We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal”

Scandinave Spa at Blue Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The award-winning Scandinave Spa Blue Mountain offers the renowned Scandinavian Baths experience. Situated in a natural forest, minutes from downtown Collingwood & Blue Mountain Resort and open all year from 10am-9pm, guests enjoy the serenity of the environment. The Baths include a Finnish Sauna, Eucalyptus Steam Room, Thermal & Nordic Waterfalls, Hot Baths, Cold Plunges & relaxation areas. Also available are Registered Massage treatments, relaxing getaway packages & an on-site bistro serving healthy local fare. NEW in mid-January 2017 - Infrared Sauna & additional Relaxation Solaria
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surreal”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I took my best friend here for her birthday and we were blissed out on the view on top of the over-all experience. It's beautiful, it's relaxing, and it's so important to spoil yourself with water therapies. My bestie and I have gone to lots of Spas and water therapies like Body Blitz. While we loved the outside(minus some younger patrons that were staring) the change room/amenities left something to be desired. The products they have in the shower are sub par, the shampoo/conditioner/body wash is stripping. They didn't have plastic bags for wet bathing suits, we had to ask at front desk. Of course one can always bring these items with but it's nice to be provided with them as well. You can either bring or buy bath robes which are provided at most spas Elmwood, The spa at old mill inn, Forest Hill Spa, Body Blitz and so on and so forth. It didn't ruin the experience it was more of a disappointment. Over all it was truly wonderful, the view cant be beat, and the water therapies is to die for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly_ferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandinaveBlue, Owner at Scandinave Spa at Blue Mountain, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The Scandinavian Baths experience is meant to be very different from the higher-end, city spa experience and we hope our guests appreciate the price value of the offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    258
    85
    44
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked a couples massage, ultimate relaxation, well worth it with a booked massage! Would visit here again, but wouldn't stay in Collingwood again. Turned off by experience at the Westin.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelAround77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandinaveBlue, Owner at Scandinave Spa at Blue Mountain, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We encourage you to contact the Westin Trillium House at Blue to address your concerns about your overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magical Experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our first visit and certainly won't be our last. We arrived at 6pm just as the crowds were leaving. After our first hot cold hot sequence, we relaxed next to a fire watching the sunset over the mountain. By the third sequence, the lights were on, the mist was rising and we were smitten by the whole experience. The setting is gorgeous - especially with the trees in their fall colours.

Three small suggestions: 1. why not add a towel exchanges throughout the spa area - you lose your state of bliss going back through the changeroom and upstairs to change towels. While at other spas, i.e. ste. annes, I always like to sit on a towel while in the sauna or steam room - just stock lots of towels outside the steam or sauna areas. 2. It would be a lovely convenience to offer small plastic bags in the changeroom to place your wet swimsuit in. 3. The direction of the lights shining on the chairs around the fire should be readjusted so they shine behind the chairs. They are very bright in your eyes while trying to relax.

Not meant to complain - just a few suggestions as the little things mean a lot - especially when you visit such a special place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bets22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandinaveBlue, Owner at Scandinave Spa at Blue Mountain, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and details about your evening experience. We like visiting the spa at night too! A couple of comments to respond to your 3 points:
1. We do offer extra towels to guests but we in an effort to minimize our green footprint, we hope guests will conserve towels.
2. We do provide bags for wet bathing suits at reception. We hope guests will bring their own as well.
3. We will adjust the lights - thank you for this perspective!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spa day Treat!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I visited this outdoor spa last week and the woodsy setting with the leaves changing color was truly a great experience. The outdoor hot pools and the cold plunge pools were so refreshing and relaxing. I loved the eucalyptus steam room. My daughter and I spent about 4 hours there and were sad to leave.
Will definitely return my next visit to Ontario.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lagunaniguel-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't talk”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful facility, a little too much smoke around the pools. Massage is nice. But if you go with a friend they come around and tell you not to talk, they are very overboard on this.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snapshotsuzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandinaveSpaBlue, Owner at Scandinave Spa at Blue Mountain, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We do ask guests to use spa voices while in the Scandinavian Baths activity. It is our mission statement to provide a relaxing, wellness experience in a tranquil, natural environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandinave Spa at Blue Mountain also viewed

Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to Scandinave Spa at Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing