We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Hog's Breath

Hog's Breath
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Kelmscott
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited Hogs Breath (16/11/13 at noon), ordered cheese sticks and 2 cheese burgers. Restaurant was clean and reasonable service. Both of the main meals had similar issues, it would appear that the salad had not been refrigerated. The lettuce and red onion with out doubt had not been cut, prepared that day and would be surprised if refrigerated. I have never seen red onion that looked and felt like a rubber band. When brought up with "sweet pea", it was promptly swapped amazing the difference between the two. I would suggest a name change for the curly fries, should be curly fries bits.. you will never get anything close to the photo on the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bog standard lots of fried stuff”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I thought it was an intimate restaurant but the food was just ordinary. Went for my husbands birthday. Same old same old....typical of eating in America...lots of fried food and huge portions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharleneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had attentive service from very friendly staff. It was unfortunate that one of the meals on our table had a cold steak. A chili dish had no bite at all and chili sauce had to be ordered.
minor errors like a mixed up drinks order just took the shine off a bit.
I have to commend the Management as we had politely complained about the cold steak the meal was not charged. No questions no arguments, very impressed with that.
We will come back as the meals were hearty, reasonably priced and we'd like to see them get it right

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Hogs breath is not bad, they have great service and the restaurant is quite nice... the food could be better, not a fan of the steaks, slow cooking them doesn't really work.. the burgers are ok

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just not good enough.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ok went back as it wasn't to bad last time. This time just the two of us. My chicken and ribs combo was anything but good. Chicken was ok,, why I tried the ribs again I don't know. They are the worst attempt at ribs I have ever had. Even the mud slide dessert was very average. Very Rare in Perth can you go back to somewhere and it will live up to what you had last time. Don't think we will be wasting our time again. They really need to get the meat right, as that is their flame to fame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidJay6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath also viewed

Kelmscott, Greater Perth
 
Kelmscott, Greater Perth
Kelmscott, Greater Perth
 
Kelmscott, Greater Perth
 

Been to Hog's Breath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing