendly).

It really isn't that far of a walk to the village - we took the shuttle once but after realizing how close it was, we opted to walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoON88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Shannon_Robinson_88,
Thank you for this very detailed and informative review, we are happy to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for bringing our attention to some oversights. We will be sure to address these issues with the staff members responsible in an effort to raise awareness for attention to detail and avoid disappointments such as yours in the future. The March Break was definitely a big success again this year; it is always great to see so many families coming out to enjoy skiing and a host of other activities here at Blue.

Not all Inn rooms offer balconies so if you haven’t requested one it is not always likely you will receive one and of course with a limited inventory of this type, we can become restricted in granting requests of this nature.

Yes, it is a leisurely walk from the Inn to the Village, almost refreshing but if it’s really nasty out, it’s nice to know you can hop on one of our shuttle buses for the short commute.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Blue Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 380 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the Happy Valley Suite, which is a one bedroom suite. The suite was big and spacious. It has a fire place, living room, dining room, and two bathrooms. It's a short walk to the village, or you can take the shuttle. We only stayed one night, and didn't have time to explore the amenities as we were focused on boarding. Staff was friendly and we were able to check-in early.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMNer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear HMNer,

Thank you for your review of our facilities and in particular the Happy Valley Suite, it really is a nice suite isn’t it, a little bigger than our standard Inn rooms. It’s great to hear you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and that you were able to squeeze in lots of boarding during your short stay.

Thanks again for your nice comments, hope to see you back again soon!

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at the inn for 2 nights , had a tough time choosing between the condos and village , but i settled for the Inn after much debate . Upon arrival the Agent (Cory) at the front desk was very polite and informed me of the locations and whats happening which was very helpful. I was so happy to see that our room looked better than the pictures, it was so cozy and had the perfect view of the mountains . The room was VERY clean and EVERYTHING worked and the breakfast that came with my package was an extra bonus such a good selling feature . Overall this was a great experience for my family and I . We are already planning our next trip .. Cudos to the Staff and the Management at this INN Job well done ...
The only con which i feel they should work on is the service at the Pottery (Dinner) . Its very slowwwww we stayed almost 2 hrs, each course took at least 30 minutes to arrive to a point where i lost my appetite and wanted to cancel the main course and the food was very bland only if it tasted as good as it looked id be a happy camper ..
OVERALL the inn was a A++++++++++++ !!!!

Room Tip: The Suite on the south side was a great option i got a room on the 4th floor , i had a great view of...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsOwusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear MrsOwusu,

We’re sorry you did have to leave, but look forward to having you back, it sounds like you are already in the planning stage. We will be sure to share your kind comment about Cory’s service to his immediate supervisors, it’s nice to know when we hit the mark and it sounds like Cory did! The Inn rooms are getting wonderful feedback and yours is another great example, thank you!

The Pottery restaurant typically gets very favorable feedback, from service to food offerings and therefore it’s all the more disappointing to hear you didn’t enjoy your dinner meal and found service quite slow. We will direct this feedback to the Manager of this facility as a reminder and to possibly review what might have caused this unusual delay.

Thanks again for your kind praise as well as your constructive feedback, we learn from all of our guest comments, yours is no exception.

Yours truly
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great stay at the Blue Mountain Inn. The staff were friendly (we were able to check-in early), the room (2 dbl beds) was freshly renovated and felt very clean. Room and bathroom were on the small side, but again, CLEAN - and that's what matters to us! We sat in the outdoor hot tubs and used the sauna. Also very clean and most enjoyable. We had massage treatments at the on-site spa, Kalola. While pricey ($141 for 60 minutes), they were probably the best massages we've had. (I recommend Tim - fantastic!) It was lovely to have the RMT treatment then relax in the hot tub and sauna. (We didn't come for the skiing - wanted a relaxing getaway and dinner/evening at the Village). There is a 24-hour hotel shuttle that will take you to Blue Mountain Village (and beyond), but the walk to the Village is very short (probably faster to walk than to wait for the shuttle!). We'd recommend the Blue Mountain Inn, and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, which ended up being really convenient - close to pool, spa, hot t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Sandra C

Thank you, thank you, thank you, what a wonderful review of the Inn, resort, spa and amenities, you have painted a wonderful image of a Blue Mountain getaway. We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything so much, you don’t have to be a winter sports enthusiast to enjoy your time at Blue, thank you for making this point. We hope you will stay here again.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Ltd.,

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just had a room in the Grand Georgian Hotel at Blue Mountain resort. If you look at the site, this would be near tourist activities, bars four ski runs (Smart Alec, Tranquility, Memory Lane and Rinus Run) There are over a dozen runs but where my girlfriend I stayed. The room we booked had queen matrice in the building known as "Seasons at Blue" You get your room key in the main lodge and you could stay here or Mosaic, Grand or Weider.
There is a small kitchen, loaded for whatever you can cook. So if that saves you money or time then plan for it. Nice roomy layout, and your gear should it be skiing has space to be stored. A nice balcony for looking out or posed for pics. This building has a pool for the summer, and a hot spring pool for the winter, you should bring sandles since it requires access through the lobby. A nice fire place is there, and it kept very warm as you walk. There game room and activity room (the plan seasonal activities for those who don't ski)
The coolest new thing is just 100 yards to walk, is the "Ridge runner" Great ride that you ride a rail from the rop of to the bottom, its $15 per ride, but you can buy a multiple ride for savings. One or two can ride per runner. Kids can go with an adult if they are not able to manage it.

Food to dine out, is expensive. Some places make you enjoy it better for the price, so be prepared if you have kids, to be limited. Like any resort the shopping is typical and for those who careless about price. Go into Collingwood for great choice tourist products with great prices.

The weather is usually colder than Barrie (the nearest large city) and if there is chance of snow, Blue Mountain will get it. And for the record, these are great hills to ski and snowboard on. They do not compare to Quebec, Alberta or BC, but you will have fun.

No free internet at the hotel , you have to pay. Yes there is local Starbucks WIFI. They do business events and in the summer golf, horse back and tennis.

Distance from Toronto is 1 hour 35 mins. Sign will show you the way and this place is well marked.

In any main lodge area, you will see a funny beside accessory. Earplugs. Apparently Friday, Saturdays the echos and voices are disturbing, and complaining is not something that will stop it. Funny, I stared at the small sign, apparently you agreed to it when taking this room. Be warned, if you are light sleeper, then take room away from the action. It does not bother me, but I was there for St Patricks Day weekened.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for the quieter area rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Leonard777,

Thank you for this very detailed review of our resort and facilities, we are so grateful for your feedback and can assure you our Trip Advisor readers will find your comments helpful. We think you have covered all aspects that any new guest to our resort would find useful.

We currently offer 36 ski trails, varying in degree of difficulty and will be expanding in the very near future, adding even more skiable terrain. You have mentioned the central slopes that ride right down to the Village core where you have access to a variety of shopping and eating establishments, very convenient and of course your lodging facilities are located in this same area. No, we cannot compare ourselves to Quebec, Alberta or BC when it comes to skiing/boarding; we have 720 vertical feet, but with our short travel distance from a number or large city centres, we find our guests are quite happy with what we offer.

We are expanding our activities regularly, the Ridge Runner, ropes courses and mini putt were introduced last year, we are starting our zip lines this year, we’re glad you enjoyed the ride. Our goal is to provide a wide variety of options for all interests. There is also quite a bit to do in the area; it’s not easy to get bored during a visit to Blue.

The Village is an active, good times place to visit, and yes, it does generate an element of noise, for those more sensitive we have provided ear plugs in all of our lodging suites. Your suggestion is a good one, if you are more sensitive to noise, seek a room away from the Village square to limit exposure.

Thanks again for you this helpful information, we’re glad you enjoyed yourself and hope you’ll be back again soon!

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Ltd.,

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at the Blue Mountain Inn about 45 minutes before check-in time and were happily surprised we would be able to check in with no waiting. Additionally, the lady at the front desk who checked us in was happy to communicate with me through writing when she found out I was deaf. She also looked directly at me when communicating and did not at all attempt to use my daughter as an interpreter. BONUS POINTS! :)

Our room was amazing! As I had read the reviews here, I knew that the Inn had just done renos, so I was impressed by the size and colour scheme of it and all its little awesome features. There was a ski rack, a little night light on all the bed-lights, a wonderful waterfall shower. The housekeeping staff was friendly and courteous and even when we ordered in from Jozo’s and one of the wait staff brought our meal to our room, people were full of smiles and so friendly!

Also, my daughter got sick with the flu while we were there and we had to leave a day early. I’d thought we’d be charged for the full stay we’d booked, but the people at the front desk were understanding about the situation and let us leave with no extra charge.

We will definately be staying at the Blue Mountain Inn again next time we go skiing in Collingwood!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumiko72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Kumiko72,

Thank you for your review of our resort and your most recent experience staying with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the room renovations very welcoming and comfortable. We are really happy to hear our service staff, from front desk to food and beverage and housekeeping were positive and cheerful at all times, this is our culture, we’re glad it is well received.

So sorry to hear your daughter fell ill with the flu and cut your stay short, we certainly hope she is feeling much better by now. Hopefully you will get the chance to come visit us again; we will look forward to seeing you then.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our first time at Blue Mountain Inn....not sure if I will return any time soon.Recently renovated but the rooms are quite small when you need to bring skis,snowboards etc.to your room there is not allot of room left for relaxing.Our first out of 2 nights the fire alarm went off, not once but twice.A sensor in a conference room was faulty,so we had to evacuate twice.We were told there would be no compensation because it is policy to evacuate.The restaurant is nice we had breakfast but the staff was not overly friendly.The pool is nice with hot tubs outdoors.The only problem when guests are going to and from the pool to outside the pool area gets cold from the door opening.At checkout I was told we were getting a 10% discount.Not sure how they do the math but we got a $9.00 discount on a bill that was over $400.00.

Room Tip: A room facing the ski hills.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat1957_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Kat1957_00

As always, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with loyal Trip Advisor readers. We’re sorry to hear we didn’t measure up, as you can see from many other reviews the renovations are getting very positive feedback.

Yes, we did experience a couple of fire alarms and for the most part guests understood about the situation, we must consider our guest safety at all times and follow strict fire safety procedures. It’s always disappointing to learn it was a false alarm that caused such inconvenience, nevertheless it’s a good news story that there was no real threat and nobody was harmed and that we are prepared for a real event if ever faced with one.

The Pottery Restaurant typically gets really great feedback both food and service, the service staff are some of the best on resort. We’re sorry to hear you did not find this to be the case during your stay, it’s most unusual.

It’s good to hear you found the pool and hot tub area to be somewhat enjoyable; once again, we tend to hear more favorable comments about these facilities.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
2.8 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Inn

Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range: $152 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Blue Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Collingwood
Blue Collingwood Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Blue Mountains, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing